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Date of Hearing: June 25, 2024 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS 

Marc Berman, Chair 

SB 639 (Limón) – As Amended June 19, 2024 

SENATE VOTE: 36-0 

SUBJECT: Medical professionals:  course requirements 

SUMMARY: Adds a course in “the special care needs of patients with dementia” as an option to 

the continuing education (CE) requirement for general internists and family physicians who have 

a patient population of which over 25% are 65 years old or older and applies the modified CE 

requirement to physician assistants (PAs) and nurse practitioners (NPs).  

EXISTING LAW:   

1) Regulates the practice of medicine under the Medical Practice Act. (BPC §§ 2460-2499.8)  

2) Establishes the Medical Board of California (MBC) to license physician and surgeons and 

administer and enforce the Medical Practice Act. (BPC §§ 2001-2004) 

3) Requires the MBC to adopt and administer standards for the CE of physician and surgeons 

and require licensees to demonstrate satisfaction of the CE requirements at intervals of not 

less than four nor more than six years. (BPC § 2190) 

4) Requires physician and surgeons to complete not less than 50 hours of MBC-approved CE 

during each two-year period immediately preceding the expiration date of the license, except 

as specified, and to report progress towards compliance with the CE requirement at the time 

of renewal. (California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 16, § 1336) 

5) Establishes the Osteopathic Medical Board of California (OMBC) to license osteopathic 

physician and surgeons and administer and enforce the Medical Practice Act for osteopathic 

physician and surgeons. (BPC §§ 2450-2459.7) 

6) Requires the OMBC to (1) adopt and administer standards for the CE of osteopathic 

physician and surgeons, (2) require licensees to demonstrate satisfaction of the CE 

requirements as a condition for the renewal of a license at intervals of not less than one year 

nor more than two years, (3) require licensees to complete a minimum of 50 hours of 

specified CE hours during each two-year cycle. (BPC § 2454.5) 

7) Declares that it is the policy of this state that holders of Medical Doctor and Doctor of 

Osteopathic Medicine degrees be accorded equal professional status and privileges as 

licensed physicians and surgeons. (BPC § 2453(a)) 

8) Requires physicians and surgeons who are general internists and family physicians who have 

a patient population of which over 25% are 65 years of age or older to complete at least 20% 

of all mandatory CE hours in a course in the field of geriatric medicine or the care of older 

patients. (BPC § 2190.3) 
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9) Regulates the practice of nursing under the Nursing Practice Act and establishes the BRN to 

license registered nurses (RNs) and administer and enforce the act. (BPC §§ 2700-2717)  

10) Defines “the practice of nursing” as functions, including basic healthcare, that help people 

cope with or treat difficulties in daily living that are associated with their actual or potential 

health or illness problems, and that require a substantial amount of scientific knowledge or 

technical skill. (BPC § 2725)  

11) Establishes a category of advanced practice RNs known as NPs, and specifies the 

requirements for certification. (BPC §§ 2834-2837.105) 

12) Requires RNs renewing their license to submit proof satisfactory to the BRN that, during the 

preceding two-year period, they have been informed of the developments in the RN field or 

in any special area of practice engaged in by the licensee since their last renewal, either by 

pursuing a course or courses of CE in the RN field or relevant to the practice of the licensee 

as specified by the BRN. (BPC § 2811.5(a)) 

13) Requires RNs to submit proof satisfactory to the BRN that during the preceding renewal 

period or preceding two years the licensee has started and successfully completed 30 hours of 

BRN-approved CE, including signing a statement under penalty of perjury, indicating 

compliance and agreeing to supply supporting documents on request. (CCR, tit. 16, § 1451) 

14) Regulates and licenses PAs under the Physician Assistant Practice Act and establishes the 

Physician Assistant Board (PAB) to administer and enforce the act. (BPC §§ 3500-3546) 

15) Authorizes the PAB to require a licensee to complete CE as a condition of license renewal, 

not to exceed more than 50 hours of CE every two years, and requires the PAB, as it deems 

appropriate, to accept certification by the National Commission on Certification of Physician 

Assistants, or another qualified certifying body, as determined by the PAB, as evidence of 

compliance with CE requirements. (BPC § 3524.5) 

16) Requires PAs to complete 50 hours of PAB-approved CE during each two-year renewal 

period, deems the requirement satisfied if the PA, at the time of renewal, is certified by the 

National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants, and requires each PA to 

report compliance with the CE requirements by declaring upon application for renewal that 

they have complied with the CE requirements. (CCR,  tit. 16, § 1399.615) 

THIS BILL:  

1) Adds a course in “the special care needs of patients with dementia” as one of the courses a 

general internist or family physician who has a patient population of which over 25% are 65 

years of age or older may take to fulfill the 20% CE requirement in geriatric medicine or care 

of older patients.  

2) Requires all NPs and PAs who provide primary care to a patient population of which over 

25% are 65 years of age or older to complete at least 20% of all mandatory CE hours in a 

course in the field of gerontology, the special care needs of patients with dementia, or the 

care of older patients. 
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3) Specifies that NPs self-certify whether they meet the criteria for the CE requirement on a 

form specified by the board.  

4) Clarifies that the requirement on NPs applies to the existing amount of overall CE hours 

required.  

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown; this bill is keyed fiscal by the Legislative Counsel. 

COMMENTS:  

Purpose. This bill is sponsored by the Alzheimer’s Association. According to the author, 

“According to the Alzheimer’s Association, more than 6.5 million Americans have Alzheimer’s 

disease, but fewer than half have received a proper diagnosis. Primary care physicians, nurse 

practitioners, and physician assistants are increasingly vital in the early detection, diagnosis, and 

care of the aging population. In 2020, nearly 9 out of 10 primary care physicians expect to see an 

increase in the number of people living with dementia in the coming years. However, half of 

them say that medical professionals are not prepared to meet this demand. Without training, 

thousands of patients are vulnerable and without treatment. [This bill] will ensure that healthcare 

professionals are equipped for dementia detection and diagnosis statewide.”  

Background. Alzheimer’s disease is a form of progressive dementia that affects memory, 

thinking, and behavior, eventually interfering with daily life. While there is currently no cure for 

Alzheimer’s, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention notes, “Early and accurate 

diagnosis also provides opportunities for you and your family to consider financial planning, 

develop advance directives, enroll in clinical trials, and anticipate care needs.” 

As the day-to-day providers of health care, primary care providers (PCPs) may notice the early 

signs of the onset of Alzheimer’s. However, according to the sponsor, the base education and 

practice of PCPs—including that of physicians, NPs, and PAs—has not kept up with new 

Alzheimer’s disease research and best practices, even though they may frequently encounter the 

disease in their practice. Therefore, this bill seeks to incentivize them to take additional 

coursework related to dementia as part of the CE required under their respective practice acts. 

CE, sometimes referred to as continuing competence, is additional training or classes to maintain 

minimum competence post terminal certification or licensure. The purpose of CE is to ensure 

professionals keep up with practice changes over time. For instance, new technology, research, 

or ethical requirements may increase the level of minimum competence needed to protect 

consumers. 

Physician CE. Physicians and surgeons are required to complete 50 hours of approved CE every 

two years as a condition of license renewal. Both the MBC and the OMBC require CE courses to 

be accredited or approved by specified organizations such as the American Medical Association 

and the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education. There are also two subject-

specific CE requirements in statute, one of which is the requirement for primary care physicians 

who have a patient population of which over 25% are 65 years of age or older to complete at 

least 20% of their 50 CE hours in the field of geriatric medicine. This bill slightly modifies that 

requirement to include the special care needs of patients with dementia in addition to geriatric 

medicine.  
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Nurse Practitioner (NP) CE. An NP is an “advanced practice” registered nurse who has obtained 

an additional postgraduate degree and certificate in advanced nursing practice, which includes 

physical diagnosis, psycho-social assessment, and management of health-illness needs in primary 

care or acute care. This additional training prepares NPs to serve as PCPs.  

The Nursing Practice Act requires all registered nurses, including NPs, to complete 30 hours of 

CE during each two-year renewal cycle. The courses must be related to either the scientific 

knowledge or technical skills required for the practice of nursing, or to direct or indirect patient 

care. Courses approved by state, regional and national health professional associations and other 

licensing boards are also accepted if the content meet the BRN's requirements. This bill would 

modify those requirements to include the 20% geriatric medicine CE requirement.  

Physician Assistant (PA) CE. PAs are trained to provide medical services under the supervision 

of a physician and surgeon. Sometimes referred to as “physician extenders,” PAs may perform 

any service authorized by the supervising physician under a document called a “practice 

agreement,” which is typically tailored to the practice of the supervising physician. The 

agreement outlines the medical services the PAs may perform, and aside from restrictions around 

prescribing and specifically identified specialties or procedures in the PA Practice Act, there is 

no legal limit on what the agreement can authorize. As a result, many PAs serve as PCPs as part 

of physician practices or organized health systems.   

PAs are required to complete 50 hours of CE every two years as a condition of license renewal. 

CE requirements may be deemed satisfied if the PA is certified by the National Commission on 

Certification of Physician Assistants at the time of renewal. CE courses must be preapproved by 

the American Academy of Physician Assistants, the American Medical Association, the 

American Osteopathic Association Council on Continuing Medical Education, the American 

Academy of Family Physicians, the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education, or 

a state medical society recognized by the ACCME. This bill would additionally apply the 20% 

geriatric medicine CE requirement. 

Tracking Patient Populations. It would be overly burdensome for a licensing board to track the 

patient population of every licensee for purposes of enforcing a CE requirement. As a result, the 

MBC currently requires all licensees to self-certify completion of CE requirements, including 

those subject to the geriatric medicine requirement. This bill includes clarification of that process 

for the BRN.  

Current Related Legislation. AB 2270 (Maienschein), which is pending in the Senate, would 

require licensees of the MBC, OMBC, BRN, PAB, Board of Psychology, and the Board of 

Behavioral Sciences to have the option to take coursework on menopausal mental or physical 

health within the scope of their practice to satisfy CE requirements.  

AB 2581 (Maienschein), which is pending in the Senate, would require licensees of the MBC, 

OMBC, BRN, PAB, Board of Psychology, and the Board of Behavioral Sciences to have the 

option of taking coursework on maternal mental health to satisfy CE requirements. 

AB 3119 (Low), which is pending in the Senate, would require the MBC and OMBC to consider 

requiring licensed physicians and surgeons to take a CE course related to Long COVID. 
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Prior Related Legislation. AB 1820 (Wright), Chapter 440, Statutes of 2000, the Geriatric 

Medical Education Training Act of 2000, added the physician geriatric care CE requirement.  

ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT:  

The Alzheimer’s Association (sponsor) writes in support:  

[This bill] seeks to create a more dementia-capable healthcare workforce by 

encouraging training in geriatric medical care, specifically including Alzheimer’s 

and dementia detection and diagnosis. According to [the Alzheimer’s 

Association’s 2020 Facts & Figures Report], “On the Front Lines: Primary Care 

Physicians and Alzheimer’s Care in America” 82 percent of primary care 

physicians (PCPs) say they are on the front lines of providing dementia care, but 

not all are confident in their care for those patients. Nearly 2 in 5 physicians (39 

percent) reported they are “never” or only “sometimes comfortable” making a 

diagnosis of Alzheimer’s or other dementias. Further, nearly one-third (27 

percent) report they are “never” or only “sometimes comfortable” answering 

patient questions about Alzheimer’s or other dementias. Twenty two percent of all 

PCPs had no residency training in dementia diagnosis and care. Of the 78 percent 

who did undergo training, 65 percent reported that the amount was “very little.” 

For the first time in history, there is treatment that offers hope to patients and 

families living with the disease. The FDA has approved disease-altering drugs and 

there is an expectation of more on the horizon. However, to be effective these 

drugs must be administered early in the disease’s progression. This makes 

obtaining a diagnosis a critical first step for accessing early interventions. We 

hope that by building a dementia-capable healthcare workforce, all Californians 

will be able to access a timely diagnosis and take full advantage of treatment 

advancements as more become available. 

ARGUMENTS IN OPPOSITION: 

None on file 

AMENDMENTS: 

To clarify that only NPs who treat the required ratio of older patients must meet the CE 

requirement: 

On page 5 of the bill, lines 18-25: 

(i) For the purpose of fulfilling the requirements of subdivision (a), a nurse 

practitioner shall certify whether they provide who provides primary care to a 

patient population of which over 25 percent are 65 years of age or older on a form 

developed by the board and shall complete shall certify that they have completed 

at least 20 percent of all existing mandatory continuing education hours in a 

course in the field of gerontology, the special care needs of patients with 

dementia, or the care of older patients. at the time of renewal. 
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REGISTERED SUPPORT: 

Alzheimer’s Association (sponsor) 

California Advocates for Nursing Home Reform 

California Assisted Living Association 

California Commission on Aging 

California Collaborative for Long-term Services and Supports 

Choice in Aging 

Justice in Aging 

LeadingAge California 

Senior Services Coalition of Alameda County  

REGISTERED OPPOSITION: 

None on file 

Analysis Prepared by: Vincent Chee / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301
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Date of Hearing: June 25, 2024 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS 

Marc Berman, Chair 

SB 1042 (Roth) – As Amended June 20, 2024 

NOTE: This bill is double referred and passed the Assembly Health Committee on June 11, 

2024, by of a vote of 15-1-0.  

SENATE VOTE: 35-2 

SUBJECT: Health facilities and clinics:  clinical placements:  nursing 

SUMMARY: Requires health facilities and clinics to work with representatives from nursing 

schools and programs, upon request, to meet the clinical placement needs of the school or 

program; requires nursing schools and programs to report specified clinical placement data to the 

Board of Registered Nursing (BRN); requires the BRN to assist schools or programs in finding 

clinical placement slots; and requires health facilities and clinics to report specified clinical 

placement data to the Department of Health Care Access and Information (HCAI).  

EXISTING LAW:   

1) Regulates the practice of nursing under the Nursing Practice Act. (Business and Professions 

Code (BPC) §§ 2700-2838.4) 

2) Establishes the Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) within the Department of Consumer 

Affairs (DCA) to license registered nurses and administer and enforce the Nursing Practice 

Act. (BPC § 2701) 

3) Requires an applicant for licensure as an RN to complete the education requirements 

established by the BRN in a program in this state approved by the BRN or in a school of 

nursing outside of this state which, in the opinion of the BRN, offers an education that meets 

the BRN’s requirements. (BPC § 2736) 

4) Defines “an approved school of nursing” or “an approved nursing program” as one that (1) 

has been approved by the BRN, (2) gives the course of instruction approved by the BRN, 

covering not less than two academic years, (3) is affiliated or conducted in connection with 

one or more hospitals, and (4) is an institution of higher education. (BPC § 2786(a)) 

5) Requires the BRN to determine by regulation the required subjects of instruction for 

licensure as an RN and (1) include the minimum units of theory and clinical experience 

necessary to achieve essential clinical competency at the entry level of an RN and (2) require 

all programs to provide clinical instruction in all phases of the educational process, except as 

specified. (BPC § 2786(c)) 

6) Requires a nursing program to obtain approval from the BRN for the use of any agency or 

facility for clinical experience, and requires the program to take into consideration the impact 

that an additional group of students would have on students of other nursing programs 

already assigned to the agency or facility. (California Code of Regulations, Title 16, § 1427) 
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7) Prohibits an institution of higher education or a private postsecondary school of nursing, or 

an entity affiliated with the institution or school of nursing, from making a payment to any 

clinical agency or facility in exchange for clinical experience placements for students 

enrolled in a nursing program offered by or affiliated with the institution or private 

postsecondary school of nursing, as specified. (BPC § 2786.4) 

8) Defines “clinic” as an organized outpatient health facility that provides direct medical, 

surgical, dental, optometric, or podiatric advice, services, or treatment to patients who remain 

less than 24 hours, and that may also provide diagnostic or therapeutic services to patients in 

the home as an incident to care provided at the clinic facility. (Health and Safety Code (HSC) 

§ 1200) 

9) Defines “health facility” as a facility, place, or building that is organized, maintained, and 

operated for the diagnosis, care, prevention, and treatment of human illness, physical or 

mental, including convalescence and rehabilitation and including care during and after 

pregnancy, or for any one or more of these purposes, for one or more persons, to which the 

persons are admitted for a 24-hour stay or longer. (HSC § 1250) 

10) Establishes HCAI to, among other things, collect health facility data for use by all state 

agencies and administer healthcare workforce training and development programs. (HSC §§ 

127000-130079) 

THIS BILL:  

1) Requires a health facility or a clinic, whether or not it currently offers prelicensure clinical 

placement slots, to, upon request by an approved school of nursing or an approved nursing 

program and regardless of whether the school or program is public or private, meet with 

representatives from the school or program to discuss the clinical placement needs of the 

school or program.  

2) Requires the requested health facility or clinic and the requesting school or program to work 

together in good faith to meet the needs of the school or program to educate and train nursing 

students. 

3) Requires an approved school of nursing or an approved nursing program to annually prepare 

a report on clinical placements for nursing students on a standardized template specified by 

HCAI; requires the school or program to submit the report to the BRN, with updated 

reporting at times determined by the BRN in consultation with HCAI; and requires the report 

to include the following information: 

a) The beginning and end dates of all academic terms within the subsequent calendar year 

for each clinical slot needed by a clinical group with content area and education level. 

b) The number of clinical slots that the school or program has been unable to fill within the 

preceding calendar year. 

4) Requires the BRN to submit the school or program reports to HCAI. 



SB 1042 
 Page 3 

 

5) Requires a health facility or a clinic, whether or not it currently offers prelicensure clinical 

placement slots, to annually prepare a report on clinical placements for nursing students; 

requires the health facility or clinic to submit the report to HCAI, with updated reporting at 

the times as HCAI requires, on a standardized template specified by HCAI in accordance 

with, if applicable, the required systems of accounting and uniform reporting; authorizes 

HCAI, in consultation with the BRN, to decide to phase in the types of health facilities or 

clinics required to report on clinical placements; and requires the report to include all of the 

following information: 

a) Estimated number of days and shifts that will be made available within the subsequent 

calendar year for student use for each type of licensed bed or unit in the health facility or 

clinic, including, but not limited to, days and shifts available in the following areas of 

study: 

i) Geriatrics. 

ii) Medical-surgical. 

iii) Mental health/psychiatric nursing. 

iv) Obstetrics. 

v) Pediatrics. 

b) Number of days and shifts being utilized within the preceding calendar year for student 

use for each type of licensed bed or unit in the health facility or clinic, including, but not 

limited to, days and shifts available in the nursing study areas. 

c) Name of the academic institution with an approved school of nursing or nursing program 

utilizing each type of licensed bed or unit reported. 

6) Requires, if a prelicensure clinical placement slot is available or filled for a period of time 

that begins in one reporting period, but ends in another reporting period, the slot be reported 

for the period in which the student began the clinical placement and not for the reporting 

period in which the student ended the clinical placement. 

7) Requires HCAI to post the school or program and facility reports on its internet website in a 

manner that allows for the information reported by the facilities to be cross-referenced 

against the information reported by the schools and programs. 

8) Authorizes the BRN, after receiving the required report from schools and programs, and 

utilizing the data reported to HCAI, and upon request by an approved school of nursing or 

approved nursing program, to assist in identifying clinical placement slot opportunities to 

meet the clinical placement needs of that school or program by conferring with health 

facilities or clinics within the appropriate geographic region of each school or program in an 

attempt to match available clinical placement slots with needed slots and to encourage the 

creation of new clinical placement slots at additional clinical training sites to meet school or 

program needs.  
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9) Specifies that the health facilities or clinics involved in the BRN’s assistance may elect, and 

are not required, to make those existing or new, but unused, clinical placement slots 

available.  

10) Specifies that the BRN’s assistance in identifying clinical placement slot opportunities, if the 

BRN elects to do so, is limited to researching and examining potential clinical placement 

sites that would meet clinical course objectives, without impacting or displacing existing 

clinical placements of any approved school of nursing or approved nursing program that are 

already in progress or have been scheduled in the future. 

11) Requires the BRN to report, through the BRN’s Education/Licensing Committee, a summary 

of every request made by an approved school of nursing or approved nursing program of any 

assistance provided and the outcome of that assistance. 

12) Prohibits any attempt to identify additional clinical placement slots by the BRN, a health 

facility, or a clinic from supplanting or disrupting the clinical placement of any nursing 

student for whom a clinical placement is already in progress, has already been scheduled, or 

is under agreement for future use by an approved school of nursing or approved nursing 

program. 

13) Specifies that BRN’s assistance process does not limit, prevent, or justify the approval or 

denial of new schools of nursing or the expansion of approved nursing programs. 

FISCAL EFFECT: According to the Senate Appropriations Committee: 

• Unknown one-time costs for HCAI, likely hundreds of thousands, for information technology 

contract services; and unknown ongoing costs, likely hundreds of thousands, for state 

administration related to implementing a new data collection and database program (Health 

Data and Planning Fund).  

• Unknown costs to the BRN related to data collection and providing a summary report (Board 

of Registered Nursing Fund). 

COMMENTS:  

Purpose. This bill is sponsored by the United Nurses Associations of California/Union of Health 

Care Professionals. According to the author, “One major reason that we've been unable to grow 

capacity in our nursing programs is the challenge of locating and securing the clinical placement 

slots necessary to provide the clinical training required to obtain a nursing degree and a license. 

This was confirmed by the State Auditor in a 2020 audit report of the Board of Registered 

Nursing, where the Auditor found that the Board lacked critical information about the location 

and availability of clinical placement slots to make enrollment decisions. Thus, we need an 

inventory of clinical placement slots located in a wide range of healthcare settings if we are to 

provide the clinical training necessary to expand our nursing school capacity and produce more 

nurses in the state. By collecting data on nursing programs’ clinical placement needs and 

collecting data from health facilities and clinics on their clinical placement slots, the BRN and 

HCAI would have the data necessary to better understand where clinical placement slots 

currently exist, and where they can potentially be created.” 
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Background. The BRN is a licensing entity within DCA and is responsible for administering 

and enforcing the Nursing Practice Act, which is the chapter of laws that establishes the BRN 

and outlines the regulatory framework for the practice, licensing, education and discipline of 

RNs and advanced practice registered nurses. The BRN is also one of the few licensing boards 

that actively approve and regulate educational programs that offer the degrees necessary for 

licensure.  

The purpose of the BRN’s approval of educational nursing programs is to ensure the programs 

meet the minimum educational requirements established by the Nursing Practice Act and the 

BRN, including requirements for clinical experience. The Nursing Practice Act requires that 

clinical experience be taught in all phases of education, and the BRN’s regulations require that 

theory and clinical experience be taught concurrently. As a result, approved programs must find 

clinical experience placements with partnering facilities that match the subject of the theory 

courses that the placed students will be taking.  

Lack of Clinical Placements. As early as the BRN’s 2017 Sunset Review,1 this committee and 

the Senate Business, Professions and Economic Development Committee have raised the issue of 

the availability of clinical placements for nursing students. While there is no requirement for 

clinical facilities accept nursing students, many willingly accept them because it is necessary for 

the future of the nursing workforce and can help with onsite recruitment. However, the facilities 

must have staff that is qualified and available to teach and supervise students. As a result, clinical 

placements are often difficult to find. Unfortunately, students who are unable to obtain their 

clinical placements before the end of the term either have to drop out or receive an incomplete. 

Under either circumstance, the student would have to repeat the course.  

Centralized Clinical Placement System and HCAI Grant to Expand the Program. To facilitate 

the availability of placements, some nursing programs and clinical facilities utilize local 

databases known as regional consortiums to share placement availability and coordinate 

partnerships. The consortiums vary by region, function, and pricing methodologies. However, 

participation is voluntary and as a result the databases are incomplete.  

One example is the Centralized Clinical Placement System (CCPS). The Foundation for 

California Community Colleges (FoundationCCC) launched CCPS as a pilot program that began 

in the San Francisco Bay Area in 2005, intended to build on existing regional consortia to 

aggregate school and clinical provider information. The CCPS is an online tool that centralized 

communication to enable schools and clinical providers to rapidly match clinical placement 

needs to provider availability. Today, there are three regional consortia in California that are 

actively collaborating between clinical agencies and nursing schools: in the Bay Area, with 24 

schools and 7 hospitals; in Fresno, with 31 schools and 15 hospitals; and in Los Angeles, with 69 

schools and 30 hospitals. These consortia work together to coordinate the timing of clinical 

placement requests and assignments by clinical agencies, and also regularly convene to discuss 

                                                 

1 The sunset review process provides an opportunity for the DCA, the Legislature, the boards, and interested parties 

and stakeholders to discuss the performance of the boards, and make recommendations for improvements. Each 

year, the Assembly Business and Professions Committee and the Senate Business, Professions, and Economic 

Development Committee hold joint sunset review oversight hearings to review the boards and bureaus. For more 

information on the BRN’s most recent review, see the background paper on the BRN’s 2022 Sunset Review, 

accessible at: https://abp.assembly.ca.gov/jointsunsethearings. 
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nursing education and workforce development. HCAI is negotiating a contract with the 

FoundationCCC. According to FoundationCCC, the HCAI project focuses on three main areas: 

providing access to CCPS, engaging with existing consortia across California, and supporting 

regions without a consortium. For existing consortia, FoundationCCC’s efforts will concentrate 

on implementing CCPS. FoundationCCC will also reach out to regions lacking a consortium to 

organize meetings between nursing schools and clinical agencies, aiming to establish new 

consortia statewide. The statewide implementation of the CCPS will achieve several goals: 

streamlining the request and assignment process for clinical placements, expanding the 

availability of clinical experiences, engaging with non-traditional clinical agencies (such as 

private clinics and Public Health Offices), and aggregating data to identify gaps in availability 

and inform policy decisions. Currently, 43 California Community Colleges, ten California State 

University campuses, and four University of California campuses already use CCPS for clinical 

placement. 

BRN Role in Clinical placements. While the BRN has little to no direct control over the 

availability of placements, conversations also revolve around the BRN’s role due to (1) its ability 

to control new nursing programs and enrollment increases at existing programs and (2) its 

requirement that nursing programs to obtain the BRN’s approval of clinical placements. For 

example, under Issue #9 from the BRN’s 2017 sunset review, staff recommended that the BRN 

contact programs that would share clinical placement space with another program and to 

comprehensively evaluate the impact of new programs prior to approving the programs. Staff 

also recommended that the BRN and the Legislature convene a working group with programs 

and facilities to determine a long-term solution to managing clinical placements. In 2018, the 

BRN did convene several regional summits to discuss clinical education capacity and produced a 

report with several recommendations, but widespread adoption of the recommendations did not 

occur.  

In 2019, the Joint Legislative Audit Committee directed the State Auditor to review the BRN’s 

oversight of prelicensure educational programs. As part of the review, the auditor found that the 

BRN lacks critical information about clinical placement slots when making enrollment decisions, 

which hampers its ability to prevent nursing students from being displaced because other nursing 

programs took their clinical spots. The State Auditor noted that the BRN did not gather and share 

with board members information about the total number of placement slots that a clinical facility 

can accommodate annually or how many slots the programs that use the facility will need each 

year.  

As a result, AB 1015 (Blanca Rubio), Chapter 591, Statutes of 2021, required the BRN to 

incorporate regional forecasts into its biennial analyses of the nursing workforce, develop a plan 

to address regional areas of shortage identified by its nursing workforce forecast, as specified, 

and annually collect, analyze, and report information related to the number of clinical placement 

slots that are available and the location of those clinical placement slots within the state.  

To further address clinical placement issues, AB 2684 (Berman), Chapter 413, Statutes of 2022, 

which was the BRN’s 2022 Sunset Review bill, made several changes to address the lack of 

clinical placements, including establishing a lower 500 minimum number of clinical experience 

hours, authorizing clinical placements to take place in the academic term immediately following 

theory, prohibiting nursing schools and programs from paying for clinical placements, and 
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requiring the BRN to utilize data from available regional or individual institution databases in 

collecting information related to the number of clinical placement slots available to nursing 

students. The BRN is still in the process of implementing the sunset recommendations.  

This bill additionally requires facilities and clinics to meet with representatives from schools and 

programs and work with the schools and programs to meet the demands of the school or program 

to educate and train nursing students. It also authorizes the BRN to help schools and programs 

find clinical placements. It also adds additional reporting requirements on schools and programs 

and clinical facilities, centralizing that data at HCAI.   

Current Related Legislation. SB 1015 (Cortese), which is pending in the Assembly 

Appropriations Committee, would require the BRN to study and recommend standards regarding 

how approved schools of nursing or nursing programs manage or coordinate clinical placements 

and to annually collect, analyze, and report information related to management of coordination 

of clinical placements. 

Prior Related Legislation. AB 1577 (Low) of 2023 would have required hospitals that offer 

pre-licensure clinical training slots to work in good faith with community college nursing 

programs to meet their clinical training needs. AB 1577 died pending a hearing in the Senate 

Health Committee.  

AB 2684 (Berman), Chapter 413, Statutes of 2022, which was the BRN’s 2022 Sunset Review 

bill, made several changes to address the lack of clinical placements, including establishing a 

lower 500 minimum number of clinical experience hours, authorizing clinical placements to take 

place in the academic term immediately following theory, prohibiting nursing schools and 

programs from paying for clinical placements, and requiring the BRN to utilize data from 

available regional or individual institution databases in collecting information related to the 

number of clinical placement slots available to nursing students. 

AB 2288 (Low), Chapter 282, Statutes of 2020, in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, 

authorized the director of an approved nursing program, during a state of emergency, to make 

requests to the BRN for the following: 1) the use of a clinical setting without meeting specified 

requirements; 2) the use of preceptorships without having to maintain specified written policies; 

3) the use of clinical simulation up to 50% for medical-surgical and geriatric courses; 4) the use 

of clinical simulation up to 75% for psychiatric-mental health nursing, obstetrics, and pediatrics 

courses; and 5) allowing clinical placements to take place in the academic term immediately 

following theory.  

AB 1015 (Blanca Rubio), Chapter 591, Statutes of 2021, required the BRN to incorporate 

regional forecasts into its biennial analyses of the nursing workforce, develop a plan to address 

regional areas of shortage identified by its nursing workforce forecast, as specified, and annually 

collect, analyze, and report information related to the number of clinical placement slots that are 

available and the location of those clinical placement slots within the state. 
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ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT:  

The United Nurses Associations of California/Union of Health Care Professionals writes in 

support:  

There is a dire nursing shortage in California, and part of that shortage is due to 

the educational pipeline. Many approved schools of nursing cannot obtain the 

necessary clinical placement slots for their students at nearby health facilities. 

This delays completion of the program, and thereby delays the entry of qualified 

nurses into the workforce. [This bill] will begin to address that barrier. 

[This bill] requires approved nursing programs to report to the Board of 

Registered Nursing (BRN) a variety of information regarding the clinical slots 

they need for each academic term, as well as the number they were unable to fill. 

It also requires health facilities to report to the Department of Health Care Access 

and Information (HCAI) the number of days and shifts available for student use at 

the facility. 

This information addresses the finding of the State Auditor in 2020 which pointed 

out the BRN currently lacks sufficient data regarding the location and availability 

of clinical placement slots, which is critical in making enrollment decisions. 

Because this bill merely requires nursing programs to file reports with the BRN, 

there should be negligible cost impacts. Similarly, the data collection required by 

HCAI should be an absorbable cost given their already existing infrastructure for 

collecting and managing data. 

[This bill] also establishes a mechanism for approved nursing programs to meet 

with health facilities and work in good faith to accommodate the clinical 

placement slots needed by the school. 

ARGUMENTS IN OPPOSITION: 

None on file 

REGISTERED SUPPORT: 

United Nurses Associations of California/Union of Health Care Professionals (sponsor) 

Board of Registered Nursing 

California Ambulatory Surgery Association 

California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office 

California State Council of Service Employees International Union 

California State University Employees Union  

California Teachers Association 

Disability Rights California 

Faculty Association of California Community Colleges 

Faculty Association of California's Community Colleges 

Public Health Advocates 
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Rancho Santiago Community College District 

Rural County Representatives of California  

REGISTERED OPPOSITION: 

None on file 

Analysis Prepared by: Vincent Chee / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301
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Date of Hearing: June 25, 2024 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS 

Marc Berman, Chair 

SB 1059 (Bradford) – As Amended April 24, 2024 

NOTE: This bill is double referred and previously heard in the Assembly Revenue and Taxation 

Committee.  

SENATE VOTE: 35-0 

SUBJECT: Cannabis:  local taxation:  gross receipts 

SUMMARY: Prohibits a city or county from including any state cannabis excise tax or sales and 

use tax in the definition of gross receipts for purposes of a local tax or fee imposed on a licensed 

cannabis retailer.   

EXISTING LAW:   

1) Regulates the cultivation, distribution, transport, storage, manufacturing, processing, and sale 

of medicinal and adult-use cannabis under the Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation 

and Safety Act (MAUCRSA) and establishes the DCC to administer and enforce the act. 

(Business and Professions Code (BPC) §§ 26000-26260) 

2) Defines “retailer” as a person authorized to engage in the retail sale and delivery of cannabis 

or cannabis products to customers. (BPC § 26001(ax)) 

3) Imposes a cannabis excise tax upon purchasers of cannabis or cannabis products sold in this 

state at 15% of the gross receipts of any retail sale by a cannabis retailer under the Cannabis 

Tax Law. (Revenue and Taxation Code (RTC) §§ 34010-34021.5) 

4) Imposes a sales tax on retailers on the gross receipts from retail sales of tangible personal 

property under the Sales and Use Tax Law. (RTC §§ 6001-7176) 

5) Defines a “retail sale” or “sale at retail” as a sale for a purpose other than resale in the regular 

course of business in the form of tangible personal property. (RTC § 6007) 

6) Defines “gross receipts” as the total amount of the sale or lease or rental price of the retail 

sales of retailers. (RTC § 6012) 

7) Authorizes any county by action of its board of supervisors to adopt a sales and use tax in 

accordance with the “Bradley-Burns Uniform Local Sales and Use Tax Law.” (RTC §§ 

7200-7226) 

THIS BILL:  

1) Prohibits a city or county from including in the definition of gross receipts, for purposes of 

any local tax or fee imposed by the city on a licensed cannabis retailer, the amount of any 

state cannabis excise or sales and use tax. 
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2) Defines, for purposes of this bill, “city” to include a charter city and a city and county. 

FISCAL EFFECT: According to the Senate Appropriations Committee: 

• This bill would not result in an increase in state administrative costs, nor would it impact 

state revenues. 

• By changing what localities can include in their local cannabis tax base (thus impacting tax 

administration at the local level), Legislative Counsel has keyed this bill as a state-mandated 

local program. To the extent the Commission on State Mandates determines that the 

provisions of this bill create a new program or impose a higher level of service on local 

agencies, local agencies could claim reimbursement of those costs. The one-time magnitude 

is unknown, but potentially in excess of $50,000 annually (General Fund). 

COMMENTS:  

Purpose. This bill is sponsored by the author. According to the author, “[This bill] will assist the 

legal cannabis industry by alleviating some of the tremendous tax burdens placed on this 

industry. This bill would eliminate a local government’s collection of a tax on a tax. This 

calculation method is unfair to consumers, and disadvantages licensed retailers that continue to 

struggle against a thriving illicit market. [This bill] addresses this issue and ensures taxes are 

based on the actual goods being sold.” 

Background. The retail sale of non-medicinal cannabis is subject to multiple taxes. At the state 

level, it is subject to the Sales and Use Tax Law, which imposes a sales tax on retailers engaged 

in business in this state that sell tangible personal property. Retailers must register with the 

California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) and collect and remit the tax to 

the CDTFA.  

It is also subject to the Cannabis Tax Law, which requires retailers to collect a 15% cannabis 

excise tax from purchasers of cannabis based on the gross receipts of every sale of cannabis. 

Gross receipts include the sale price of the cannabis and all charges related to the sale, including 

delivery fees and any local cannabis taxes listed separately on an invoice or receipt. Sales tax is 

not counted as part of that total.  

Taxes at the local level vary, but may include business license fees or retail taxes measured by 

gross receipts. According to the author, some jurisdictions calculate local cannabis taxes or fees 

after the state taxes are applied, resulting in a local tax on state taxes. This bill seeks to exclude 

state taxes from the calculation of retail cost of cannabis.  

Unlicensed Market. Regulators and stakeholders continue to raise significant concerns over 

cannabis operations that do business outside of the regulatory scheme. They can avoid fees and 

taxes while competing with lawful businesses. They also create the potential for consumer and 

environmental harm, avoiding testing and agricultural requirements.  

As noted by the author, one of the goals of this bill is to reduce duplicative taxation of legal 

cannabis, which may lower its cost. Lower cost may make legal cannabis more appealing to 

consumers.  
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Prior Related Legislation. SB 512 (Bradford) of 2023 was substantially similar to this bill. SB 

512 was held in the Assembly Revenue and Taxation Committee.  

ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT:  

A coalition that includes the California Cannabis Industry Association, California Cannabis 

Manufacturers Association, California Norml, the California Retailers Association, the 

Cannabis Distributors Association¸ Good Farmers Great Neighbors, UFCW - Western States 

Council, and Weedmaps writes in support: 

In some jurisdictions, including the City of Los Angeles, local cannabis taxes or 

fees are being calculated after the state excise tax is applied. This is in direct 

conflict with guidance provided by the CDTFA. Additional changes are needed to 

existing cannabis tax laws, as this conflict between state and local tax regulations 

makes it impossible for legal operators to properly calculate and remit their taxes. 

The current taxation framework significantly contributes to the dominance of the 

illicit cannabis market, despite the intentions of Proposition 64 to establish a 

regulated and safer marketplace for cannabis products. High taxes at both the state 

and local levels inflate the prices of licensed cannabis products, driving 

consumers towards cheaper alternatives in the unlicensed, untested, and untaxed 

market. In summary, [this bill] represents a necessary step towards addressing the 

challenges faced by California's legal cannabis industry. By promoting fair 

taxation and chipping away at the significant competitive advantage of the illicit 

market, [this bill] aligns with the goals of Proposition 64 and the interests of both 

businesses and consumers. 

A coalition that includes Angeles Emeralds, the California Minority Alliance, the Coachella 

Valley Cannabis Alliance Network, the Long Beach Collective Association, the San Francisco 

Cannabis Retailers Alliance, the Silicon Valley Cannabis Alliance, Social Equity Los Angeles, 

and the United Cannabis Business Association writes in support, “In many notable jurisdictions, 

most noticeably Los Angeles which has over 25% of the state’s legal cannabis retailers, local 

cannabis tax law states that they shall tax the state excise taxes, while the CDTFA maintains that 

the state’s excise tax shall tax the local tax. This conflict between state and local makes it 

impossible for operators to properly calculate and remit their taxes, which will lead to unfair 

penalties and the inability to renew a license.” 

ARGUMENTS IN OPPOSITION: 

None on file 

REGISTERED SUPPORT: 

Americans for Safe Access 

Angeles Emeralds 

Big Sur Farmers Association 

California Cannabis Industry Association 

California Cannabis Manufacturers Association 
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California Minority Alliance 

California Norml 

California Retailers Association 

Cannabis Distributors Association 

Coachella Valley Cannabis Alliance Network 

Good Farmers Great Neighbors 

Humboldt County Growers Alliance 

Lompoc Valley Cannabis Association, Santa Barbara County 

Long Beach Collective Association 

Mendocino Cannabis Alliance 

Nevada County Cannabis Alliance 

Origins Council 

San Francisco Cannabis Retailers Alliance 

Silicon Valley Cannabis Alliance 

Social Equity LA 

Trinity County Agriculture Alliance 

UFCW - Western States Council 

United Cannabis Business Association 

Weedmaps 

REGISTERED OPPOSITION: 

None on file 

Analysis Prepared by: Vincent Chee / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301
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Date of Hearing: June 25, 2024 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS 

Marc Berman, Chair 

SB 1064 (Laird) – As Amended May 16, 2024 

SENATE VOTE: 35-0 

SUBJECT: Cannabis:  operator and separate premises license types:  excessive concentration of 

licenses 

SUMMARY: Restructures the license classifications and application process for applicants 

seeking to engage in commercial cannabis activity under the Department of Cannabis Control 

(DCC) to provide for distinct operator license and premises license classifications for retail, 

distribution, processing and manufacturing license types, while providing for unified license 

classifications for cultivation or testing laboratory license types, beginning January 1, 2028. 

EXISTING LAW:   

1) Enacts the Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSA) to 

provide for a comprehensive regulatory framework for the cultivation, distribution, transport, 

storage, manufacturing, processing, and sale of medicinal and adult-use cannabis.  (Business 

and Professions Code (BPC) §§ 26000 et seq.)  

2) Establishes the DCC within the Business, Consumer Services, and Housing Agency 

(previously established as the Bureau of Cannabis Control, the Bureau of Marijuana Control, 

the Bureau of Medical Cannabis Regulation, and the Bureau of Medical Marijuana 

Regulation), for purposes of administering and enforcing MAUCRSA.  (BPC § 26010) 

3) Prohibits a person or entity from engaging in commercial cannabis activity without a state 

license issued by the DCC pursuant to MAUCRSA.  (BPC § 26037.5) 

4) Provides the DCC with authority for issuing twenty-two types of cannabis licenses, including 

license subtypes for cultivation, manufacturing, testing, retail, distribution, processing, event 

organization, and microbusiness.  (BPC § 26050) 

5) Until June 30, 2022, gives the DCC discretion to issue provisional licenses to applicants who 

are not yet in compliance with the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) but who 

provide evidence that compliance is underway, with specific criteria for demonstrating 

progress.  (BPC § 26050.2) 

6) Until January 1, 2031, gives the DCC discretion to issue provisional licenses to local equity 

applicants who are not yet in compliance with the CEQA but who provide evidence that 

compliance is underway, with specific criteria for demonstrating progress.  (BPC § 26050.5) 

7) Provides that it is unlawful for any person to monopolize, attempt to monopolize, or combine 

or conspire with any person or persons to monopolize, any part of the trade or commerce 

related to cannabis, and requires the DCC to consider if an excessive concentration exists in 

the area where a license applicant will operate when determining whether to approve a 

license to engage in cannabis retail activity.  (BPC § 26051) 
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8) Establishes various requirements regarding the information that must be submitted to the 

DCC as part of an application for a state license, including the following: 

a) Fingerprint images and related information for purposes of obtaining criminal history 

information from the Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 

b) Evidence of the applicant’s legal right to occupy and use the proposed location and proof 

that the landowner has acknowledged and consented to permit commercial cannabis 

activities to be conducted on the property by the tenant applicant. 

c) Evidence that the proposed location is not within a prohibited proximity to a school, 

daycare center, or youth center. 

d) A statement, signed by the applicant under penalty of perjury, that the information 

provided is complete, true, and accurate. 

e) For applicants with 20 or more employees, or applicants with 10 or more employees that 

submits an application on or after July 1, 2024, a notarized statement that the applicant 

will enter into or has already entered into a labor peace agreement. 

f) The applicant’s valid seller’s permit number or an indication that the applicant is 

currently applying for a seller’s permit. 

g) For applicants for a cultivation license, a statement declaring the applicant is an 

“agricultural employer,” as defined. 

h) Any other information required by the DCC. 

i) Payment of all applicable fees required for licensure by the DCC. 

j) Proof of a bond to cover the costs of destruction of cannabis or cannabis products if 

necessitated by a violation of licensing requirements. 

k) A statement, upon initial application and application for renewal, that the applicant 

employs or will employ one supervisor and one employee who have successfully 

completed a Cal-OSHA 30-hour general industry outreach course. 

(BPC § 26051.5) 

9) Allows for a person to apply for and be issued more than one license from the DCC, except 

that a person who holds a testing laboratory license is prohibited from receiving a license for 

any other activity and a person with a financial interest in a testing laboratory license is 

prohibited from holding a financial interest in any other license type.  (BPC § 26053) 

10) Prohibits a licensed premises from being located within a 600-foot radius of a school 

providing instruction in kindergarten or any grades 1 through 12, daycare center, or youth 

center that is in existence at the time the license is issued.  (BPC § 26054) 

11) Authorizes the DCC to issue state licenses only to qualified applicants.  (BPC § 26055(a)) 
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12) Prohibits a licensee from changing or altering the premises in a manner which materially or 

substantially alters the premises, its usage, or the mode or character of business operation 

conducted from the premises, from the plan contained in the diagram on file with the 

application, unless written approval by the DCC has been obtained.  (BPC § 26055(c)) 

13) Prohibits the DCC from approving an application for a state cannabis license if approval of 

the license will violate the provisions of any local ordinance or regulation.  (BPC § 26055(d)) 

14) Requires the DCC to deny an application if either the applicant, or the premises for which a 

state license is applied, do not qualify for licensure under MAUCRSA or if specified 

conditions apply.  (BPC § 26057) 

15) Requires the DCC to notify an applicant in writing within 30 days of denying their 

application for a license.  (BPC § 26058) 

16) Provides that an applicant shall not be denied a state license if the denial is based solely on a 

prior conviction that was subsequently dismissed or for which the applicant has obtained a 

certificate of rehabilitation.  (BPC § 26059) 

17) Requires the DCC to consider issues relating to water use and environmental impacts when 

issuing cannabis cultivation licenses.  (BPC § 26060) 

18) Establishes requirements for retail, distribution, and microbusiness licenses, including a 

requirement that each retailer have a licensed premises which is a physical location from 

which commercial cannabis activities are conducted, which may be closed to the public.  

(BPC § 26070) 

19) Requires the DCC to promulgate regulations governing the licensing of cannabis 

manufacturers and standards for the manufacturing, packaging, and labeling of all 

manufactured cannabis products.  (BPC § 26130) 

20) Requires that all advertisements identify the license number of the licensee responsible for its 

content and to comply with restrictions on advertising to youth audiences.  (BPC § 26151) 

21) Requires licensees to keep accurate records of commercial cannabis activity and authorizes 

the DCC to examine those records and inspect the premises of a licensee.  (BPC § 26160) 

22) Requires the DCC to prepare and submit to the Legislature an annual report on its activities, 

including the number of state licenses issued, renewed, denied, suspended, and revoked, by 

state license category.  (BPC § 26190) 

23) Specifies that MAUCRSA does not supersede or limit the authority of a local jurisdiction to 

adopt and enforce local ordinances regulating commercial cannabis licensees. (BPC § 26200) 

24) Authorizes three or more natural persons who are engaged in the cultivation of any cannabis 

product to form an association in connection with specified activities.  (BPC § 26223) 

25) Establishes the California Cannabis Equity Act, enacted to ensure that persons most harmed 

by cannabis criminalization and poverty be offered assistance to enter the cannabis industry.  

(BPC §§ 26240 et seq.) 
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 THIS BILL:  

1) Establishes an “operator license,” defined as a state license establishing an applicant’s 

eligibility to engage in commercial cannabis activities under MAUCRSA, other than the 

cultivation or laboratory testing of cannabis or cannabis products. 

2) Provides that an operator license is a single license type and shall be effective statewide and 

shall not be specific to any premises. 

3) Defines “local permit” as a valid, unexpired license, permit, or other authorization to engage 

in commercial cannabis activities issued by an affirmative act of a local jurisdiction or its 

duly authorized official. 

4) Establishes a “premises license,” defined as a ministerial approval issued by the DCC to the 

holder of an operator license for the conduct of commercial cannabis activity, other than the 

cultivation or laboratory testing of cannabis or cannabis products, at a specific premises for 

which the local jurisdiction has issued a local permit. 

5) Prohibits the holder of an operator license from engaging in commercial cannabis activities 

without both a local permit and a premises license authorizing commercial cannabis activities 

at a specific premises. 

6) Requires the holder of an operator license to apply for, and if approved, obtain, a separate 

premises license for each location where they engage in commercial cannabis activity. 

7) Requires the DCC to implement a ministerial process using only fixed objective standards for 

the review and approval of modifications requested by the holder of a premises license. 

8) Provides that premises license classifications include manufacturing, retail, distribution, 

microbusiness, and processing, and authorizes the DCC to issue a premises license that 

authorizes one or more classifications of these activities permitted. 

9) Authorizes the DCC to issue a premises license only to the holder of a current and valid 

operator license and only for a specific premise permitted by the local jurisdiction. 

10) Repeals the requirement that a premises be a contiguous area that is only occupied by one 

licensee and requires the DCC to adopt regulations governing the area and occupancy of 

premises where commercial cannabis activities are conducted. 

11) Establishes a “unified license,” defined as a state license authorizing commercial cannabis 

activity that includes the cultivation or laboratory testing of cannabis or cannabis products. 

12) Requires a person and entity to possess a unified license issued by the DCC to engage in the 

cultivation or laboratory testing of cannabis or cannabis products, or both an operator license 

and one or more premises licenses issued by the DCC to engage in other forms of 

commercial cannabis activity. 

13) Provides that the holder of a unified license shall be entitled to exercise all of the rights and 

privileges of an operator license. 
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14) Updates the definition of a microbusiness and divides the microbusiness license into two 

types, one of which may include cannabis cultivation under a unified license and one of 

which does not. 

15) Eliminates the specific license type for cannabis event organizers. 

16) Repeals the requirement for the DCC to consider if an excessive concentration exists in an 

area where a licensee will operate when the DCC is determining whether to grant, deny, or 

renew a retail license. 

17) Removes the requirement that an applicant for an operator license provide evidence of 

compliance with laws relating to the premises where they intend to engage in commercial 

cannabis activities, instead requiring this evidence to be provided as part of an application for 

a premises license. 

18) Requires the DCC to prescribe by regulation the criteria for issuance and renewal of operator 

licenses and unified licenses. 

19) Allows the DCC to only issue operator and unified licenses to qualified applicants and 

prohibits the DCC from approving an application for a unified license or premises license if 

approval of such license violates any local ordinance or regulation. 

20) Narrows the requirement to provide proof that the local jurisdiction has issued a local permit 

to only premises license applications for activity within the scope of an operator license. 

21) Updates current requirements for cannabis advertising and marketing to include a license 

number to reference either an operator license number or a unified license number. 

22) Requires the holder of a unified license or premises license to keep records identified by the 

DCC, and the holder of an operator license who does not also hold a current and valid 

premises license to keep the records identified by the DCC at the physical address of 

licensee’s principal place of business. 

23) Retroactively deems the holder of an unexpired annual license authorizing commercial 

cannabis activity that is cultivation or laboratory testing on January 1, 2028 to hold a unified 

license. 

24) Retroactively deems the holder of an unexpired annual license authorizing any other 

commercial cannabis activity than cultivation on January 1, 2028, to hold an operator license 

and a premises license. 

25) Makes numerous additional changes to various other provisions of MAUCRSA to update 

references to licensure to reflect the new operator, premises, and unified license types. 

26) Delays implementation of most provisions of the bill until January 1, 2028. 

27) Makes findings and declarations in support of the bill. 

FISCAL EFFECT: According to the Senate Committee on Appropriations, unknown significant 

costs ranging in the millions of dollars to the DCC to modify its existing cannabis licensing 

framework. 
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COMMENTS:  

Purpose. This bill is co-sponsored by the Rural County Representatives of California and the 

California Cannabis Industry Association.  According to the author: 

“Senate Bill 1064 aims to modernize the state’s cannabis licensing process by clarifying the 

roles of state and local governments in the licensing and oversight of cannabis businesses, 

eliminating duplication of efforts and reducing regulatory burdens while maintaining robust 

oversight to ensure compliance with regulations. This bill represents a crucial step forward in 

achieving key objectives to help support the state’s legal and regulated cannabis industry by 

encouraging economic growth and stability, and expanding access to legal cannabis retail.” 

Background. 

Brief History of Cannabis Regulation in California.  Consumption of cannabis was first made 

lawful in California in 1996 when voters approved Proposition 215, or the Compassionate Use 

Act.  Proposition 215 protected qualified patients and caregivers from prosecution relating to the 

possession and cultivation of cannabis for medicinal purposes, if recommended by a physician.  

This regulatory scheme was further refined by Senate Bill 420 (Vasconcellos) in 2003, which 

established the state’s Medical Marijuana Program.  After several years of lawful cannabis 

cultivation and consumption under state law, a lack of a uniform regulatory framework led to 

persistent problems across the state.  Cannabis’s continued illegality under the federal Controlled 

Substances Act, which classifies cannabis as a Schedule I drug ineligible for prescription, 

generated periodic enforcement activities by the United States Department of Justice.  Threat of 

action by the federal government created persistent apprehension within California’s cannabis 

community. 

After several prior attempts to improve the state’s regulation of cannabis, the Legislature passed 

the Medical Marijuana Regulation and Safety Act—subsequently retitled the Medical Cannabis 

Regulation and Safety Act (MCRSA)—in 2015.  MCRSA established, for the first time, a 

comprehensive statewide licensing and regulatory framework for the cultivation, manufacture, 

transportation, testing, distribution, and sale of medicinal cannabis.  While entrusting state 

agencies to promulgate extensive regulations governing the implementation of the state’s 

cannabis laws, MCRSA fully preserved local control. Under MCRSA, local governments may 

establish their own ordinances to regulate medicinal cannabis activity.  Local jurisdictions could 

also choose to ban cannabis establishments altogether. 

Not long after the Legislature enacted MCRSA, California voters passed Proposition 64, the 

Adult Use of Marijuana Act (AUMA).  The passage of the AUMA legalized cannabis for non-

medicinal adult use in a private home or licensed business; allowed adults 21 and over to possess 

and give away up to approximately one ounce of cannabis and up to eight grams of concentrate; 

and permitted the personal cultivation of up to six plants.  The proponents of the AUMA sought 

to make use of much of the regulatory framework and authorities set out by MCRSA while 

making a few notable changes to the structure still being implemented. 

In the spring of 2017, Senate Bill 94 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review) was passed to 

reconcile the distinct systems for the regulation, licensing, and enforcement of legal cannabis 

that had been established under the respective authorities of MCRSA and the AUMA.  The 

single consolidated system established by the bill—known as the Medicinal and Adult-Use 

Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSA)—created a unified series of cannabis laws.  
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On January 16, 2019, the state’s three cannabis licensing authorities—the Bureau of Cannabis 

Control, the California Department of Food and Agriculture, and the California Department of 

Public Health—officially announced that the Office of Administrative Law had approved final 

cannabis regulations promulgated by the three agencies respectively. 

In early 2021, the Department of Finance released trailer bill language to create a new 

Department with centralized authority for cannabis licensing and enforcement activities.  This 

new department was created through a consolidation of the three prior licensing authorities’ 

cannabis programs.  As of July 1, 2021, the Department has been the single entity responsible for 

administering and enforcing the majority of MAUCRSA.  New regulations went into effect on 

January 1, 2023 to effectuate the organizational consolidation and make other changes to 

cannabis regulation. 

Challenges in Implementing Cannabis Licensure.  Language included in MAUCRSA authorized 

the state’s cannabis licensing authorities to issue four month “temporary licenses” to applicants, 

which could be extended in 90-day increments.  These temporary licenses allowed businesses to 

engage in commercial cannabis activity under state approval while local governments 

commenced with establishing their own local authorization processes and reviewing applications 

for local approval.  Temporary licenses were issued without any fees and temporary licensees did 

not have access to the state’s track and trace system. 

While the intent of MAUCRSA was to transition businesses to full annual licensure no later than 

December 31, 2018—at which time temporary license authority was scheduled to expire—many 

local jurisdictions struggled to launch their approval programs.  For example, by August of 2018, 

Humboldt County regulators had received 2,376 permit applications and only approved 240.  

Some jurisdictions issued temporary or provisional local permits, but had not completed the full 

process for local permitting. 

One of the driving issues behind the delay with local authorization was the requirement that a 

“complete” application include evidence of compliance with CEQA.  Signed into law by 

Governor Ronald Reagan in 1970, CEQA requires public agencies to consider the environmental 

impact of approving discretionary projects.  While the scope of this process can vary based on 

the nature of the project, CEQA review can frequently be protracted and complex. 

To transition away from temporary licensure while local authorization issues remained 

unresolved, the Legislature passed SB 1459 (Cannella) in 2018, which instead established a new 

“provisional license” scheme.  Unlike temporary licenses, provisional license holders must pay a 

fee, comply with track and trace requirements, and meet additional responsibilities under 

MAUCRSA.  However, provisional licensure does not require proof of compliance with the 

requirements of CEQA. 

The authority to issue and renew provisional licenses was originally scheduled to sunset on 

January 1, 2020; this was subsequently extended to January 1, 2022.  The 2021-22 Budget Act 

further extended this expiration date, prohibiting the DCC from renewing a provisional license 

after January 1, 2025 and sunsetting the provisional licensing program on January 1, 2026.  

Specific expiration dates and deadlines were applied to provisional licensees and applicants 

based on the size and nature of the business, and new requirements for certain applicants to 

submit documentation regarding lake or streambed alteration agreement were enacted. 
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According to information provided by the DCC in 2022, approximately 70 percent of licenses in 

California remain provisional.  Discussions have continued around how to streamline the CEQA 

process and eliminate redundant reviews.  However, CEQA is not the only barrier to licensees 

transitioning to full annual licensure; many policy organizations and advocates have long argued 

that the process of obtaining a license to operate is excessively bureaucratic and labyrinthine and 

that securing both state and local approval frequently involves duplicative and superfluous 

scrutiny. 

Licensing Framework Reform.  In February 2024, Cannabis Policy Lab (CPL), an organization 

established to assist governments and the public understand and engage in the state’s cannabis 

laws, published California Cannabis Report: Licensing and Market Access.1  In its executive 

summary, the report states:  “Today, the complexities within California’s cannabis laws are 

impeding government effectiveness, small business survival, and enforcement of public health 

and safety standards. The state must make a concerted effort to unravel those complexities and 

incorporate best practices from across the country if it wishes to remain a national leader.” 

The first of the recommendations published in CPL’s report urged lawmakers to “simplify the 

state license structure.”  Specifically, the report recommended that cannabis business review be 

separated from location licensing, wherein state cannabis licensing would be restructured “so the 

cannabis business operator is reviewed and approved first, separately from the permit to perform 

cannabis activities at a specific location.”  The report argued that “separating operator review 

from location review would reduce the amount of time that an applicant must hold a physical 

location before becoming licensed, thus reducing upfront capital requirements.  This would also 

allow local governments to cede some of the more specialized aspects of entity-level review to 

the state, if desired – including untangling multi-layered legal structures or criminal background 

review of owners.” 

This bill would implement this recommendation, along with others outlined in CPL’s report.  

Beginning January 1, 2028, the process of applying to engage in commercial cannabis activity 

would be divided into two separate license types.  First, an individual or entity would apply for, 

and receive, an operator license, at which time it would be determined if the applicant 

themselves meets the requirements to operate a cannabis business under MAUCRSA.  Once an 

operator license has been obtained, the individual or entity would apply for one or more premises 

licenses, at which time it would be determined if the location where the operator intends to 

engage in cannabis activity is authorized by local government and conforms with the 

requirements for a premises under MAUCRSA. 

One advantage of the new licensing framework proposed by this bill is that an individual or 

entity would not have to be reviewed as an operator each time they seek to engage in commercial 

cannabis activity in a new location, or to engage in a new type of commercial cannabis activity.  

For example, under the current system, if a licensee who already operates a licensed cannabis 

business to open a second location or engage in additional activities, would currently have to go 

through the entire application and review process as an operator even though nothing has 

changed about their qualifications to operate a business.  This bill would allow for that review to 

only occur once when the business owner obtains an operator license; any new business locations 

would only require the review associated with obtaining a new premises license. 

                                                 

1 https://www.cannabispolicylab.com/research-and-analysis/2024-02/california-cannabis-report-licensing-and-

market-access 
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This bill would additionally clarify the level of review that would be required at the state and 

local level, respectively.  Under the new licensing framework, the DCC would still be engaged in 

“discretionary review” when considering an application for an operator license, determining 

whether to grant the license based on the parameters provided under MAUCRSA.  However, 

when considering an application for a premises license, the DCC would be required to utilize a 

ministerial process using only fixed objective standards to confirm that the premises complies 

with the scope of local authorization and premises-specific requirements in MAUCRSA.  This 

distinction further simplifies the review process at the state level simpler when a new premises is 

submitted for approval. 

The new licensing framework providing for operator and premises licenses would apply to retail, 

distribution, processing and manufacturing license types.  For individuals or entities seeking 

licensure to engage in cannabis cultivation or laboratory testing, they would continue to seek 

approval under a unified license scheme, where both the operator and the premises are approved 

simultaneously at the state and local level.  This distinction recognizes the greater need for 

consideration of a prospective cannabis cultivator’s community and environmental impacts when 

obtaining approval, as well as the necessary independence of testing laboratories that has long 

been established under MAUCRSA. 

The licensing framework reforms contained in this bill, along with other minor revisions and 

updates to MAUCRSA consistent with CPL’s recommendations, are intended to ease the license 

application process for both cannabis businesses, regulators, and local governments.  When the 

provisions of this bill go into effect, the author believes that licensing timelines will shorten and 

applicants will be presented with a simpler application process.  This transition would effectively 

serve as an additional form of streamlining and efficiency, furthering California’s goals when it 

consolidated the state’s cannabis licensing authorities into a unified department. 

Current Related Legislation. 

AB 2223 (Aguiar-Curry) would allow for cannabis licensees to manufacture, distribute, or sell 

products that contain industrial hemp and places additional restrictions on industrial hemp 

products containing THC or comparable cannabinoids.  This bill is pending in the Senate 

Committee on Business, Professions, and Economic Development. 

SB 1109 (Bradford) would require the DCC to collect voluntarily provided demographic data 

about individuals applying for an initial license or license renewal.  This bill is pending in the 

Assembly Committee on Judiciary. 

Prior Related Legislation. 

AB 2540 (Chen) of 2024 would have authorized the DCC to transfer, assign, or reassign licenses 

for commercial cannabis activity.  This bill died in the Assembly Committee on Appropriations. 

AB 351 (Chen) of 2023 would have authorized the DCC to transfer, assign, or reassign licenses 

for commercial cannabis activity.  This bill died in the Assembly Committee on Appropriations. 

SB 51 (Bradford, Chapter 593, Statutes of 2023) authorized the DCC to continue to issue and 

renew provisional licenses to local equity applicants until January 1, 2031. 
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SB 833 (McGuire, Chapter 886, Statutes of 2023) required the DCC, no later than March 1, 

2024, to begin allowing cultivators to select a smaller license type or place their license in 

inactive status. 

AB 141 (Committee on Budget, Chapter 141, Statutes of 2021) extended the timeline for 

provisional licenses, prohibiting renewal after January 1, 2025. 

AB 97 (Committee on Budget, Chapter 40, Statutes of 2019) extended the repeal date for the 

provisional license authority until January 1, 2022. 

SB 595 (Bradford, Chapter 852, Statutes of 2019) required the DCC to develop and implement a 

program that provides a license fee deferral or waiver for needs-based applicants and licensees. 

SB 1459 (Cannella, Chapter 857, Statutes of 2018) authorized the state’s cannabis licensing 

authorities to grant provisional licenses until January 1, 2020. 

SB 94 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review, Chapter 27, Statutes of 2017) enacted 

MAUCRSA and authorized the state’s cannabis licensing authorities to grant temporary licenses. 

ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT:  

The Rural County Representatives of California and the California Cannabis Industry 

Associations, who are co-sponsoring this bill, write in support alongside the League of 

California Cities and the California State Association of Counties:  “SB 1064 addresses 

several key challenges faced by cannabis businesses operating in California. One of the most 

pressing issues is the complexity and inefficiency of the current licensing system, which requires 

businesses to obtain multiple licenses for different activities conducted at a single location. This 

not only creates unnecessary administrative burdens for businesses but also increases processing 

times and costs for both applicants and regulatory agencies.”  The bill’s sponsors and supporters 

further argue that “this bill seeks to reduce unnecessary complexity and duplication within the 

cannabis regulatory environment which is impeding government’s ability to license businesses in 

a reasonable timeframe and complicating efforts to enforce the law. By doing so, it seeks to 

reduce challenges and barriers to basic compliance for businesses.” 

ARGUMENTS IN OPPOSITION: 

None on file. 

REGISTERED SUPPORT: 

California Cannabis Industry Association (Co-Sponsor) 

Rural County Representatives of California (Co-Sponsor) 

California State Association of Counties 

Good Farmers Great Neighbors 

League of California Cities 

REGISTERED OPPOSITION: 

None on file. 

Analysis Prepared by: Robert Sumner / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301
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Date of Hearing: June 25, 2024 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS 

Marc Berman, Chair 

SB 1233 (Wilk) – As Amended May 16, 2024 

NOTE: This bill is double referred and previously passed the Assembly Committee on Higher 

Education with a vote of 10-0-1. 

SENATE VOTE: 38-0 

SUBJECT: University of California:  Western University of Health Sciences:  veterinary 

medicine:  spay and neuter techniques 

SUMMARY: Requests the Regents of the University of California (UC), and the governing 

body of Western University of Health Sciences, to develop “high-quality, high-volume” spay and 

neuter certification programs at their respective veterinary medicine institutions, upon 

appropriation by the Legislature.   

EXISTING LAW:   

1) Establishes, under the California Constitution, the UC as a public trust to be administered by 

the Regents of the UC with full powers of organization and government, subject only to such 

legislative control as may be necessary to insure the security of its funds and compliance 

with the terms of the endowments of the university, and such competitive bidding procedures 

as may be made applicable to the university for construction contracts, selling real property, 

and purchasing materials, goods and services. (Constitution of California, Article IX, Section 

9) 

2) States, under the California Constitution, that the university be entirely independent of all 

political or sectarian influence and kept free therefrom in the appointment of its regents and 

in the administration of its affairs. (Constitution of California, Article IX, Section 9 (f)) 

3) Provides that statutes related to UC, and most other aspects of the governance and operation 

of UC, are applicable only to the extent that the Regents of UC make such provisions 

applicable. (Education Code (EDC) Section 67400) 

4) Declares the UC as the primary state-supported academic agency for research. (EDC Section 

66010.4 (c)) 

5) Provides for the regulation of veterinary medicine under the Veterinary Medicine Practice 

Act (Act) and prohibits the practice unlicensed of veterinary medicine.  (Business and 

Professions Code (BPC) §§ 4800-4917) 

6) Establishes the Veterinary Medical Board (VMB) within the Department of Consumer 

Affairs (DCA) to license and regulate the veterinary medicine profession.  (BPC § 4800) 

7) Declares it is unlawful to practice veterinary medicine in California unless the individual 

holds a valid, unexpired, and unrevoked license issued by the VMB.  (BPC § 4825) 
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8) Requires all veterinarians engaged and employed as veterinarians by the state, or a county, 

city, corporation, firm, or individual to secure a license issued by the VMB.  (BPC § 4828) 

9) Requires the VMB to adopt regulations delineating animal health care tasks and an 

appropriate degree of supervision required for those tasks that may be performed solely by an 

RVT or licensed veterinarian.  (BPC § 4836(a)) 

10) Requires that, among other things, an individual licensed to practice veterinary medicine 

graduate from a veterinary college recognized by the VMB, or receive a certificate from the 

Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) or the Program for the 

Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE). (BPC § 4846(a)(1))  

11) Clarifies that, if the veterinary college from which an applicant is graduated is not recognized 

by the VMB, the VMB shall have the authority to determine the qualifications of such 

graduates and to review the quality of the educational experience attained by them in an 

unrecognized veterinary college. (BPC § 4846.1) 

12) Requires that, with limited exceptions, the VMB issue renewal licenses only to those 

applicants that have completed a minimum of 36 hours of continuing education in the 

preceding two years. (BPC § 4846.5) 

THIS BILL:  

1) Requests, upon an appropriation, the Regents of the UC and the governing body of the 

Western University of Health Sciences College of Veterinary Medicine to develop high-

quality, high-volume spay and neuter certification programs to be offered as elective 

coursework to students enrolled at their respective institutions. 

2) Provides that this bill applies to UC only to the extent that the UC Regents agree by 

resolution, and to the Western University of Health Sciences if agreed upon by the Office of 

the Provost. 

3) Authorizes a certification program to charge a reasonable fee to cover the costs associated 

with offering the program to a California-licensed veterinarian or a California-registered 

veterinary technician. This bill requires the fee to be paid directly to the university offering 

the program. 

4) Prohibits this bill from authorizing California-registered veterinary technicians to perform 

surgical procedures. 

5) Requires the certification programs to do all of the following: 

a) Provide training in techniques to facilitate safe and efficient ovariectomy, 

ovariohysterectomy, and gonadectomy of cats and dogs; 

 

b) Use and support best practices for high-quality, high-volume spay and neuter procedures 

and services; 
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c) Consist of both classroom and surgery lab training; and, 

 

d) Require students to successfully complete a number of ovariectomies, 

ovariohysterectomies, and gonadectomies under the high-quality, high-volume spay and 

neuter model, as determined by the programs. 

 

6) Requires the UC and the Western University of Health Sciences College of Veterinary 

Medicine to allow California-licensed veterinarians and California-registered veterinary 

technicians to enroll in the certification program for continuing education and certification 

purposes. 

7) Requires a university that offers the certification program to provide a California-licensed 

veterinarian or California-registered veterinary technician who successfully completed the 

certification program with a certificate of completion and a written confirmation of the 

number of hours spent in active high-quality, high-volume spay and neuter practice. 

8) Requires a California-licensed veterinarian or California-registered veterinary technician who 

successfully completed the certification program to receive continuing education credit for 

program participation. 

9) Requires the curriculum offered to a California-registered veterinary technician to be 

consistent with current law and include, among other topics, all of the following: 

a) Surgical preparation of the patient; 

 

b) Anesthesia induction and maintenance; 

 

c) Subcutaneous and cutaneous tissue closure; 

 

d) Anesthesia recovery; and, 

 

e) Emergency and critical care considerations using techniques under the high-quality, high-

volume spay and neuter model. 

 

10) Requires a certification program to do all of the following: 

a) Make available to the public low- or no-cost ovariectomies, ovariohysterectomies, or 

gonadectomies for cats and dogs that are performed by students or California-licensed 

veterinarians enrolled in the program; 

 

b) Develop policies and procedures that prioritize qualifying for the services above based 

on, at a minimum, income and socioeconomic status; and, 

 

c) Ensure that the training and care provided or coordinated by the program is at a standard 

of care that is consistent with those standards of care generally accepted within the 

veterinary profession. 
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11) Requires a university that offers a certification program to publicly publish, every three 

years, a progress report that describes the activities of the program. Requires the progress 

report to include, but not be limited to, all of the following information: 

a) The number of cat and dog ovariectomies, ovariohysterectomies, and gonadectomies 

performed under the certification program; 

 

b) The number of certifications issued by the program; 

 

c) The costs associated with implementing and administering the program; and, 

 

d) The subsidized cost, if any, of surgical services provided to the public. 

 

12) Requires a university that offers a certification program to determine the best available 

location or locations to host the program including, but not limited to, any of the following 

locations: 

a) On-campus facilities; 

 

b) A public animal control agency or shelter; 

 

c) A society for the prevention of cruelty to animals shelter; 

 

d) A humane society shelter; and, 

 

e) A rescue group shelter. 

 

13) Authorizes the Regents of UC and the governing body of the Western University of Health 

Sciences to seek private fund donations. 

FISCAL EFFECT: According to the Senate Committee on Appropriations, this bill provides 

that the certification programs would be contingent upon an appropriation by the Legislature, 

resulting in additional General Fund cost pressures. The UC estimates one-time costs of $10 

million to renovate its current facility at UC Davis to create new surgery and animal holding 

facilities, and ongoing costs of approximately $1 million each year for 7.0 positions to run the 

new certification program and purchase surgical supplies. The bill specifies that the UC and the 

governing body of the Western University of Health Sciences may seek private fund donations to 

develop the programs 

COMMENTS:  

Purpose. This bill is sponsored by the California Veterinary Medical Association. According 

to the author:  

The overcrowding crisis at our animal shelters, especially in the High Desert, highlights the 

severe shortage of veterinarians available to perform critical spay and neuter services. We 

have a responsibility to address this issue. This bill will help create a skilled workforce 
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capable of performing those services, which will, in turn, reduce overcrowding, eliminate 

unnecessary euthanizations, and make it easier to find homes for pets in need. 

Background.  

Efforts to Encourage Pet Sterilization. Over the past several years, California has made efforts to 

humanely reduce animal overpopulation and encourage the spay and neuter of dogs and cats 

across the state. In 1998, the Legislature enacted Senate Bill 1785 by Senator Tom Hayden, 

which formally established that the State of California’s policy is “that no adoptable animal 

should be euthanized if it can be adopted into a suitable home” and “that no treatable animal 

should be euthanized.”  As part of these goals, and overall efforts to reduce pet overpopulation 

that leads to euthanasia, this bill and subsequent legislation established a mandate that no public 

or private animal shelter, humane society, rescue group or other nonprofit shall adopt out any dog 

or cat that has not been sterilized, subject to very limited exceptions.  

More recent, after a successful campaign by the sponsor of this bill and the VMB, a Pet Lover’s 

License Plate program was established in 2012, and in 2014, SB 1323 (Lieu) was enacted to 

allocate the proceeds from purchases of this specialty license plate to fund a grant program to 

eligible veterinary facilities that offer low-cost or no-cost animal sterilization services under the 

VMB.  The most recent distribution of grand funding in 2023 allocated approximately $488,000.  

This consisted of an estimated amount of $25,000 – $50,000 per award. 

The Legislature enacted AB 485 (Williams) in 2015 to create a voluntary tax return checkoff to 

provide revenue to a Prevention of Animal Homelessness and Cruelty Fund.  This checkoff 

allocates money to local animal control agencies and shelters to support spay and neuter 

activities and to prevent and eliminate dog and cat homelessness.  In 2022, a total of $308,449 

was contributed through the checkoff, and approximately $250,000 was awarded that year to 

eligible agencies, with an estimated amount of $7,500 – $22,500 per award. 

In February of 2022, the California for All Animals program was launched to advance marketing 

and outreach efforts designed to engage shelters in every region of the state that met the goals 

outlined in the Animal Shelter Assistance Act.  $15.5 million in grant awards have since been 

awarded, along with $12.5 million for in-person visits, trainings, outreach, and program 

expenses.  Grant funding is prioritized for programs to increase low-cost and free spay/neuter 

services, access to low cost and free veterinary care to prevent owner relinquishment to animal 

shelters, and programs that reunite lost pets with their owners and incentivize making adoption 

accessible for all communities. 

Finally, last year the Assembly and Senate passed ACR 86 authored by Assemblymember Kalra. 

This resolution puts a spotlight on the national and statewide pet overpopulation crisis, noting the 

increase in pet adoptions and purchases throughout the COVID-19 pandemic which exacerbated 

these issues. This resolution also notes the lack of low-cost and free spay and neuter options, as 

well as disparities in access to veterinary care. This resolution made a commitment to pursue 

policies that increase the availability of low-cost, high volume spay and neuter and encourage 

more out-of-state veterinarians and RVTs to perform and assist with sterilization. 

Earlier this year, this committee considered AB 2133 by Assemblymember Kalra, which would 

have authorized registered veterinary technicians to perform cat neuter surgeries, subject to 
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specified requirements and conditions. Despite passing this committee with recommended 

amendments, it was held in the Assembly Committee on Appropriations. This bill – sponsored by 

the California Veterinary Medical Association, who were opposed to AB 2133 - takes an alternate 

approach within the same spirit of that legislation, requesting that, upon a future appropriation, 

the Regents of the UC and the governing body of Western University of Health Sciences develop 

“high-quality, high-volume” spay and neuter certification programs at their respective veterinary 

medicine institutions.  

Accredited veterinary schools. Currently, California accredits two veterinary schools – the UC 

Davis School of Veterinary Medicine in Davis, and the Western University of Health Sciences in 

Pomona. In particular, UC Davis oversees the Koret Shelter Medicine Program (KSMP), with 

research specializing in the state’s adoption outcomes and shelter management improvement. 

Among other research projects and initiatives, KSMP administers the $50 million “California for 

All Animals” grant program established in the 2020-21 budget which aims to fulfill the state’s 

goal that no healthy animal is euthanized in a shelter. Leadership from both schools work closely 

through veterinary and educational associations to develop and evolve their curriculum and 

programming, and seem well-equipped to develop the programming requested in this legislation, 

subject to sufficient funding.  

Current Related Legislation.  

AB 2012 (Lee) would have required the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) to 

collect specified data from public animal shelters as part of their annual rabies control activities 

reporting, and authorized the CDPH to contract out this requirement to a California accredited 

veterinary school. This bill was held in the Assembly Committee on Appropriations.  

AB 2133 (Kalra) would have authorized registered veterinary technicians to perform cat neuter 

surgery, subject to specified conditions. This bill was held in the Assembly Committee on 

Appropriations.  

Prior Related Legislation.  

AB 1535 (Committee on Business and Professions) Chapter 631, Statutes of 2021, enacted 

various changes to the regulation of veterinarians, RVTs, Veterinary Assistant Controlled 

Substances Permit (VACSP) holders, veterinary schools, and veterinary premises, stemming 

from the joint sunset review oversight of the Veterinary Medical Board (Board) by the Assembly 

Committee on Business and Professions and the Senate Committee on Business, Professions, and 

Economic Development. 

SB 1347 (Galgiani) from 2020 would have expanded exemptions to the practice of veterinary 

medicine to include specified functions performed at a shelter, as defined, by an employee or 

volunteer who has obtained specified training. This bill was held in the Assembly Committee on 

Appropriations. 

AB 485 (Williams) Chapter 557, Statutes of 2015, created a voluntary tax return checkoff to 

provide revenue to a Prevention of Animal Homelessness and Cruelty Fund, which allocates 

money to local animal shelters to support spay and neuter activities and eliminate dog and cat 

homelessness. 
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SB 1323 (Lieu) Chapter 375, Statutes of 2014 appropriated money collected from the Pet 

Lover’s License Plate Program to the Veterinary Medical Board for the sole and exclusive 

purpose of funding grants to providers of no-cost or low-cost animal sterilization services.  

SB 1785 (Hayden) Chapter 752, Statutes of 1998 established, among other things, that the State 

of California’s policy is that no adoptable animal should be euthanized if it can be adopted into a 

suitable home, and policies promoting the spay and neuter of dogs and cats in the state. 

ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT:  

This bill is sponsored by the California Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA). CVMA 

writes: “CVMA has been in regular contact with the two veterinary schools affected by the bill 

and we look forward to continuing our positive conversations with them relative to the best way 

for the schools to implement this game-changing endeavor.” 

REGISTERED SUPPORT: 

California Veterinary Medical Association (sponsor) 

Humane Society of the United States 

Humane Society Veterinary Medical Association 

REGISTERED OPPOSITION: 

None on file. 

Analysis Prepared by: Edward Franco / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301
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Date of Hearing:   

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS 

Marc Berman, Chair 

SB 1449 (Newman) – As Amended June 10, 2024 

 

NOTE: This bill is double referred to the Assembly Higher Education Committee, where it 

passed, 9-0.  

SENATE VOTE: 38-0 

SUBJECT: California Private Postsecondary Education Act of 2009:  complaint processing 

contracts  

SUMMARY: Authorizes law schools that are exempt from oversight by the Bureau for Private 

Postsecondary Education (BPPE or Bureau) to contract with the Bureau for complaint handling 

services until December 31, 2029.   

EXISTING LAW:   

Federal Law  

1) Specifies that an institution, as described, is legally authorized by a State if the State has a 

process to review and appropriately act on complaints concerning the institution including 

enforcing applicable State laws, and the institution meets specified provisions. (Code of 

Federal Regulations, Title 34, § 600.9) 

State Law  

1) Enacts the California Private Postsecondary Education Act (Act) to provide for the regulation 

and oversight of private postsecondary schools, subject to repeal on January 1, 2027. 

(Education Code (EDC) §§ 94800 et seq.) 

2) Establishes the BPPE within the Department of Consumer Affairs to regulate private 

postsecondary educational institutions under the Act. (EDC § 94820) 

3) Exempts from the Act a law school that is accredited by the Council of the Section of Legal 

Education and Admissions to the Bar of the American Bar Association or a law school or law 

study program that is subject to the approval, regulation, and oversight of the California State 

Bar’s Committee of Bar Examiners, as specified. (EDC § 94874(g) 

4) Authorizes an independent institution, as defined, to execute a contract with the BPPE for the 

Bureau to review, and, as appropriate, act on complaints concerning the institution, in 

accordance with federal regulations. (EDC § 94874.9(b)) 

5) Provides that the execution of a contract by the BPPE with an institution shall constitute 

establishment by the state of that institution to offer programs beyond secondary education, 
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including programs leading to a degree or certificate, in accordance with federal regulations. 

(EDC § 94874.9(c)) 

6) Provides that the BPPE shall use a standard form contract. (EDC § 94874.9(d)) 

7) Specifies that a contract meet minimum requirements, as specified. (EDC § 

94874.9(e)(1)(A)-(D)) 

8) Provides that the Bureau may terminate a contract if an institution is no longer an 

independent institution of higher education, as defined, or fails to comply with the provisions 

of the contract. (EDC § 94874.9(f)) 

9) Requires all moneys collected by the BPPE that relate to a contract to be deposited in the 

Private Postsecondary Education Administration Fund. (EDC § 94874.9(g)) 

10) Requires the Bureau to maintain on its website both of the following:  

a) The provisions of the standard form contract. 

b) A list of institutions with which BPPE has executed a contract.  

(EDC § 94874.9(h)) 

THIS BILL:  

1) Authorizes a law school that meets the requirements to be exempt from BPPE oversight that 

executed a contract with the Bureau between 2018 and 2023 for complaint processing to 

execute a contract for the same purpose until December 31, 2029.  

FISCAL EFFECT: According to the Senate Appropriations Committee, the BPPE estimates the 

following: 

1) Annual revenue reduction of $60,000, as the impacted law school would no longer have to 

pay fees to the Bureau (Private Postsecondary Education Administration Fund). 

 

2) Minimal decrease in administrative workload, as the impacted law school would still contract 

with the Bureau for its complaint servicing in order to maintain federal financial aid 

eligibility. 

 

3) Unknown fiscal impact to the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF), as the impacted law 

school would no longer be required to participate in the program and collect an assessment 

from students to contribute to STRF. 

COMMENTS:  

Purpose. This bill is sponsored by Southwestern Law School. According to the author: 

For more than 110 years, Southwestern Law School has provided Californians with 

affordable and high-quality legal instruction. Its roster of distinguished alumni includes 
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numerous members of the Legislature, statewide constitutional officers, justices of the 

California Supreme Court, members of Congress, and even California’s first African 

American and Latina judges. [This bill] will provide Southwestern Law School with 

temporary regulatory relief as it continues to work through the process of [Western 

Association of Schools and Colleges] accreditation, thereby providing the same 

exemption from Bureau (Bureau) regulations that many other California law schools of 

the same caliber currently enjoy. 

Background.  

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. Since January 1, 2010, the Act, implemented and 

enforced by the Bureau, has governed postsecondary educational institutions operating in 

California. Private postsecondary educational institutions with a physical presence in California 

are subject to the Act, except for those specifically exempted. The Bureau also registers specified 

out-of-state institutions serving California students via distance learning. According to its 

mission statement, “the Bureau protects students and consumers in California and beyond, 

through the oversight of California's private postsecondary educational institutions, by 

conducting qualitative reviews of educational programs and operating standards, proactively 

combating unlicensed activity, impartially resolving student and consumer complaints, and 

providing support and financial relief to harmed students.”1  

Federal State Authorization Regulations. On July 1, 2011, federal regulations began requiring, as 

a condition of Title IV Federal Student Aid program eligibility, that higher education institutions 

be legally authorized by a state to provide postsecondary education programs and that the state 

have a process in place to review and act upon student complaints about that institution.2 

Enforcement of the regulations were stayed until July 1, 2015 to allow states and institutions to 

prepare. In anticipation of the regulations taking full effect in 2015, the Legislature passed SB 81 

(Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review), Chapter 22, Statutes of 2015, which authorized 

private, nonprofit colleges and universities to contract with the BPPE for the Bureau to review 

and act on complaints concerning the institution.3 In 2023, SB 142 (Senate Committee on Budget 

and Fiscal Review), Chapter 195, Statutes of 2023, subsequently required qualifying institutions 

approved by the Commission on Teaching Credentialing for the Golden State Teacher Grant 

Program that do not have a physical presence in California to comply with applicable provisions 

of the Act and contract with the Bureau to respond to complaints from California resident 

students. As of June 18, 2024, the Bureau contracts with 106 schools for complaint processing. 

Need for the bill. The Act specifically exempts from BPPE oversight law schools that are 

accredited by the American Bar Association (ABA) or that are subject to the approval, 

regulation, and oversight by the California State Bar’s Committee of Bar Examiners (CBE). The 

                                                 

1 Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. (n.d.). About Us.  https://www.bppe.ca.gov/about_us/ 
2 Federal Student Aid an Office of the U.S. Department of Education. (n.d.). (GEN-15-10) (GEN-15-10) Subject: 

State Authorization Regulations Effective Date July 1, 2015. https://fsapartners.ed.gov/knowledge-

center/library/dear-colleague-letters/2015-06-19/gen-15-10-subject-state-authorization-regulations-effective-date-

july-1-2015 
3 The BPPE reviews and act on complaints concerning private, for-profit colleges and universities and the governing 

boards of the University of California, California State University, and California Community College systems 

fulfill this role on behalf of students attending in-state, public colleges and universities in California. 
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Act also exempts higher education institutions that are accredited by the Western Association of 

Schools and Colleges (WASC). However, while existing law allows WASC-accredited 

institutions to contract with the Bureau for complaint processing, law schools that are ABA-

accredited or subject to CBE approval, regulation, and oversight, but are not additionally WASC-

accredited, must apply for approval to operate from the Bureau in order for the bureau to review 

and act on complaints concerning the institution. However, from 2015 to 2023, Southwestern 

Law School, which is ABA-accredited but not WASC-accredited, was erroneously permitted to 

contract with the Bureau for complaint handling. Since 2023, Southwestern Law School has been 

required to get an approval to operate from the Bureau, which requires compliance with 

minimum operating standards, numerous reporting requirements, and payment of an annual fee 

of $60,000.  

This bill would allow a law school that is exempt from the Act due to its ABA accreditation and 

that contracted with the Bureau for complaint handling between 2018 and 2023 to continue to do 

so until December 31, 2029. This committee is only aware of one law school that would benefit 

from this allowance—the bill’s sponsor, Southwestern Law School. Representatives for 

Southwestern Law School say the school is currently pursuing WASC accreditation, which 

would allow the school to contract with the Bureau for complaint handling beyond 2029.   

Current Related Legislation.  

AB 3167 (Chen) would authorize, beginning July 1, 2025, a "highly qualified nonprofit 

institution," as specified, to register with the BPPE in lieu of seeking an approval to operate. 

Prior Related Legislation.  

SB 142 (Senate Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review), Chapter 195, Statutes of 2023, as it 

relates to this bill, required qualifying institutions approved by the Commission on Teaching 

Credentialing for the Golden State Teacher Grant Program that do not have a physical presence 

in California to comply with applicable provisions of the Act and contract with the Bureau to 

respond to complaints from California resident students.  

SB 1433 (Roth), Chapter 544, Statutes of 2022, as it relates to this bill, allowed an out-of-state 

public institution of higher education, as specified, that maintains a physical presence in this state 

to apply for an approval to operate from the BPPE for purposes of the Bureau handling 

complaints against the institution.  

AB 70 (Berman), Chapter 153, Statutes of 2020, prohibited the Bureau from approving an 

exemption or handling complaints for a nonprofit institution that the AG determines does not 

meet specified criteria of a nonprofit corporation.  

 

SB 81 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review), Chapter 22, Statutes of 2015, as it relates to 

this bill, authorized private, nonprofit colleges and universities to contract with the Bureau for 

the Bureau to review and act on complaints concerning the institution. 
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ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT:  

The Southwestern Law School writes in support as the sponsor of this bill: 

[This bill] exempts Southwestern from separate and conflicting reporting required by 

state law. It returns to the status quo that existing without any issues since at least July 

2015. It allow allows Southwestern’s faculty and staff to focus on the program of legal 

education instead of diverting previous human and financial resources on implementing a 

second compliance regime that largely duplicates topics occurred by the ABA 

accreditation standards but implements them in a way that requires two parallel systems 

that are both costly to implement, maintain and conflicting in terms of actual reporting 

requirements. Instead of promoting consumer protection, the conflicting processes and 

reports increase costs to students, confuse applicants attempting to compare multiple 

ABA-accredited law schools, increase the costs students must pay to attend 

Southwestern, and reduce the direct services Southwestern can offer due to the costs 

required to maintain BPPE compliance on top of the ABA compliance.  

ARGUMENTS IN OPPOSITION: 

The Institute for College Access & Success writes in opposition to this bill: 

While we acknowledge the bill’s intent to provide regulatory relief to Southwestern Law 

School and similar independent, non-profit law schools accredited by the American Bar 

Association (ABA) as they undergo accreditation by the Western Association of Schools 

and Colleges (WASC), we have significant concerns regarding its policy and fiscal 

implications. Federal rules are currently being developed that conduct a comprehensive 

regulatory review of accreditation and [this bill] would precede these federal rules. 

Introducing state legislation before forthcoming federal rules are established puts 

California at risk of being out of alignment with future federal regulations. The proposed 

federal rules aim to address the issue of accrediting bodies allowing non-compliant 

institutions to remain in good standing for years, despite identifying compliance 

problems. Some accreditor standards are so lenient that institutions can meet them 

without demonstrating minimal student success, leading to persistently low-value 

programs and institutions that can harm students. 

IMPLEMENTATION ISSUES: 

Ability to act on complaints. Federal regulations specify that in order for a postsecondary 

institution to receive state authorization the state must have a process to review and 

appropriately act on complaints concerning the institution. Because BPPE does not have any 

authority over postsecondary institutions that it does not approve or regulate, BPPE has limited 

ability to act on complaints beyond referring them to the institutions that are subject the 

complaints or other agencies (such as accrediting agencies). It is unclear whether this process 

provides the level of consumer protection envisioned by state authorization requirements. 

REGISTERED SUPPORT: 

Southwestern Law School (Sponsor) 
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REGISTERED OPPOSITION: 

The Institute for College Access & Success 

Analysis Prepared by: Kaitlin Curry / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301
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Date of Hearing: June 25, 2024 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS 

Marc Berman, Chair 

SB 1451 (Ashby) – As Amended June 19, 2024 

SENATE VOTE: 36-0 

SUBJECT: Professions and vocations 

SUMMARY: Authorizes registered dental hygienists in alternative practice (RHDAPs) to 

continue to provide services in an area that has been decertified as a dental health professional 

shortage area; updates existing restrictions on the use of the words “doctor” or “physician” or 

similar terms by individuals not licensed as physicians and surgeons; makes changes to the 

requirements for nurse practitioners (NPs) practicing independent of standardized procedures; 

expressly authorizes licensed vocational nurses (LVNs) who have completed additional training 

to perform certain respiratory care services in specified settings; requires pharmacists who 

dispense or furnish a dangerous drug pursuant to a veterinary prescription to offer specified drug 

documentation as part of their consultation; and makes various other changes to practice acts 

administered by boards and bureaus under the Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA). 

EXISTING LAW:   

1) Establishes the DCA within the Business, Consumer Services, and Housing Agency.  

(Business and Professions Code (BPC) § 100) 

2) Enumerates various regulatory boards, bureaus, committees, and commissions under the 

DCA’s jurisdiction.  (BPC § 101) 

3) Establishes the Dental Hygiene Board of California (DHBC) within the DCA to regulate 

dental hygienists under the Dental Hygiene Practice Act.  (BPC §§ 1902 et seq.) 

4) Establishes the Department of Health Care Access and Information (HCAI), vested with 

responsibilities related to health planning and research development relating to the health 

professional workforce.  (Health and Safety Code (HSC) §§ 127000 et seq.) 

5) Provides that the DHBC shall issue a license as an RDHAP to a registered dental hygienist 

who meets additional specified education and training requirements or to a person who has 

received a letter of acceptance into the employment utilization phase of the Health 

Workforce Pilot Project No. 155 established by HCAI.  (BPC § 1922) 

6) Authorizes RDHAPs to practice as an employee of a dentist or of another RDHAP, as an 

independent contractor, as a sole proprietor of an alternative dental hygiene practice, or in 

specified clinic settings.  (BPC § 1925) 

7) Additionally authorizes an RDHAP to perform specified duties in the following settings: 

a) Residences of the homebound. 
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b) Schools. 

c) Residential facilities and other institutions and medical settings that a residential facility 

patient has been transferred to for outpatient services. 

d) Dental health professional shortage areas, as certified by HCAI in accordance with 

existing office guidelines. 

e) Dental offices. 

(BPC § 1926) 

8) Establishes the Medical Board of California (MBC) within the DCA to regulate physicians 

and surgeons under the Medical Practice Act.  (BPC §§ 2000 et seq.) 

9) Establishes the Osteopathic Medical Board of California (OMBC) within the DCA to 

regulate osteopathic physicians and surgeons under the Osteopathic Act who possess the 

same privileges as licensees regulated by the MBC.  (BPC §§ 2450 et seq.)  

10) Declares that protection of the public shall be the highest priority for both the MBC and the 

OMBC in exercising their respective licensing, regulatory, and disciplinary functions, and 

that whenever the protection of the public is inconsistent with other interests sought to be 

promoted, the protection of the public shall be paramount.  (BPC § 2001.1; § 2450.1) 

11) Provides that any person who practices or attempts to practice, or who advertises or holds 

themselves out as practicing, any system or mode of treating the sick or afflicted in 

California, or who diagnoses, treats, operates for, or prescribes for any ailment, blemish, 

deformity, disease, disfigurement, disorder, injury, or other physical or mental condition of 

any person, without having at the time of so doing a valid, unrevoked, or unsuspended 

certificate as a physician and surgeon or without being otherwise authorized to perform the 

act is guilty of a crime.  (BPC § 2052) 

12) Requires a person who provides certain alternative or complementary to healing arts services 

and who is not a licensed physician and surgeon to make a written disclosure to the client 

that they are not a licensed physician and that the services to be provided are not licensed by 

the state, among other disclosures.  (BPC § 2053.6) 

13) Prohibits any person who does not have a valid, unrevoked, and unsuspended certificate as a 

physician and surgeon from the MBC from using the words “doctor” or “physician,” the 

letters or prefix “Dr.,” the initials “M.D.,” or any other terms or letters indicating or implying 

that they are a physician and surgeon, with certain exceptions.  (BPC § 2054) 

14) Allows a person who has been issued a physician’s and surgeon’s certificate by the MBC to 

use the initials “M.D.”  (BPC § 2055) 

15) Provides that nothing in the Medical Practice Act shall be construed as limiting the practice 

of other persons licensed, certified, or registered under any other provision of healing arts 

law when that person is engaged in their authorized and licensed practice.  (BPC § 2061) 
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16) Makes it unlawful for any healing arts licensee to publically communicate a false, fraudulent, 

misleading, or deceptive statement, claim, or image for the purpose of or likely to induce, 

directly or indirectly, the rendering of professional services in connection with the 

professional practice or business for which they are licensed.  (BPC § 651) 

17) Makes it unlawful for any person to make or disseminate any statement in the advertising of 

services, professional or otherwise, which is untrue or misleading.  (BPC § 17500)  

18) Establishes the Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) within the DCA to regulate licensed 

registered nurses under the Nursing Practice Act.  (BPC §§ 2700 et seq.) 

19) Defines “the practice of nursing” as functions, including basic healthcare, that help people 

cope with or treat difficulties in daily living that are associated with their actual or potential 

health or illness problems, and that require a substantial amount of scientific knowledge or 

technical skill.  (BPC § 2725) 

20) Includes within the scope of nursing practice the following: 

a) Direct and indirect patient care services that ensure the safety, comfort, personal hygiene, 

and protection of patients; and the performance of disease prevention and restorative 

measures.  (BPC § 2725(b)(1)) 

b) Direct and indirect patient care services, including the administration of medications and 

therapeutic agents, necessary to implement a treatment, disease prevention, or 

rehabilitative regimen ordered by and within the scope of licensure of a physician, 

dentist, podiatrist, or clinical psychologist.  (BPC § 2725(b)(2)) 

c) The performance of skin tests, immunization techniques, and the withdrawal of human 

blood from veins and arteries.  (BPC § 2725(b)(3)) 

d) Observation of signs and symptoms of illness, reactions to treatment, general behavior, or 

general physical condition, and determination of whether the signs, symptoms, reactions, 

behavior, or general appearance exhibit abnormal characteristics, and implementation, 

based on observed abnormalities, of appropriate reporting, or referral, or standardized 

procedures, or changes in treatment regimen in accordance with “standardized 

procedures,” or the initiation of emergency procedures.  (BPC § 2725(b)(4)) 

21) Defines “standardized procedures” as either of the following: 

a) Policies and protocols developed by a licensed health facility through collaboration 

among administrators and health professionals including physicians and nurses.  (BPC § 

2725(c)(1)) 

b) Policies and protocols developed through collaboration among administrators and health 

professionals, including physicians and nurses, by an organized healthcare system that is 

not a licensed health facility.  (BPC § 2725(c)(2)) 

22) Establishes standardized procedure guidelines jointly promulgated by the Medical Board of 

California and the BRN.  (California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 16, § 1474) 
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23) Requires standardized procedures to include a written description of the method used during 

development and approval.  (CCR, tit. 16, § 1474(a)) 

24) Specifies the required form and content of standardized procedures, including that they are in 

writing and signed, specify the authorized functions, establish procedure protocols, detail 

education and training requirements, provide for evaluation and of authorized nurses, provide 

for the maintenance of records of authorized nurses, establish the scope of physician 

supervision, set forth circumstances requiring physician consultation, state limitations on 

settings, specify patient record keeping requirements, and provide for periodic review of the 

standardized procedures.  (CCR, tit. 16, § 1474(b)) 

25) Establishes a category of advanced practice registered nurses known as NPs, and specifies 

the requirements for certification.  (BPC §§ 2834-2837.105) 

26) Establishes the following categories of NP: 

a) Family/individual across the lifespan.  (CCR, tit. 16, § 1481(a)(1)) 

b) Adult-gerontology, primary care or acute care.  (CCR, tit. 16, § 1481(a)(2)) 

c) Neonatal.  (CCR, tit. 16, § 1481(a)(3)) 

d) Pediatrics, primary care or acute care.  (CCR, tit. 16, § 1481(a)(4)) 

e) Women's health/gender-related.  (CCR, tit. 16, § 1481(a)(5))  

f) Psychiatric-Mental Health across the lifespan.  (CCR, tit. 16, § 1481(a)(6)) 

27) Authorizes an NP who meets specified requirements, commencing January 1, 2023, to 

perform the following procedures independent of standardized procedures and physician 

oversight:  

a) Conduct an advanced assessment.  (BPC § 2837.103(c)(1)) 

b) Order, perform, and interpret diagnostic procedures.  (BPC § 2837.103(c)(2)(A)) 

c) For radiologic procedures, a nurse practitioner can order diagnostic procedures and utilize 

the findings or results in treating the patient.  A nurse practitioner may perform or 

interpret clinical laboratory procedures that they are permitted to perform under Section 

1206 and under the federal Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act (CLIA).  (BPC § 

2837.103(c)(2)(B)) 

d) Establish primary and differential diagnoses.  (BPC § 2837.103(c)(3)) 

e) Prescribe, order, administer, dispense, procure, and furnish therapeutic measures, 

including, but not limited to, the following: 
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i) Diagnose, prescribe, and institute therapy or referral of patients to health care 

agencies, health care providers, and community resources.  (BPC § 

2837.103(c)(4)(A)) 

ii) Prescribe, administer, dispense, and furnish pharmacological agents, including over-

the-counter, legend, and controlled substances.  (BPC § 2837.103(c)(4)(B)) 

iii) Plan and initiate a therapeutic regimen that includes ordering and prescribing 

nonpharmacological interventions, including, but not limited to, durable medical 

equipment, medical devices, nutrition, blood and blood products, and diagnostic and 

supportive services, including, but not limited to, home health care, hospice, and 

physical and occupational therapy.  (BPC § 2837.103(c)(4)(C)) 

f) After performing a physical examination, certify disability.  (BPC § 2837.103(c)(5)) 

g) Delegate specified tasks to a medical assistant.  (BPC § 2837.103(c)(6)) 

28) Requires an NP who seeks to practice independent of standardized procedures to obtain 

certification from the BRN and complete a “transition to practice” in California of a 

minimum of three full-time equivalent years of practice or 4,600 hours.  (BPC § 

2837.103(a)(1)(D); CCR, tit. 16, §§ 1482.3, 1482.4).  

29) Defines “transition to practice” as additional clinical experience and mentorship provided to 

prepare a nurse practitioner to practice independently, including managing a panel of 

patients, working in a complex health care setting, interpersonal communication, 

interpersonal collaboration and team-based care, professionalism, and business management 

of a practice.  (BPC § 2837.101(c)) 

30) Requires the BRN to, by regulation, define minimum standards for transition to practice and 

specifies that clinical experience may include experience obtained before January 1, 2021, if 

the experience meets the requirements established by the BRN.  (BPC § 2837.101(c)) 

31) Requires an NP who seeks to practice independent of standardized procedures to prove 

completion of a transition to practice by submitting to the BRN one or more attestations of a 

physician or surgeon or another NP already authorized to practice independent of 

standardized procedures; requires an attesting physician or surgeon or NP practicing to 

specialize in the same specialty area or category in which the applicant seeks certification as 

an NP; and prohibits the attester from having a familial or financial relationship with the 

applicant.  (CCR, tit. 16, §§ 1482.3(a)(13), 1482.4(a)(13)) 

32) Requires the transition to practice to be completed within five years prior to the date the 

applicant applies for certification as an NP practicing independent of standardized 

procedures.  (CCR, tit. 16, §§ 1482.3(a)(13)(A)(ii), 1482.4(a)(13)(A)(ii)) 

33) Requires the transition to practice to be completed in direct patient care and in the same 

category of NP practice in which the applicant seeks certification.  (CCR, tit. 16, § 

1482.3(a)(13)(A)(iv), 1482.4(a)(13)(A)(iv)) 
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34) Authorizes an NP who meets all of the requirements for practice independent of standardized 

procedures to practice in one of the following settings or organizations in which one or more 

physician and surgeons practice with the NP: 

a) A clinic.  (BPC § 2837.103(a)(2)(A)) 

b) A health facility, except for correctional treatment centers and state hospitals.  (BPC § 

2837.103(a)(2)(B)) 

c) A county medical facility.  (BPC § 2837.103(a)(2)(C)) 

d) Any lawfully organized group of physicians and surgeons that provides health care 

services.  (BPC § 2837.103(a)(2)(D)) 

e) A home health agency.  (BPC § 2837.103(a)(2)(E)) 

f) A licensed hospice facility.  (BPC § 2837.103(a)(2)(F)) 

35) Authorizes an NP who has practiced in good standing for three years independent of 

standardized procedures to seek a certificate from the BRN to practice outside of the settings 

in which one or physician and surgeons practice.  (BPC § 2837.104(b); (CCR, tit. 16, § 

1482.4(a)(14)) 

36) Requires an NP to verbally inform all new patients in a language understandable to the 

patient that a nurse practitioner is not a physician and surgeon, for purposes of Spanish 

language speakers, use standardized phrase “enfermera especializada.”  (BPC §§ 

2837.103(d), 2837.104(d); CCR, tit. 16, § 1487(b)) 

37) Requires an NP, except when working in facilities under the Department of Corrections and 

Rehabilitation, to advise patients that they have the right to see a physician and surgeon on 

request and the circumstances under which they must be referred to see a physician and 

surgeon.  (CCR, tit. 16, § 1487(c)) 

38) Establishes the Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians (BVNPT) within 

the DCA to regulate licensed vocational nurses (LVNs) and psychiatric technicians under the 

Vocational Nursing Practice Act and the Psychiatric Technicians Law.  (BPC §§ 2840–

2895.5; 4500–4548) 

39) Establishes the Respiratory Care Board of California (RCB) within the DCA to regulate 

respiratory care practitioners under the Respiratory Care Practice Act.  (BPC §§ 3700 et seq.) 

40) Defines respiratory care practice as a health care profession employed under the supervision 

of a medical director in the therapy, management, rehabilitation, diagnostic evaluation, and 

care of patients with deficiencies and abnormalities which affect the pulmonary system and 

associated aspects of cardiopulmonary and other systems functions, as specified.  (BPC §§ 

3702; 3702.7) 
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41) Provides that the practice of respiratory care shall be performed under the supervision of a 

medical director in accordance with a prescription of a physician and surgeon or pursuant to 

respiratory care protocols.  (BPC § 3703) 

42) Specifies activities that are not prohibited by the Respiratory Care Act, including: 

a) The performance of respiratory care that is an integral part of the program of study by 

students enrolled in approved respiratory therapy training programs. 

b) Self-care by the patient or the gratuitous care by a friend or member of the family who 

does not represent or hold themselves out to be a respiratory care practitioner licensed 

under the provisions of the Act. 

c) The respiratory care practitioner from performing advances in the art and techniques of 

respiratory care learned through formal or specialized training. 

d) The performance of respiratory care in an emergency situation by paramedical personnel 

who have been formally trained in these modalities and are duly licensed under the 

provisions of an act pertaining to their specialty. 

e) Respiratory care services in case of an emergency, which includes an epidemic or public 

disaster. 

f) Persons from engaging in cardiopulmonary research. 

g) Formally trained licensees and staff of child day care facilities from administering to a 

child inhaled medication. 

h) The performance by a person employed by a home medical device retail facility or by a 

home health agency licensed by the Department of Public Health (CDPH) of specific, 

limited, and basic respiratory care or respiratory care related services that have been 

authorized by the board. 

i) The performance of certain respiratory care practices by an LVN licensed by the BVNPT 

who is employed by a home health agency licensed by the CDPH, subject to certain 

conditions.   

(BPC § 3765) 

43) Requires that, before January 1, 2025, LVNs performing respiratory care practices complete 

patient-specific training satisfactory to their employer.  (BPC § 3765(i)(1)) 

44) Requires that, on or after January 1, 2025, patient-specific training offered by employers are 

in accordance with guidelines that shall be promulgated by the RCB no later than that same 

date, in collaboration with the BVNPT.  (BPC § 3765(i)(2)) 

45) Establishes the California State Board of Pharmacy (BOP) within the DCA to regulate the 

pharmacy profession under the Pharmacy Law.  (BPC §§ 4000 et seq.) 
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46) Establishes the Veterinary Medical Board (VMB) within the DCA to regulate veterinarians 

and registered veterinary technicians (RVTs) under the Veterinary Medicine Practice Act.  

(BPC §§ 4800 et seq.) 

47) Provides that a person practices veterinary medicine when they, among other things, 

administer a drug or medicine for the prevention, cure, or relief of a wound, fracture, bodily 

injury, or disease of animals.  (BPC § 4826) 

48) Prohibits a veterinarian from prescribing, dispensing, or administering a drug, medicine, or 

treatment unless a veterinarian-client-patient relationship exists, subject to certain exceptions.  

(BPC § 4826.6) 

49) Requires that, each time a veterinarian initially prescribes, dispenses, or furnishes a 

dangerous drug to an animal patient in an outpatient setting, the veterinarian shall offer to 

provide, verbally, in writing, or by email to the client, a consultation that includes the 

following:  

a) The name and description of the dangerous drug,  

b) The route of administration, dosage form, dosage, duration of drug therapy, the duration 

of the effects of the drug, and the common severe adverse effects associated with the use 

of a short-acting or long-acting drug,  

c) Any special directions for proper use and storage,  

d) Actions to be taken in the event of a missed dose, and  

e) If available, precautions and relevant warnings provided by the drug’s manufacturer, 

including common severe adverse effects of the drug. 

(BPC § 4829.5(a)) 

50) Requires a veterinarian to provide drug documentation to a client, if available.  (BPC § 

4829.5(b)) 

51) Authorizes a veterinarian to delegate the task of providing consultation and drug 

documentation to an RVT or veterinary assistant.  (BPC § 4829.5(c)) 

52) Establishes the State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) within the DCA to 

regulate barbers, cosmetologists, hairstylists, electrologists, estheticians, and manicurists 

under the Barbering and Cosmetology Act.  (BPC §§ 7301 et seq.) 

53) Defines the practice of hairstyling as all or any combination of the following: 

a) Styling of all textures of hair by standard methods that are current at the time of the 

hairstyling. 
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b) Arranging, blow drying, cleansing, curling, cutting, dressing, extending, shampooing, 

waving, or nonchemically straightening the hair of any person using both electrical and 

nonelectrical devices. 

(BPC § 7316) 

54) Establishes fee amounts that may be charged to applicants and licensees by the BBC and 

specifically provides that the fee for a hairstylist application and examination shall be either 

$50 or a lower fee in an amount as determined by the BBC, not to exceed the reasonable cost 

of developing, purchasing, grading, and administering the examination.  (BPC § 7323) 

55) Establishes the Structural Pest Control Board (SPCB) within the DCA to regulate structural 

pest control operators under the Structural Pest Control Act.  (BPC §§ 8500 et seq.) 

56) Requires that, as a condition of license renewal, a licensee of the SPCB must submit proof of 

continuing education, or equivalent activity, informing themselves of developments in the 

field of pest control, and authorizes licensees to take an examination issued by the SPCB in 

lieu of continuing education.  (BPC § 8593) 

57) Provides that the SPCB shall require applicants for license renewal to submit proof that they 

have completed approved courses of continuing education in pesticide application and use, 

and provides that in lieu of submitting that proof, the licensee may successfully pass an 

applicator’s examination for renewal of a license given by the SPCB.  (BPC § 8593.1) 

THIS BILL:  

1) Allows RDHAPs working in a dental health professional shortage area to continue to provide 

dental hygiene services if the dental health professional shortage area certification is removed 

and requires those RDHAPs to annually provide patients treated at an existing practice with a 

list of dentists in the previous dental health professional shortage area who may be able to see 

the patient for comprehensive services. 

2) Adds references to osteopathic physicians and surgeons licensed by the OMBC to provisions 

of existing law generally prohibiting use of the terms “doctor,” “physician,” “Dr.,” and 

“M.D.” by persons who are not licensed physicians and surgeons. 

3) Expressly prohibits a person from using the words “doctor” or “physician,” the letters or 

prefix “Dr.,” the initials “M.D.” or “D.O.,” or any other terms or letters indicating or 

implying that the person is a physician and surgeon or practitioner in a health care setting that 

would lead a reasonable patient to determine that person is a licensed “M.D.” or “D.O.” 

4) Clarifies that the above prohibitions do not apply to a person holding a current and active 

license under another healing arts board, to the extent the use of the title is consistent with the 

act governing the practice of that license. 

5) Additionally allows a person who is not a physician and surgeon to use the word “doctor” or 

the prefix “Dr.” if the use is not associated with any claim of entitlement to practice medicine 

or any other professional service for which the use of the title would be untrue or misleading. 
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6) Makes the following changes to the requirements for NP practicing independent of 

standardized procedures: 

a) Amends the definition of “transition to practice” to delete the requirement that clinical 

experience must meet the requirements established by the BRN, clarify that clinical 

experience may not be limited to experience in a single category of NP practice, and 

exclude experience obtained before a person is certified as an NP.  

b) Authorizes the transition to practice to be completed in another state. 

c) Specifies that an NP who has been practicing as a nurse practitioner in direct patient care 

for a minimum of three full-time equivalent years or 4,600 hours within the last 5 years, 

as of January 1, 2023, may be deemed to have satisfied the transition to practice 

requirement.  

d) Specifies the following for purposes of completion of the transition to practice: 

i) The BRN must receive proof of completion of a transition to practice on a form 

prescribed by the BRN as an attestation from either a licensed physician and surgeon 

or an NP authorized to practice independent of standardized procedures. 

ii) A licensed physician and surgeon or an NP who attests to the completion of a 

transition to practice is not required to specialize in the same category as the 

applicant. 

iii) A licensed physician and surgeon or an NP who attests to the completion of a 

transition to practice is not required to verify competence, clinical expertise, or any 

other standards related to the practice of the applicant and only attests to the 

completion of the transition to practice. 

iv) A licensed physician and surgeon or an NP who attests to the completion of a 

transition to practice is not be subject to civil, criminal, administrative, disciplinary, 

employment, credentialing, professional discipline, contractual liability, or medical 

staff action, sanction, or penalty or other liability for providing an attestation or 

refusing to provide an attestation. 

e) Deletes from the requirement that an NP practicing independent of standardized 

procedures inform all new patients in a language understandable to the patient that an NP 

is not a physician and surgeon that the NP do so verbally.  

f) Deletes requirement that an NP nurse practitioner use the standardized phrase “enfermera 

especializada” with Spanish language speakers.  

g) Specifies that an NP is not be required to tell a patient the patient has a right to see a 

physician and surgeon. 

h) Clarifies that the disclosure requirements only apply to NPs practicing independently of 

standardized procedures.  
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7) Specifies that the occupational analysis performed by the BRN related to NP competencies 

and independent practice did not need to include NP certification examinations discontinued 

before January 1, 2017. 

8) Extends respective dates for LVNs to complete patient-specific training, and for the RCB to 

promulgate regulations in consultation with the BVNPT, to January 1, 2028.  

9) Authorizes, operative January 1, 2028, an LVN to perform respiratory care services 

identified by the RCB so long as they:  

a) Complete patient-specific training satisfactory to their employer, and  

b) Hold a current and valid certification of competency for each respiratory task to be 

performed from the California Association of Medical Product Suppliers, the California 

Society for Respiratory Care, or another organization identified by the board. 

10) Authorizes, operative January 1, 2028, LVNs to perform respiratory care services identified 

by the RCB in the following settings:  

a) At a congregate living health facility licensed by the CDPH that is designated as six beds 

or fewer. 

b) At an intermediate care facility licensed by the CDPH that is designated as six beds or 

fewer. 

c) At an adult day health care center licensed by the CDPH. 

d) As an employee of a home health agency licensed by the CDPH or an individual nurse 

provider working in a residential home. 

e) At a pediatric day health and respite care facility licensed by the CDPH. 

f) At a small family home licensed by the State Department of Social Services that is 

designated as six beds or fewer. 

g) As a private duty nurse as part of daily transportation and activities outside a patient’s 

residence or family respite for home- and community-based patients. 

11) Requires a pharmacist who dispenses or furnishes a dangerous drug pursuant to a veterinary 

prescription to include, as part of the consultation, the option for a representative of an 

animal patient to also receive drug documentation specifically designed for veterinary drugs. 

12) Recasts the authority of the BBC to charge a hairstylist application and examination fee to 

require the fee amount to be the actual cost to the board for developing, purchasing, grading, 

and administering the examination and establishes the fee for a hairstylist’s initial license fee 

as $50. 

13) Removes the authority for SCPB licensees to take an examination issued by the board in lieu 

of continuing education. 
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FISCAL EFFECT: Pursuant to Senate Rule 28.8, negligible state costs.  

COMMENTS:  

Purpose. This bill is sponsored by the author, who is Chair of the Senate Committee on 

Business, Professions, and Economic Development.  According to the author: 

“This bill is intended to be an omnibus bill which includes several changes to programs 

reviewed through the sunset review oversight process. Among other important clarifying 

provisions, SB 1451 addresses a number of practice areas impacting the ability for female-

dominant healthcare professions to effectively provide safe and expanded access to care to 

California patients.” 

Background. 

Registered Dental Hygienists in Alternative Practice.  The DHBC maintains authority over all 

aspects of licensure, enforcement, and investigation of California dental hygienists.  The DHBC 

regulates three categories of mid-level dental professionals.  These categories include registered 

dental hygienists, registered dental hygienists in extended functions, and RDHAPs. 

An RDHP is trained and authorized to provide unsupervised dental hygiene services in certain 

limited practice settings, including residences of the homebound, schools, residential facilities, 

and dental offices.  RDHAPs are also authorized to provide services without supervision in 

certified dental health professional shortage areas.  The original intent of this authority was to 

allow RDHAPs to perform unsupervised services on vulnerable and challenging populations, 

such as children, individuals with limited access to dental care, and patients with compromised 

mobility or other health concerns that impede their ability to get dental care in more traditional 

settings. 

During the DHBC’s sunset review in 2018, the board’s sunset hearing background paper 

discussed the fact that while an RDHAP may set up practice in a dental health professional 

shortage area, the RDHAP must relocate their practice once that shortage is deemed to no longer 

exist.  Health professional shortage areas are federal designations, certified in California by 

HCAI, and therefore decertification could in theory occur with little notice or public input.  

Assembly Bill 502 (Chau) of 2015 included language that would have allowed an RDHAP to 

continue practicing in an area that has lost its dental health professional shortage area 

designation; however, this language was subsequently removed from the bill. 

This issue was again discussed during the DHBC’s most recent sunset review in 2023.  Issue #5 

in the board’s sunset hearing background paper discussed the question of whether current law 

should be amended to allow an RDHAP with a stand-alone dental hygiene practice site in a 

dental health professional shortage area to remain in practice even if the area’s shortage area 

certification is removed.  The background paper noted that “licensees are wary of opening a 

dental hygiene practice with the risk that they could lose the business if the designation is lifted 

by the federal government due to the dental hygiene services they are providing to the 

population.”  The DHBC opined that if this concern were addressed, more RDHAPs would 

potentially be willing to open new practices in these communities where their dental services are 

vitally needed the most. 
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This bill would address the concerns that were raised in the DHBC’s prior sunset reviews by 

amending the law to allow an RDHAP that previously provided services without supervision in a 

dental health professional shortage area to continue to provide dental hygiene services in the 

event that the dental health professional shortage area certification is removed for that area.  The 

bill would require RDHAPs to annually provide patients treated at an existing practice with a list 

of dentists in the previous dental health professional shortage area who may be able to see the 

patient for comprehensive services.  While it is uncertain whether there is any imminent risk of 

the federal government removing a substantial number of dental health professional shortage 

area designations in the future, this authority will arguably help encourage RDHAPs to invest in 

opening practices in these communities, which would correspondingly result in underserved 

patients receiving access to dental hygiene services. 

Restriction of Medical Terms.  The Medical Practice Act currently prohibits any person from 

practicing or advertising as practicing medicine without a license.  Statute specifically makes it a 

misdemeanor for any unlicensed person to use the words “doctor” or “physician,” the letters or 

prefix “Dr.,” the initials “M.D.,” or any other terms or letters indicating or implying that the 

person is a licensed physician and surgeon on any sign, business card, or letterhead, or, in an 

advertisement.  To use these words, prefixes, or initials, a person’s license must be valid, 

unrevoked, and unsuspended.  The statute features three limited exceptions for individuals who 

are trained as physicians but not currently licensed in California.  

General provisions governing health professional licensing boards make it unlawful for any 

healing arts licensee to publically communicate any false, fraudulent, misleading, or deceptive 

statement, claim, or image for the purpose of rendering professional services in connection with 

their licensed practice.  Statute specifically prohibits a licensee from using “any professional 

card, professional announcement card, office sign, letterhead, telephone directory listing, 

medical list, medical directory listing, or a similar professional notice or device if it includes a 

statement or claim that is false, fraudulent, misleading, or deceptive.”  Practitioners may 

advertise that they are certified or that they limit their practice to specific fields; however, the 

term “board certified” reserve for physicians certified by an American Board of Medical 

Specialties member board. 

Additionally, Section 17500 of the Business and Professions Code broadly prohibits false 

advertising of a product or service.  Specifically, this law makes it unlawful for any person to 

make any statement or advertisement with intent to perform services, professional or otherwise, 

that is untrue or misleading.  While this code section covers a wide range of false advertisements 

by sellers of goods or services, its provisions would be applicable to health care licensees. 

While the Medical Practice Act expressly reserves use of the words “doctor” or “physician” for 

actively licensed physicians, this provision does not comprehensively reflect the current state of 

the law.  For example, while podiatrists are independently licensed by the Podiatric Medical 

Board of California, their formal title is “doctors of podiatric medicine.”  Similarly, the 

California Board of Naturopathic Medicine licenses and regulates a profession statutorily 

referred to as “naturopathic doctors.”  Optometrists, dentists, chiropractors, psychologists, and 

other practitioners possessing professional doctorates are also expressly authorized by law to use 

the term “doctor.”  “Dr.” is also commonly used as a social honorific for anyone who has 

received a doctoral degree, including research doctorates not associated with licensure. 
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Current law also does not expressly exempt individuals who do not imply any authority to 

practice a healing art but who use the honorific “Dr.” to recognize a nonprofessional doctorate or 

as part of an established nickname.  For example, Dr. Dre is an American rapper and 

entrepreneur whose debut record as a solo performer, The Chronic, is widely recognized as a 

seminal hip hop album of the 1990s and credited with popularizing the G-funk rap subgenre.  

Born Andre Romell Young, the artist’s moniker was inspired Julius Erving, a professional 

basketball player for the Philadelphia 76ers who is considered to be one of the greatest dunkers 

of all time and who is known by his nickname “Dr. J.”  Neither Dr. Dre nor Dr. J is a graduate of 

any medical school and neither holds a current license as a physician and surgeon from a state 

medical board.  However, the MBC has not prosecuted Dr. Dre or Dr. J for violating the Medical 

Practice Act, likely because they are clearly not implying that they are physicians, which is the 

obvious intent of the law. 

Under the status quo, it is apparent that someone who is not a physician and surgeon may 

nevertheless safely use the term “doctor” and its associated prefix without fear of incurring a 

misdemeanor conviction if they are authorized by another law to use that title (e.g. a person 

licensed under the Naturopathic Doctors Act); in possession of a doctoral degree (e.g. Dr. Jill 

Biden, Ed.D.); or clearly not implying any qualification to practice medicine (e.g. Dr. Demento).  

However, current law does not expressly reference any of these exemptions.  Current law also 

does not reflect the fact that physicians and surgeons are not exclusively licensed as M.D.s by the 

MBC; osteopathic physicians and surgeons possess the same authority and scope as D.O.s 

licensed by the OMBC. 

This bill would make several updates and clarifications to existing law restricting use of “doctor” 

and similar terms.  Because osteopathic physicians and surgeons have the same scope of practice 

as physicians and surgeons licensed by the MBC and are regulated under the same chapter of 

code, this bill would provide them with the same title protection for the initials “D.O.” that 

licensees of the MBC receive for “M.D.”  Additionally, the bill clarifies that exemptions in 

current law for graduates of medical schools apply equally to graduates of osteopathic medical 

schools.  The bill would then expressly provide that no person may use words, initials, or other 

terms or letters indicating or implying that the person is a physician and surgeon, physician, 

surgeon, or practitioner in a health care setting that would lead a reasonable patient to determine 

that person is a licensed “M.D.” or “D.O.” 

Additionally, this bill would further clarify existing law by adding two new exceptions to the 

restriction of these terms that are reflective of the status quo but not expressly referenced in the 

Medical Practice Act.  First, the bill would confirm that licensees of other healing arts boards, 

such as optometrists, naturopathic doctors, and dentists, may continue to use words such as 

“doctor” to the extent the use of the title is consistent with the act governing the practice of that 

license.  Second, the bill would exempt any person whose use of the word “doctor” or the prefix 

“Dr.” is not associated with any claim of entitlement to practice medicine or any other 

professional service for which the use of the title would be untrue or misleading pursuant to 

Section 17500.  This clarification would capture both those who have earned the right to the title 

“doctor” by obtaining a doctoral degree and those who merely use the term as playful branding, 

as long as the use is outside any medical context that could be confusing to consumers. 
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Nurse Practitioners. An NP is a registered nurse (RN) who has additionally earned a 

postgraduate nursing degree, such as a Master’s or Doctorate, and obtained a certificate from a 

certifying body. For state recognition to practice as an NP, the NP must also meet the educational 

standards established by the BRN. According to BRN regulations, an NP is an advanced practice 

registered nurse who meets BRN education and certification requirements and possesses 

additional advanced practice educational preparation and skills in physical diagnosis, psycho-

social assessment, and management of health-illness needs in primary care or acute care.  

As RNs, NPs generally have the same base scope of practice as non-NP RNs, although their 

additional education and training allows them to perform more advanced functions under 

standardized procedures. Currently, all RNs practicing outside of the basic scope of nursing 

operate under a supervision mechanism known as a “standardized procedure.” The standardized 

procedure authorizes functions that would otherwise be considered the practice of medicine and 

must be based on the guidelines jointly promulgated by the Medical Board of California and the 

BRN.  

Standardized procedures must meet specified requirements, including that they: 

1) Are developed with the organized healthcare system or physician.  

2) Outline the scope of the functions allowed. 

3) Specify the circumstances under which they may be performed.  

4) Specify any training prerequisites. 

5) Establish a method for initial and ongoing evaluation of the competence of the RN.  

6) Specify the level of physician supervision required (e.g. indirect, on-site, present during the 

procedure). 

7) Establish physician consultation protocols. 

8) Specify any limitations on settings where the functions may be performed.  

9) Specify record-keeping requirements and methods for periodic review.  

As the result of the more advanced NP training, standardized procedures may authorize a greater 

number or difficulty of functions and settings while reducing the amount of supervision needed. 

The Nursing Practice Act also specifically authorizes NPs under standardized procedures to 

order durable medical equipment; certify disability; approve, modify, and add to a home health 

services treatment plan; furnish and order prescription drugs; and perform abortions by 

aspirations techniques with additional training.  

DCA’s Annual Report for Fiscal Year 2022-23 reported 36,092 actively licensed NPs and 32,780 

NPs with a furnishing certificate authorizing them to furnish drugs.  

Independent NPs and the “transition to practice” requirement. NPs who meet additional 

requirements, including the completion of a 3-year or 4600-hour “transition to practice,” may 

practice independently without standardized procedures. There are two categories of independent 

NPs, those who practice in licensed healthcare settings where physicians practice and those who 

practice in any setting. Due to the variety of NP educational pathways, in order to practice 

independently in any setting, an NP would be required to meet the above training requirements 

above as well as meet additional educational experience prerequisites.  
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Once an NP meets the transition to practice, the NP may perform the following functions 

independent of standardized procedures: 

1) Conduct an advanced assessment. 

2) Order, perform, and interpret diagnostic procedures, including radiologic procedures and 

specified laboratory procedures. 

3) Establish primary and differential diagnoses. 

4) Prescribe, order, administer, dispense, procure, and furnish therapeutic measures, including, 

but not limited to, the following: 

a) Diagnose, prescribe, and institute therapy or referral of patients to healthcare agencies, 

healthcare providers, and community resources. 

b) Prescribe, administer, dispense, and furnish pharmacological agents, including over-the-

counter, legend, and controlled substances. 

c) Plan and initiate a therapeutic regimen that includes ordering and prescribing 

nonpharmacological interventions, including, but not limited to, durable medical 

equipment, medical devices, nutrition, blood and blood products, and diagnostic and 

supportive services, including, but not limited to, home health care, hospice, and physical 

and occupational therapy. 

5) After performing a physical examination, certify disability pursuant to the Unemployment 

Insurance Code. 

6) Delegate tasks to a medical assistant. 

While there are still requirements in the law that specify when an independent NP would need to 

consult with a physician or refer a patient, the NP is not required to establish a relationship with 

a physician for those purposes before practicing without standardized procedures. 

Transition to Practice in Other States. There are 24 states that authorize NPs to practice without 

standardized procedures. Of those, 10 require a transition to practice, ranging from six months of 

full-time practice or 1,000 hours to 3 years or 2,000 hours. The remaining 14 do not require a 

transition to practice.  

BRN Transition to Practice Regulations. Existing law requires the BRN to establish 

requirements related to the transition to practice. Pursuant to that requirement, BRN regulations 

require that the transition to practice meet the following: 

1) Be completed in the five years preceding application.  

2) Be completed after initial certification as an NP by the BRN.  

3) Be completed in direct patient care.  

4) Be completed in a specified NP practice area (family/individual across the lifespan; adult-

gerontology, primary care or acute care; neonatal; pediatrics, primary care, or acute care; 

women's health/gender-related; psychiatric-mental health). 

The BRN’s regulations also require that a physician or another NP authorized to practice 

independently who is practicing in the same practice area as the applicant NP to attest to the 

completion of the transition to practice. This bill codifies portions of those requirements and 

preempts others.   
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NP Disclosure Requirements. NPs under the independent practice provisions are statutorily 

required to make several disclosures to patients, including verbally informing all new patients in 

a language understandable to the patient that the NP is not a physician and surgeon and referring 

to themselves as “enfermera especializada” with Spanish language speakers. BRN regulations 

also require NPs to tell all patients they have the right to see a physician. This bill deletes 

“verbally” from the requirement that new patients are informed that an NP is not a physician and 

deletes the “enfermera especializada” requirement. This bill also prohibits requiring NPs to tell 

all patients they have the right to see a physician. 

Respiratory Care and LVNs. In the 2022 sunset review of the RCB, a long-standing issue was 

raised related to the appropriate scope of practice between LVNs and respiratory care 

professionals in administering respiratory services for managing patients. While the RCB has 

historically contended that LVNs should not be administering any ventilator services, the 

BVNPT issued guidance to licensees permitting LVNs to adjust ventilator settings. The RCB has 

maintained this policy was not a formal regulation, and made numerous requests to rescind the 

policy, but the BVNPT has maintained the position that LVNs should be able to adjust 

ventilators.   

In 2019, the two boards attempted to resolve this issue and worked collaboratively. From that 

work, the two boards issued a joint statement clarifying respiratory care professional and LVN 

roles relating to patient care on mechanical ventilators. After reactions and comments from a 

variety of facilities and organizations, there was momentum to further clarify its respective 

regulations regarding patient care. The boards hosted a stakeholder meeting to further discuss the 

joint statement and concerns grew about expanding places LVNs can conduct ventilator services 

to home based settings as well. According to the RCB, BVNPT backed out of the agreement and 

began exploring continuing to train LVNs to perform ventilator services in more settings. 

As a result of this continuing issue, the 2022 sunset bill for the RCB (SB 1436, Roth, Ch. 624, 

Statutes of 2022) included provisions that respiratory care and services may be provided if an 

LVN completes, before January 1, 2025, patient-specific training satisfactory to their employer, 

and if that LVN is employed by a home health agency licensed by the CDPH.  Additionally, the 

bill required that on or after January 1, 2025, the licensed vocational nurse has completed 

patient-specific training by the employer in accordance with guidelines that shall be promulgated 

by the board no later than January 1, 2025, in collaboration with the BVNPT. Stemming from 

this collaboration, this bill extends the respective deadlines for the RCB and BVNPT to 

promulgate regulations and for LVNs to complete training to January 1, 2028, and expands the 

circumstances under which an LVN can perform certain respiratory care practices to include, 

among other things: those working at licensed congregate living facilities designated as six beds 

or fewer, licensed adult day health care center, licensed pediatric day health and respite care 

facilities, and more.  

Veterinary Prescriptions. Licensed veterinarians are permitted to order, prescribe, and administer 

certain controlled substances so long as they perform an in-person examination of the patient and 

confirm such a substance is medically necessary. In addition, RVTs and veterinary assistants that 

possess a valid controlled substances permit issued by the VMB, may obtain and administer a 

controlled substance to a patient. Importantly, law expressly prohibits veterinarians from 

ordering, prescribing or furnishing a controlled substance to themselves or any human.  
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During the VMB’s 2016 sunset review, it was made clear that, though a common practice 

amongst the veterinary community, veterinarians were not explicitly required to provide a 

consultation to clients regarding information about drugs and medicines they prescribe to 

patients. As a result, omnibus legislation authored by then-Senator Jerry Hill (SB 1480, Ch. 571, 

Stats. of 2018) added a requirement to law that veterinarians must offer a consultation to any 

client whom they prescribe, administer or otherwise furnish a drug to, and provide any available 

drug documentation upon request. In line with this greater transparency for pet owners, this bill 

requires licensed pharmacists who dispense a drug pursuant to a veterinary prescription to, as 

part of consultation, offer documentation with information specific to the veterinary drug to the 

client.  

Hairstylist License.  The BBC is responsible for licensing and regulating barbers, cosmetologists, 

hairstylists, estheticians, electrologists, manicurists, apprentices, and establishments.  The BBC 

is one of the largest boards in the country, with over 615,000 licensees.  As of the board’s most 

recent sunset review, the BBC annually issues approximately 261,000 licenses and administers 

approximately 28,000 written examinations (initial and retake examinees).  Each profession has 

its own scope of practice, entry-level requirements, and professional settings, with some overlap 

in areas.  In addition to licensing individuals, the BBC approves schools. 

During the BBC’s most recent sunset review in 2021, a number of reforms were passed through 

the BBC’s sunset extension vehicle (SB 803, Roth).  These included adding further specificity to 

the composition of the BBC, recasting the scope of practice for skincare, and authorizing 

cosmetology students to obtain more clock hours through paid externships.  The BBC’s sunset 

bill also created a new hairstylist license, which allows licensees to provide certain basic hair 

services after meeting lower education and training requirements than are needed for barbering 

or cosmetology license. 

The Barbering and Cosmetology Act generally prohibits the BBC from charging fees beyond 

what is necessary to cover the expenses of the board in performing its duties.  SB 803 authorized 

the BBC to charge an application and examination fee to individuals seeking licensure as 

hairstylists.  Statute currently provides the BBC with two options: they can either charge $50, or 

they can charge a different amount that does not exceed either $50 or the reasonable cost of 

developing, purchasing, grading, and administering the examination.  This bill would remove the 

BBC’s authority to charge $50 if that is not the amount that it determines to be its actual costs of 

developing, purchasing, grading, and administering the examination.  This bill would then 

additionally cap the initial fee for a hairstylist’s license at $50. 

Structural Pest Control. This bill makes minor, yet substantive, changes to the Structural Pest 

Control Act, which is administered by the Structural Pest Control Board (SPCB). All licensees 

under the SPCB must, as a condition of their license renewal, submit proof of completion of 

continuing education (CE) that as deemed satisfactory by the board. Under current law, SPCB 

allows licensees to pass a board-administered examination in lieu of completing CE in order to 

obtain license renewal. However, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency amended federal 

law in 2017 to tighten requirements related to restricted use pesticides and those certified to 

utilize them. Specifically, the EPA clarified that if individuals are certified - or in California’s 

case, licensed – based on written examination, the respective state must ensure the examination 

is adequately developed to demonstrate competencies required by federal law.  
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The SPCB surmises that aligning competency examinations with this new standard will be 

onerous, as they do not have staff within the agency itself qualified to develop the exam to a 

defensible standard, and deem that engagement with the DCA’s Office of Professional 

Examination Services (OPES) would be too costly. As a result, this bill deletes the competency 

examination as an alternative for completing CE, thus eliminating the SPCB’s need to continue 

developing or administering such an examination. 

Current Related Legislation. 

SB 1526 (Business, Professions, and Economic Development Committee) makes numerous 

technical and clarifying provisions related to programs within the DCA. 

Prior Related Legislation. 

AB 765 (Wood) of 2023 would have prohibited any person who is not a licensed physician and 

surgeon from using various medical specialty titles or otherwise implying that they are a 

physician and surgeon.  This bill died on suspense in the Assembly Committee on Appropriations. 

SB 817 (Roth) of 2023 would have recast provisions of law authorizing the BBC to charge a 

hairstylist license application and examination fee to require that the fee be the actual cost, not to 

exceed $50.  This bill was not set for a hearing in the Assembly Committee on Appropriations. 

SB 1436 (Roth, Chapter 624, Statutes of 2022) extended until January 1, 2027, the provisions 

establishing the RCB and makes additional technical changes and reforms in response to issues 

raised during the RCB’s sunset review oversight process. 

AB 2684 (Berman, Chapter 2684, Statutes of 2022) was the BRN’s 2022 sunset review bill and, 

among other things, added technical, clarifying and conforming changes to the Nursing Practice 

Act to assist with implementation of AB 890. 

AB 890 (Wood, Chapter 265, Statutes of 2020) authorized an NP to provide specified services in 

specified settings, without standardized procedures, if the NP meets additional education, 

examination, and training requirements; required the BRN to adopt regulations defining a 

transition to practice; required the BRN to establish a Nurse Practitioner Advisory Committee to 

advise and make recommendations to the BRN on NP all issues; and required the BRN and the 

DCA to identify or develop an examination that tests for independent practice competency. 

ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT:  

Close the Provider Gap and a coalition of organizations representing nurse practitioners, 

hospitals, labor groups, and nonprofits write in support of this bill’s provisions related to NPs: 

“To address the urgent health needs of our state in a sustainable and equitable manner, we must 

ensure NPs are able to close the provider gap. By providing clarifying guidance, SB 1451 will 

help streamline the application process and enable California’s most experienced NPs to expand 

access to quality, affordable care. We must close the provider gap – the Californians we serve 

don’t have the time to wait any longer. Through SB 1451, we can ensure our state’s communities 

and families – especially those in health care deserts – can access the high-quality, timely care 

they need and deserve.” 
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The California Dental Hygienists’ Association (CDHA) supports this bill’s provisions related 

to RDHAPs, writing: “It is a goal of the DHPSA designation to attract enough oral health 

providers to the shortage area. Prohibiting a provider from providing services in the area is 

counter to the legislature’s goals of increasing access to oral healthcare for the underserved areas 

of the state. There is no harm to patients to have more than enough providers in an area. In fact, 

patients and consumers only benefit by having more than enough oral health providers 

available.” 

ARGUMENTS IN OPPOSITION: 

The California Medical Association (CMA) has taken an “oppose unless amended” position on 

the provisions in this bill related to NPs, writing: “This bill eliminates the requirement that a 

nurse practitioner must complete a variation of a three-year training requirement in one of six 

different specialty categories. Amendments have been suggested to have this section removed or 

restored with some sort of requirement or proof to demonstrate a nurse practitioner has 

completed at least three years of clinical experience in a specific category before being approved 

for independent practice. CMA also requests that the physician attestation section of this bill 

linked to a nurse practitioner transitioning to independent practice is amended to guarantee 

patient safety and physician liability protection. Additionally, this bill strikes a section related to 

nurse practitioner’s notifying patients that they have the right to see a physician. Amendments 

are recommended to ensure patients know they have the option to see a physician when they are 

being treated by an independently practicing nurse practitioner.” 

The American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) opposes the provisions in this bill 

relating to the restriction of medical terms such as “doctor,” writing: “A strength of today's 

healthcare workforce is the growing number of healthcare providers holding doctoral and 

advanced graduate preparation. More than a dozen health professional disciplines –including 

nurse practitioners, osteopathic physicians, pharmacists, physical therapists, and psychologists—

are educated at the doctoral level. The American Association of Nurse Practitioners supports the 

use of the title doctor in conjunction with licensure title for doctorly prepared nurses and other 

health care providers in the clinical setting and advertising. California clinicians are already 

prohibited from falsely identifying themselves and from providing fraudulent or purposeful 

misinformation to patients.” 

REGISTERED SUPPORT: 

Association of California Healthcare Districts 

Bay Area Cancer Connections 

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 

California Access Coalition 

California Alliance of Child and Family Services 

California Association for Nurse Practitioners 

California Association of Alcohol and Drug Program Executives 

California Association of Medical Product Suppliers 

California Dental Hygienists’ Association 

California Health Collaborative 

California Hospital Association 

California Nurses Association 
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Center for Inherited Blood Disorders 

Chronic Disease Coalition 

Close the Provider Gap 

Dental Hygiene Board of California 

ElderHelp 

LeadingAge California 

Little Lobbyists 

Liver Coalition of San Diego 

Madera Community Hospital 

Mental Health America of California 

Michelle’s Place Cancer Resource Center 

Patient Advocates United in San Diego County 

Pediatric Day Health Care Coalition 

Respiratory Care Board of California 

SEIU California State Council 

Senior Care Clinic Medical House Calls 

26 individuals 

REGISTERED OPPOSITION: 

American Association of Nurse Practitioners 

American Nurses Association of California 

California Dental Association 

California Medical Association 

California Nurse-Midwives Association 

California Society of Dermatology & Dermatologic Surgery 

California State Oriental Medical Association 

Osteopathic Medical Board of California 

Analysis Prepared by: Robert Sumner / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301,  Vincent Chee / B. & P. / (916) 

319-3301, Edward Franco / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301
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Date of Hearing: June 25, 2024 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS 

Marc Berman, Chair 

SB 1452 (Ashby) – As Amended April 16, 2024 

NOTE: This bill is double referred and if passed by this Committee will be re-referred to the 

Assembly Judiciary Committee.  

SENATE VOTE: 37-0 

SUBJECT: Architecture and landscape architecture 

SUMMARY: Extends the sunset date for the California Architects Board (CAB or board) and 

the Landscape Architects Technical Committee (LATC) to January 1, 2029, and requires 

applicants and licensees to provide the board and LATC with an email address, as specified.  

EXISTING LAW:   

1) Establishes the Architects Practice Act (Act) to regulate the practice of architecture in 

California. (Business and Professions Code (BPC) § 5501 et seq.) 

2) Establishes the CAB within the Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA), subject to repeal on 

January 1, 2025. (BPC § 5510) 

3) Authorizes, until January 1, 2029, the board to appoint a person to be designated as an 

executive officer and exercise the powers and perform the duties delegated by the board and 

vested in the executive officer. (BPC § 5517) 

4) Requires licensed architects to file with the board their current mailing address and the 

proper and current name and address of the entity through which they provide architectural 

services. Provides that “entity” means any individual, firm, corporation, or limited liability 

partnership. (BPC § 5558) 

5) Specifies that all licenses issued or renewed under the Act shall expire at 12 midnight on the 

last day of the birth month of the licenseholder in each odd-numbered year following the 

issuance or renewal of the license. (BPC § 5600(a)) 

6) Requires the board to give written notice to a licensee 30 days in advance of the regular 

renewal date and to give written notice by registered mail 90 days in advance of the 

expiration of the fifth year that a renewal fee has not been paid. (BPC § 5600.1) 

7) Prescribes the following fees for architect applicants and licenseholders:  

a) The application fee for reviewing a candidate’s eligibility to take any section of the 

examination may not exceed $100. 

b) The fee for any section of the examination administered by the board may not exceed 

$100. 
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c) The fee for an application for reciprocity may not exceed $100. 

d) The fee for a duplicate license may not exceed $25. 

e) The renewal fee may not exceed $400. 

f) The fee for a retired license may not exceed the fee for an original license at an amount 

equal to the renewal fee in effect at the time the license is issued, except that, if the 

license is issued less than one year before the date on which it will expire, then the fee 

shall be fixed at an amount equal to 50% of the renewal fee in effect at the time the 

license is issued. (BPC § 5604) 

8) Establishes the LATC, until January 1, 2025, within the jurisdiction of the CAB, consisting 

of five members who are licensed to practice landscape architects in California. (BPC § 

5621) 

9) Authorizes the board, until January 1, 2025, to delegate its authority to the LATC except that 

it may not delegate its authority to discipline a landscape architect or to take action against a 

person who has committed a violation. (BPC § 5620) 

10) Authorizes the LATC, until January 1, 2025, to do all of the following: 

a) Assist the board in the examination of candidates for a landscape architect’s license and, 

after investigation, evaluate and make recommendations regarding potential violations of 

law. 

b) Investigate, assist, and make recommendations to the board regarding the regulation of 

landscape architects in this state. 

c) Perform duties and functions that have been delegated to it by the board. 

d) Send a representative to all meetings of the full board to report on the committee’s 

activities. (BPC § 5622) 

11) Prohibits a license that is not renewed within five years after its expiration from being 

renewed, restored, reissued, or reinstated, but allows the holder of the expired license to 

apply for and obtain a new license if 1) no fact, circumstance, or condition exists which, if 

the license were issued, would justify its revocation or suspension; 2) the holder of the 

expired license pays the fees required of new applicants; and 3) the holder of the expired 

license takes and passes the current California Supplemental Examination. (BPC § 5680.2) 

THIS BILL:  

1) Extends the sunset date for the CAB and its authority to appoint an executive officer by four 

years to January 1, 2029.  

2) Requires each applicant for examination or licensure as an architect or landscape architect 

who has a valid email address to report to the board that email address at the time of 

application. 
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3) Requires that a licensee who has a valid email address must report that email address to the 

board at the time of renewal. 

4) Requires each applicant or licensee to notify the board within 30 days of any change to their 

email address on file with the board. 

5) Specifies that, to protect the privacy of applicants and licensees, the email addresses provided 

to the board shall not be considered a public record and shall not be disclosed, unless 

required by a court order.  

6) Specifies that information sent from an email account of the board to a valid email address 

provided by an applicant or licensee is presumed to have been delivered to the email address 

provided. 

7) Defines “valid email address” to mean an email address at which the applicant or licensee is 

currently receiving email at the time the application or license renewal is submitted to the 

board. 

8) Extends the sunset date for the LATC, and the board’s authorization to delete its authority to 

the LATC, by four years to January 1, 2029. 

9) Requires the holder of a license is not renewed within five years after its expiration to pay all 

of the fees and meet all of the requirements for obtaining an original license if the expired 

licenseholder applies for a new license.   

10) Makes nonsubstantive and conforming changes.  

FISCAL EFFECT: According to the Senate Appropriations Committee, the 2024-25 

Governor’s Budget provides approximately $6.34 million (CAB Fund and California Board of 

Architectural Examiners - Landscape Architects Fund) and 30.4 positions to support the 

continued operation of the CAB and LATC licensing and enforcement activities. The CAB and 

LATC do not anticipate an additional fiscal impact, as the bill does not impact current licensing 

or enforcement workload. 

COMMENTS:  

Purpose. This bill is the sunset review vehicle for the CAB and LATC, authored by the Senate 

Business, Professions and Economic Development Committee. This bill extends the sunset date 

for the board and LATC and enacts technical changes, statutory improvements, and policy 

reforms in response to issues raised during the board’s sunset review oversight process. 

Background.  

Sunset review. Each year, the Assembly Committee on Business and Professions and the Senate 

Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development hold joint sunset review 

oversight hearings to review the licensing boards under the DCA. The DCA boards are 

responsible for protecting consumers and the public and regulating the professionals they license. 

The sunset review process provides an opportunity for the Legislature, DCA, boards, and 
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stakeholders to discuss the performance of the boards and make recommendations for 

improvements.  

 

Each board subject to review has an enacting statute that has a repeal date, which means each 

board requires an extension before the repeal date. This bill is one of the “sunset” bills that are 

intended to extend the repeal date of the boards undergoing sunset review, as well as include the 

recommendations from the sunset review oversight hearings. There are five sunset review bills 

authored by the Assembly Committee on Business and Professions and five sunset review bills 

authored by the Chair of the Senate Business, Professions and Economic Development 

Committee.  

 

California Architects Board. The CAB was established in 1901 to protect the health, safety, and 

welfare of the public by regulating the practice of architecture in California. The board is 

responsible for the implementation and enforcement of the Act. At the time of this writing, the 

board reports that there are over 21,000 architects and approximately 10,000 candidates who are 

in the process of meeting licensure requirements.  

The board’s mission, as stated in its 2022-2024 Strategic Plan, is: 

The California Architects Board protects consumers by establishing standards for professional 

qualifications, ensuring competence through examinations, setting practice standards, and 

enforcing the Architects Practice Act. 

The following goals frame the Board’s efforts:  

 Ensure the professional qualifications of those practicing architecture by setting 

requirements for education, experience, and examinations;  

 Establish regulatory standards of practice for California architects and protect consumers 

by preventing violations and effectively enforcing laws, codes, and standards when 

violations occur;  

 Protect consumers by preventing violations and effectively enforcing laws, codes, and 

standards when violations occur;  

 Increase public and professional awareness of the Board’s mission, activities, and 

services;  

 Improve effectiveness of relationships with related organizations in order to further the 

Board’s mission and goals; and  

 Enhance organizational effectiveness and improve the quality of customer service in all 

programs.1 

California Landscape Architects Technical Committee. Within the board’s jurisdiction is the 

LATC, to which the CAB may delegate certain duties and functions. The LATC is tasked with 

protecting the health, safety, and welfare of the public by establishing standards for licensure and 

enforcing laws and regulations governing the practice of landscape architecture in California. In 

its 2023 Sunset Report, the LATC reported that there are approximately 3,700 active landscape 

                                                 

1 California Architects Board. (2021, December 10). 2022-2024 Strategic Plan.  

 https://www.cab.ca.gov/docs/publications/strategic_plan.pdf 
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architect licensees in California. The LATC consists of five professional members appointed by 

the Governor, Senate, and Assembly. The CAB and LATC share an executive officer and 

assistant executive officer, although the LATC has five staff of its own.   

The LATC’s mission, as stated in its 2022-2024 Strategic Plan, is: 

The Landscape Architects Technical Committee (LATC) regulates the practice of landscape 

architecture through the enforcement of the Landscape Architects Practice Act (Act) to protect 

consumers, and the public health, safety, and welfare while safeguarding the environment. 

The following goals frame the LATC’s efforts:  

 Protect consumers through effective regulation and enforcement of laws, codes, and 

standards affecting the practice of landscape architecture. 

 Ensure the professional qualifications of those practicing landscape architecture by 

setting and maintaining requirements for education, experience, and examinations. 

 Increase public and professional awareness of LATC’s mission, vision, values, and 

services. 

 Provide accessible and responsive quality services to consumers and licensees.2 

Current Related Legislation.  

AB 3251 (Committee on Business and Professions) is the sunset bill for the Board of 

Accountancy. AB 3251 is pending in the Senate Business, Professions, and Economic 

Development Committee. 

 

AB 3252 (Committee on Business and Professions) is the sunset bill for the Court Reporters 

Board. AB 3252 is pending in the Senate Business, Professions, and Economic Development 

Committee. 

 

AB 3253 (Committee on Business and Professions) is the sunset bill for the Board for 

Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, and Geologists. AB 3253 is pending in the Senate 

Business, Professions, and Economic Development Committee. 

 

AB 3254 (Committee on Business and Professions) is the sunset bill for the Cemetery and 

Funeral Bureau. AB 3254 is pending in the Senate Business, Professions, and Economic 

Development Committee. 

 

AB 3255 (Committee on Business and Professions) is the sunset bill for the Board of Vocational 

Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians of the State of California. AB 3255 is pending in the Senate 

Business, Professions, and Economic Development Committee. 

  

SB 1452 (Ashby) is the sunset bill for the California Architects Board and the Landscape 

Architects Technical Committee. SB 1452 is pending in this committee. 

                                                 

2 California Landscape Architects Committee. (2022, September 16). Strategic Plan 2022-2024.  

 https://www.latc.ca.gov/docs/publications/strategic_plan_2022-2024.pdf 
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SB 1453 (Ashby) is the sunset bill for the Dental Board of California. SB 1453 is pending in this 

committee. 

 

SB 1454 (Ashby) is the sunset bill for the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services. SB 1453 

is pending in this committee. 

 

ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT:  

In support of this bill, the CAB writes, “This bill extends the sunset date of the Board and makes 

additional changes to the Architects Practice Act that will provide increased operational 

efficiencies.” 

The California Council of the American Society of Landscape Architects (CCASLA) also writes 

in support:  

As the first state in the nation to regulate our profession, California has a long history of 

putting consumers first and avoiding these potential harms. CCASLA believes that the 

existence of an appointed body of professionals with the technical expertise necessary to 

oversee regulation of the profession is essential to protecting the public. Since the Board of 

Landscape Architecture was eliminated, this role has been filled by the LATC. 

 
LATC’s oversight and the concentration of technical expertise of its members is significant. 

California is a unique state when it comes to the practice of landscape architecture. Our state 

occupies some of the most geographical unique and bio-diverse regions in the world. With 

these diverse landscapes across the state, it is essential to the public that landscape architects 

are adequately prepared to practice. For this reason, California administers an extremely 

rigorous supplemental examination unlike most states with multidisciplinary boards with few 

landscape architect members. 

SUNSET ISSUES FOR CONSIDERATION: 

 

In preparation for the sunset hearings, committee staff publishes background papers that identify 

outstanding issues relating to the entity being reviewed. The background papers are available on 

the Committee’s website: https://abp.assembly.ca.gov/jointsunsethearings. While all of the issues 

identified in both the CAB and LATC background papers remain available for discussion, the 

following are currently being addressed in this bill or otherwise actively discussed: 

 

1) CAB Issue #1: Board Composition. The majority of DCA boards are comprised of an odd 

number of members. In contrast, CAB has 10 board members, represented equally by 

professional architects and public members. Although the Board reports a tie has never 

been a problem, sunset review may present an opportunity to mirror the composition of 

similar DCA boards, while providing representation to the LATC, which the Board has 

overseen since 1997. The LATC is organized as a committee within the organization of 

CAB and a representative of each body provides updates at one another’s meetings of key 

issues and work collaboratively to ensure they understand priorities of the other. CAB 

appoints a liaison who attends LATC meetings on behalf of the Board, and an LATC 

member attends Board meetings to ensure the Committee’s concerns are raised. The 

https://abp.assembly.ca.gov/jointsunsethearings
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LATC member does not have voting power and ultimately, CAB maintains the final 

authority to discipline landscape architects and issue examinations. 

 

Staff Recommendation: The Board should advise the Committees as to the potential 

benefits of a multidisciplinary composition and the impacts of additional membership to 

its work at the board-level. 

 

Board Response: The Board does believe a more efficient structure is possible and would 

benefit consumers and licensees. Adding a dedicated appointment to a licensed 

Landscape Architect would give the Landscape Architecture profession a much-needed 

voice on the Board that does not currently exist, while the advisory voice could be 

maintained through the Board’s existing committee structure. This Board composition 

would keep a strong voice and dialogue for landscape architects intact, while increasing 

vote and voice and representation of the Landscape Architects on the Board itself. 

Distinction between the entities could be strengthened, while the large overlap of the 

administrative practices would more efficiently be managed. 

 

A multidisciplinary composition will allow Board to perform its duties more efficiently. 

Currently, split funding in the office requires LATC and the Board to split purchases for 

supplies and equipment even though they are in a shared space. Workload is duplicated 

when generating reports and information to provide at Committee and Board meetings. 

Combining the programs will eliminate the duplicated work, provide a single purchasing 

point for staff needs which will improve office efficiencies and potentially save money 

for the programs. 

 

Sunset Recommendation: The committees may wish to revisit the issue of board 

composition following a future decision as to whether or not to consolidate the board and 

LATC.  

 

2) CAB Issue #3: Fund Condition. The fund condition table provided in the CAB’s 2023 

Sunset Review Report demonstrate a significant decline in board-reserves between FYs 

2019/20 through 2024/25. In Fiscal Year (FY) 2019/20, the CAB reports a 16.5 month 

reserve level or close to $5.5 million. In FY 2024/25, board reserves are projected to 

significantly decline to 2.6 months, or close to $1.2 million dollars. CAB cites increased 

attorney general fees and business modernization costs as necessitating additional 

revenue. Specifically, a fee increase for architect initial licenses and renewals could assist 

CAB in maintaining a healthy fund condition. It would be helpful for the Committees to 

understand what cost pressures within the Board’s control lead to challenges and what 

factors the Board cannot control that lead to expenditure increases. It would be helpful 

for the Committees to understand efficiencies that may benefit CAB and whether CAB 

absorbs unintended costs related to its management of the separate LATC, given that 

CAB is ultimately the regulator of landscape architects. While a separate fund for LATC 

expenditures exists, other programs with multiple regulated entities have similarly 

evaluated whether the Board ultimately subsidizes efforts of a body like LATC. 

 

Staff Recommendation: The CAB should advise the Committees on the current reserve 

level and what fiscal challenges the CAB sees in the future. What administrative costs 
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have increased the most over the last few FYs? Is the CAB anticipating any future cost 

increases for operations? Has CAB analyzed costs savings that could be achieved were it 

to function as a multidisciplinary program with various representatives from different 

professions on the Board, rather than a standing board with a separate entity within its 

organization? 

 

Board Response: The Department of Consumer Affairs’ Budget Office recently 

completed a fee study for the Board, which the Board reviewed at its February meeting. 

The Board is projected to spend down its reserve and potentially need a fee increase 

towards the end of the decade. Staff has been analyzing the costs to run the Board and 

LATC as they exist now, independently, and whether some functions can be combined to 

achieve some cost savings. The Board believes a savings will be realized by becoming 

multidisciplinary as it will be able to better associate staff to required tasks and reduce 

redundancies created by having two programs report the same and similar information to 

the same entity. 

Costs increases over the last few years include: 

1. Cost of printing increased around $27,000 

2. Slight increase in communication costs (CalNET, telephone services, etc.) 

3. Postage increased around $6,000  

4. Facilities cost increased around $15,000 

5. IT charges increased around $113,000 from FY 19/20 to FY 22/23.  

The Board does have proposed statutory language to provide the authority to increase 

fees by regulation when there is a need. The last statutory fee increase was in 2009. 

Sunset Recommendation: Committee amendments will increase various fees to their 

statutory maximum and set new statutory fee caps:  

 

3) CAB Issue #4: License Issuance Date. BPC § 5600(a) specifies that all licenses issued or 

renewed under the Act expire at 12 midnight on the last day of the birth month of the 

license-holder in each odd-numbered year following the issuance or renewal of the 

license. As a result, the term of that license is tied to the licensee’s birth month. This 

means an individual can receive an initial license that is valid for less than the full two-

year term. The CAB reports that it has had candidates for licensure postpone licensure 

because they do not want to pay for a license that will expire in a short amount of time. 

To remedy this situation and make the initial licensure and renewal process and costs 

more efficient for both licensees and the CAB, the CAB would like to amend BCP § 
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5600 to provide that the initial license shall expire at the last day of the month in which 

the license was issued during the second year of a two-year term. 

 

Staff Recommendation: The Board should advise the Committees if this change achieves 

any administrative efficiency or if it will be difficult to implement. 

 

Board Response: The Board does not believe this will be difficult to implement and that 

it will improve the initial licensure process for candidates. The Board will achieve 

administrative efficiency by eliminating the need to disseminate and track licenses that 

are valid for less than two years. An additional benefit will be that eventually Board 

funding will stabilize over fiscal years, which will allow the Board and the Department’s 

Budget Office to plan fiscal needs more accurately. Currently, the Board has peaks and 

valleys with funding because all licenses renew in odd years which provides a certain 

level of uncertainty in budget related matters. 

 

Sunset Recommendation: Committee amendments will require licenses to expire two 

years from the last day of the month in which the license was issued, or two years from 

the date on which the renewed license was last expired.  

 

4) CAB Issue #5: License Expiration Notification. Existing law provides that a license, 

which has expired, may be renewed at any time within five years after its expiration. 

After five years, a license is not renewable, and the individual must reapply for an 

entirely new license and meet the current requirements for licensure, unless specifically 

exempt, and pay all of the fees. Existing law requires the CAB to send written notice by 

registered mail to expired license holders 90 days in advance of the expiration of the fifth 

year that a renewal fee has not been paid. The Board would like to amend BPC §5600.1 

to provide notification via email or regular mail, rather than requiring notification by 

certified mail. As noted by the CAB, a significant number of the notices currently sent 

are returned as undeliverable. 

 

Staff Recommendation: The CAB should inform the Committees about the number of 

five-year expiration notices that it current sends annually. CAB should advise the 

Committees as to the experience other regulatory programs with a similar effort and the 

impact to licensees. The Committees may wish to consider updating the Act in order to 

assist CAB in achieving cost savings related to sending email vs. registered email. 

 

Board Response: During 2022, the Board mailed a total of 724 expiration notices to its 

licensees. Of those 724, 252 were returned to the Board as undeliverable or deceased and 

107 provided no response (the Board did not receive a return card or undeliverable mail). 

A similar change was enacted in 2022 for the Board of Professional Engineers, Land 

Surveyors and Geologists (SB 1120, Chapter 302, Statutes of 2022). 

 

Sunset Recommendation: Committee amendments will delete the requirement that license 

expiration notices be sent by registered mail.  

 

5) CAB Issue #11: State of Emergency Waiver. During the pandemic, due to the shutdown 

of testing centers, the Board identified a provision in its regulations that impacted some 
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candidates for licensure. Specifically, the Board’s regulations require that for a candidate 

to be considered active, they must have taken an exam within the preceding five years. 

Some candidates who were close to the five-year limit between exams were impacted by 

their inability to test due to test center closures and thus maintain their active status. Due 

to the pandemic, candidates who were nearing their five-year mark were impacted by the 

closure of testing centers. Per CCR 109(a)(3) "Active in the examination process" shall 

mean that there has not been a period of five or more years since the candidate last took 

an examination as a candidate of the Board, or the candidate has been determined by the 

Board to be eligible. The Board requests authority to waive this requirement, for a limited 

duration, during a future declared emergency. 

 

Staff Recommendation: The CAB should provide any additional technical updates or 

amendments to the Committees. 

 

Board Response: Thank you for your consideration, proposed amendments are included. 

 

Sunset Recommendation: Committee amendments will authorize the board to extend an 

application of a candidate who is completing licensure requirements when there is a state 

of emergency proclaimed by the Governor.  

 

6) CAB Issue #13: Technical Clean up. There may be a number of technical statutory 

changes or updates, which may improve the CAB operations. For example, the CAB 

would like to require that licensees who have an email address of file with the CAB 

maintain that email address to maximize the online licensing and renewal system and 

provide more timely updates to its licensing population, Additionally, the CAB requests 

to revise code sections to include gender neutral language. 

 

Staff Recommendation: The Committees may wish to amend the Act to include technical 

clarifications. 

 

Board Response: Thank you for your consideration, suggested amendments are attached. 

 

Sunset Recommendation: This bill makes numerous technical changes such as replacing 

gendered language. Additionally, this bill authorizes the board to collect email addresses 

from applicants and licensees. Committee amendments will further require licensees to 

report the entity though which they provide architectural services and the board to post on 

its website each licenseholder’s current mailing address and the name and address of the 

architecture firm where they work.  

 

7) CAB Issue #14: Continued Regulation. Clients and the public are best protected by strong 

regulatory boards with oversight of licensed professionals. CAB has proven to be a 

competent steward of the architect profession and has worked to respond to issues in a 

timely, appropriate manner. However, the efficiency of CAB regulating various 

professions as a stand-alone regulatory program, combined with a technical committee 

that provides recommendations as to the licensure of a separate profession, needs to be 

evaluated. Maintaining status quo could lead to future fund issues and may generally not 

prove feasible. Strong consideration should be given to evaluate consolidation efforts and 
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discussions about whether CAB’s organizational structure and composition should more 

appropriately reflect the multidisciplinary regulatory role it plays. 

 

Staff Recommendation: The CAB should be continued, and reviewed again on a future 

date to be determined. 

 

Board Response: The Board concurs with the Staff Recommendation. 

 

Sunset Recommendation: This bill delays the sunset date for the CAB by four years to 

January 1, 2029. The committees may wish to require the board to convene stakeholder 

meetings to discuss consolidation of the board and LATC and to include specified data in 

their next sunset report.  

 

8) LATC Issue #2: Renewal Timeframe. BPC § 5680.2 provides that a license that is not 

renewed within five years of its expiration date may not be renewed, and that the holder 

of the expired license may apply for and obtain a new license if no fact justifies 

revocation or suspension of a valid license, the person pays the required fees and takes 

and passes the current California Supplemental Examination. The Board would like to 

clarify that a person whose license has been expired for more than five years must 

comply with the requirements for issuance of a new license. 

 

Staff Recommendation: The LATC should submit proposed changes to the Committees. 

The LATC should also discuss any new requirements above existing law that would need 

to be met and explain the consumer protection benefit that would be realized by this 

proposal. 

 

Board Response: LATC will provide suggested language to the Committee. The 

Committee believes this change will improve consumer protection by ensuring that 

someone with an expired license that seeks a new license has met current licensing 

requirements, such as passage of the exam. 

 

Sunset Recommendation: This bill requires a licenseholder whose license is not renewed 

within five years of its expiration to pay all of the fees and meet all of the requirements 

for obtaining an original license when applying for a new license.  

 

9) LATC Issue #4: Technical Cleanup. There may be a number of non-substantive or 

technical statutory changes or updates, which may improve LATC operations. For 

example, the LATC noted in its 2023 Sunset Review Report, that in order to maximize 

use of the Board’s online system for license application and renewal, it would be 

beneficial to require those individuals who have an email address to maintain the email 

address they have on file with the Board. The LATC also noted several places where 

language could be updated to reflect gender-neutral references. In addition, because of 

numerous statutory changes and implementation delays, code sections can become 

confusing, contain provisions that are no longer applicable, make references to outdated 

report requirements, and cross-reference code sections that are no longer relevant. The 

LATC’s sunset review is an appropriate time to review, recommend, and make necessary 

statutory changes. 
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Staff Recommendation: The Committees may wish to amend the Act to include technical 

clarifications. 

 

Board Response: Thank you for your consideration, proposed changes are included. 

 

Sunset Recommendation: This bill makes numerous technical changes such as replacing 

gendered language. Additionally, this bill authorizes the LATC to collect email addresses 

from applicants and licensees.  

 

10) LATC Issue #5: Continued Regulation. As a result of a legislative reorganization, LATC 

was established on January 1, 1998, to replace the former Board of Landscape Architects 

and was placed under the purview of the CAB. While its purpose is to act in an advisory 

capacity to CAB on examination and other matters pertaining to the regulation of the 

practice of landscape architecture in California, LATC does incur programmatic costs. 

While LATC and CAB share an Executive Officer and Assistant Executive Officer, 

LATC has five separate staff and CAB operations likely supplement LATC operations. 

There are costs related to any government agency functions, including a statutorily-

designated committee with statutorily-mandated responsibilities. LATC has historically 

faced cost pressures and recently raised fees on licensees due to ongoing rising 

expenditures and program costs. Now, CAB is also facing shortfalls and will need to 

increase revenue to continue effective operations. It would be helpful for the committees 

to understand whether CAB’s composition should more appropriately reflect the 

multidisciplinary regulatory role it plays and, rather than continuing LATC as its own 

entity, landscape architect representation should be added to CAB in lieu of a committee. 

Strong consideration should be given to evaluate consolidation efforts and discussions 

about whether LATC’s organizational structure makes sense, including fiscal sense, 

moving forward. 

 

Staff Recommendation: LATC and CAB should provide additional information related to 

program-wide considerations and whether efficiencies will be realized through formal 

regulation by one entity. LATC and CAB should inform the committees about existing 

overlap in operations today and how a multidisciplinary board structure, maintaining 

licensure for landscape architects through the Act, could improve effectiveness. 

 

Board Response: LATC believes that a merged board could provide efficiencies as well 

as give landscape architects a direct voice in the oversight of their profession, rather than 

an advisory role. There are approximately 22 states with a blended board so there are 

models we can look to for guidance. The LATC and CAB leadership have met to discuss 

the concept and are continuing discussions on the details of a possible combined 

structure. Over the years, LATC has made changes to its operations to align more closely 

with the Board’s, so a structural change should not be difficult to implement. 

 

The Board will be able to realize efficiencies by merging the administrative, licensing, 

and enforcement units of LATC and CAB. Staff will continue to operate as they have, but 

duplicated duties such as purchasing, reporting, budgets, and cashiering will no longer be 

split among multiple staff, and enforcement and licensing workload will be integrated 
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under CAB’s existing management. Additionally, executive management will no longer 

be required to separately account for and divide time into another program they oversee, 

which will allow them and all staff to work more efficiently. 

 

Sunset Recommendation: This bill delays the sunset date for the CAB by four years to 

January 1, 2029, and as previously stated, the committees may wish to require the board 

to convene stakeholder meetings to discuss consolidation of the board and LATC and to 

include specified data in their next sunset report.  

 

AMENDMENTS: 

For the reasons stated in the discussion of sunset issues above, committee amendments will do 

all of the following:  

1) Increase various fees to their statutory maximum and set new statutory fee caps:  

 

 
 

2) Require licenses to expire two years from the last day of the month in which the license 

was issued, or two years from the date on which the renewed license was last expired.  

 

3) Delete the requirement that license expiration notices be sent by registered mail.  

 

4) Authorize the board to extend an application of a candidate who is completing licensure 

requirements when there is a state of emergency proclaimed by the Governor.  

 

5) Require licensees to report the entity though which they provide architectural services. 

 

6) Require the board to post on its website each licenseholder’s current mailing address and 

the name and address of the architecture firm where they work.  

 

REGISTERED SUPPORT: 

California Architects Board 

California Council of the American Society of Landscape Architects 

 

REGISTERED OPPOSITION: 

None on file 

Analysis Prepared by: Kaitlin Curry / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301
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Date of Hearing:  June 25, 2024 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS 

Marc Berman, Chair 

SB 1454 (Ashby) – As Amended June 10, 2024 

SENATE VOTE:  37-0 

SUBJECT:  Bureau of Security and Investigative Services:  sunset:  limited liability companies:  

federally recognized tribes 

SUMMARY:  Extends the sunset date for the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services 

(Bureau or BSIS), which licenses and regulates security guards, alarm company operators, 

repossessors, locksmiths, and private investigators, until January 1, 2029, and makes additional 

changes to the various practice acts regulating these professions, including language permitting 

the BSIS to issue licenses to tribes and tribally-owned businesses, and technical changes to the 

BSIS’s scope of enforcement.  

EXISTING LAW:    

1) Establishes the Bureau within the Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA) to license and 

regulate the locksmith, repossessor, private investigator, proprietary security, private 

security, and alarm company industries. (Business and Professions Code (BPC) §§ 6980.1, 

7501, 7512.4, 7574.01, 7580, 7591) 

 

2) Establishes Chapter 8.5 within the BPC to provide for Bureau regulation of locksmiths. 

(BPC §§ 6980 et seq.) 

 
3) Establishes the Collateral Recovery Act to provide for Bureau regulation of repossessors. 

(BPC §§ 7500 et seq.) 

 
4) Establishes the Private Investigator Act to provide for Bureau regulation of private 

investigators. (BPC §§ 7512 et seq.) 

 
5) Establishes the Proprietary Security Services Act to provide for Bureau regulation of 

proprietary private patrol officers and employers. (BPC §§ 7574 et seq.) 

 
6) Establishes the Private Security Services (PSS) Act, which provides for the Bureau’s 

regulation of private patrol operators (PPOs) that employ private security guards and 

security patrolpersons. (BPC §§ 7580 et seq.) 

 
7) Establishes the Alarm Company Act to provide for the Bureau’s regulation of alarm 

company operators and agents. (BPC §§ 7590 et seq.) 

 

8) Sets sunset dates for each practice act as if each act were to be repealed January 1, 2025, to 

provide for legislative oversight. (BPC §§ 6981, 7511.5, 7573.5, 7576, 7588.8, 7599.80) 

 
9) Authorizes any board, bureau, or commission within DCA to establish a system for the 

issuance of citations which may contain an order of abatement or an order to pay an 
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administrative fine to licensees found in violation of the applicable licensing act, with 

exception of persons licensed under the Collateral Recovery Act. (BPC § 125.9)  

 
10) Makes a violation of specified code sections, including those involving locksmiths, 

repossessors, alarm companies, and private investigators, an infraction punishable by a fine 

of not less than $250, and not more than $1000. (BPC § 146) 

 

11) Prohibits a licensed private investigator or officer, director, partner, qualified manager, or 

employee of a licensed private investigator from knowingly making any false report to their 

employer or client for whom information was being obtained. (BPC § 7539(b)) 

 
12) Requires that a written report by a licensed private investigator shall not be submitted to a 

client except by the licensee, qualified manager, or a person authorized by one or either of 

them, and that the person submitting the report shall exercise diligence in ascertaining 

whether or not the facts and information in the report are true and correct. (BPC § 7539(c)) 

 
13) Authorizes the BSIS to deny, suspend, or revoke a license issued to a private investigator, as 

defined, if they willfully failed or refused to render services or a report to a client as agreed 

between the parties and for which compensation has been paid or tendered in accordance 

with the agreement of the parties. (BPC § 7561.1) 

 
14) Authorizes the Bureau to license private investigators and alarm companies formed as a 

limited liability company (LLC) through January 1, 2025. (BPC §§ 7512.3, 7512.15, 7520.3, 

7525.1, 7529, 7533.5, 7538.5, 7539, 7593.1, 7593.5, 7599.345) 

 
15) Requires private investigator LLC licensees to maintain liability insurance for up to 

$5,000,000, depending on the membership size, as a condition of the issuance, 

reinstatement, reactivation, or continued valid use of a license through January 1, 2025. 

(BPC § 7250.3) 

 
16) Requires private investigator licensees organized as LLCs to annually report to the Bureau 

the date and amount of any claims paid during the prior calendar year from the required 

general liability insurance policy no later than March 1 until January 1, 2025. (BPC § 

7520.3) 

 
17) Requires alarm company operator licensees organized as LLCs to annually report to the 

Bureau the date and amount of any claims paid during the prior calendar year from the 

required general liability insurance policy no later than March 1. (BPC § 7599.34) 

 
18) Authorizes the Bureau to require, before issuing a firearms permit, a security guard 

registrant to complete and pass an assessment to evaluate whether an applicant for a firearms 

permit who is a registered security guard, at the time of the assessment, possesses 

appropriate judgment, restraint, and self-control for the purposes of carrying and using a 

firearm during the course of their security guard duties through January 1, 2025. (BPC § 

7583.47) 

 
19) Provides seventeen licensure exemptions from the Proprietary Security Services Act and 

Private Security Act, including but not limited to:  

 



SB 1454 
 Page  3 

a) Uniformed peace officers,  

 

b) Attorneys at law,  

 
c) Persons engaged solely in the business of securing information about persons or 

property from public records,  

 
d) Licensed insurance adjusters,  

 
e) A collection agency or their employee, and 

 
f) Banks, collection agencies, and other financial institutions.  

 
(BPC § 7574.14; 7582.2) 

 
20) Defines “person” for the purposes of licensure as a PPO as, “any individual, firm, company, 

association, organization, partnership, and corporation, (BPC § 7580.3) 

 
21) Establishes that certain states, including California, maintain criminal jurisdiction over 

federal Indian lands. (Public Law 83-280 (67 Stat. 588) (P.L. 280)) 

 

THIS BILL:  

1) Extends the various sunset dates governing the BSIS and its administration and enforcement 

of its respective practice acts to January 1, 2029.  

2) Extends the respective sunset dates authorizing licensed private investigators and alarms 

companies to be organized as an LLC by five years, to January 1, 2030. 

3) Authorizes the BSIS to cite persons licensed under the Collateral Recovery Act for violations 

of the act or other BSIS regulation. 

4) Requires that every agreement between a private investigator and a client, including, but not 

limited to, contract agreements and investigative agreements, including all labor, services, 

and materials to be provided for the scope of work conducted by the private investigator, 

shall be in writing, and shall contain, but not be limited to, the following: 

a) The licensed private investigator’s name, business address, business telephone number, 

and license number, 

 

b) A disclosure that private investigators are licensed and regulated by the BSIS, 

 

c) The approximate start and completion dates of the work to be provided, 

 

d) A description of the scope of the investigation or services to be provided, 

 
e) An indication as to whether or not a written report is to be provided to the client and the 

agreed upon method of delivery of that written report, as applicable, 
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f) An explanation of the fees agreed upon by the parties, including a breakdown of how the 

fees are assessed by the licensee, and 

 
g) Any other matters agreed upon by the parties. 

 
5) Requires that any amendment to an initial service agreement between a private investigator 

and a client shall be in writing, as specified and with certain conditions, including that the 

amendment be legible, and that the client approve the amendment in writing before further 

work commences.  

 

6) Requires that private investigators maintain a legible copy of the signed agreement and 

investigative findings, including any written report, for a minimum of two years, and shall be 

made available for inspection by the BSIS upon demand. 

 
7) Deletes several exempted entities from the Proprietary Security Services Act, including:  

 
a) Persons engaged exclusively in the business of obtaining and furnishing information as to 

the financial rating of another person,  

 

b) A nonprofit, charitable society or association incorporated under the laws of California, 

 
c) Attorneys at law, in performance of their licensed duties,  

 
d) A collection agency or an employee thereof while acting within the scope of their 

employment,  

 
e) Admitted insurers and agents, and licensed insurance brokers,  

 
f) Banks,  

 
g) A person engaged solely in the business of securing information about persons or 

property from public records,  

 
h) A licensed insurance adjuster, in performance of their licensed duties,  

 
i) A savings association subject to the jurisdiction of the Commissioner of Financial 

Protection and Innovation or the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, and 

 
j) A secured creditor engaged in the repossession of the creditor’s collateral and a lessor 

engaged in the repossession of leased property in which it claims an interest.  

 
8) Exempts federally recognized tribes that have one or more employees who provide unarmed 

security services only for the federally recognized tribe, and an unarmed individual employed 

by a federally recognized tribe who is only providing security services for the federally 

recognized tribe, from the Proprietary Security Services Act.  

 

9) Defines “federally recognized tribe” and “participating tribe” for the purposes of exemption 

from the Proprietary Security Services Act and inclusion in the definition of “person” for 

licensure, registration, and certification under the Private Security Services Act. 
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10) Exempts tribes that apply for a license as a private patrol operator from remaining in good 

standing with the Secretary of State if the tribe’s business is chartered under tribal or federal 

law. 

 
11) Specifies that the PSS Act does not infringe upon or diminish existing rights of federally 

recognized tribes as set forth in federal, state, or tribal law. 

 
12) Declares that the state shall not regulate any activity within the jurisdiction of a federally 

recognized tribe. 

 

13) Makes other conforming technical changes as necessary to allow tribal participation in BSIS-

regulated security activities.  

 
14) Various non-substantive, technical changes to align several areas of statute relative to BSIS 

regulated activities.  

 

FISCAL EFFECT:  According to the Senate Committee on Appropriations:  

The 2024-25 Governor’s Budget provides approximately $19.32 million (Private Security 

Services Fund and Private Investigator Fund) and 77.9 positions to support the continued 

operation of the BSIS’s licensing and enforcement activities. The BSIS reports minor and 

absorbable workload to revise Private Patrol Operator, Firearms Training Facility and Baton 

Training Facility applications to accommodate the federally recognized tribe provisions of 

this bill. The Office of Information Services within the Department of Consumer Affairs 

reports IT costs of approximately $5,000, which is absorbable through the redirection of 

existing maintenance resources. 

COMMENTS:   

Purpose. This bill is the sunset review vehicle for the Bureau of Security and Investigative 

Services, authored by the Senate Committee on Business, Professions and Economic 

Development. The bill extends the sunset date for the Bureau and enacts technical changes, 

statutory improvements, and policy reforms in response to issues raised during the Bureau’s 

sunset review oversight process. 

Background.  

Sunset Review. Each year, the Assembly Committee on Business and Professions and the Senate 

Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development hold joint sunset review 

oversight hearings to review the licensing boards under the Department of Consumer Affairs 

(DCA). The DCA boards are responsible for protecting consumers and the public and regulating 

the professionals they license. The sunset review process provides an opportunity for the 

Legislature, DCA, boards, and stakeholders to discuss the performance of the boards and make 

recommendations for improvements.  

Each board and bureau subject to review has an enacting statute that has a repeal date, which 

means each board requires an extension before the repeal date. This bill is one of the “sunset” 

bills that are intended to extend the repeal date of the entities undergoing sunset review, as well 

as include the recommendations from the sunset review oversight hearings.  
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This year, there are five sunset review bills authored by the Assembly Committee on Business 

and Professions and five sunset review bills authored by the Chair of the Senate Business, 

Professions and Economic Development Committee.  

The Bureau of Security and Investigative Services. The private security industry in this country 

dates back to the 19th century when private citizens performed many duties that are associated 

with Federal and state law enforcement today. Growth in the number of individuals and the 

breadth of activities performed (guarding railroad shipments, detective work to investigate 

crimes, tracking down and apprehending criminals, and providing security advice to banks) were 

integral to determining that regulation of the industry was necessary.  

 

In California, regulatory oversight of the private security industry began in 1915 when the 

Detective Licensing Board was created under the State Board of Prison Directors to license and 

regulate private detectives. The Detective Licensing Board was subsequently renamed the 

Detective Licensing Bureau and its statutes are currently known as the Private Investigator Act. 

In 1955, the Detective Licensing Bureau became the Bureau of Private Investigators and 

Adjustors that was combined with the Collection Agency Licensing Bureau in 1970 and renamed 

the Bureau of Collection and Investigative Services.  

 

Assembly Bill 936 (Rainey, Chapter 1263, Statutes of 1993) formally renamed the Bureau as its 

current identifier, the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services (Bureau or BSIS).  

 

The Bureau’s mission, as stated on their website and publications, is:  

To protect and serve the public through effective regulatory oversight of the professions 

within the Bureau’s jurisdiction.  

To achieve this mission, the Bureau issues licenses, registrations, certificates, and permits and 

currently licenses about 433,000 licensees and companies. The Bureau administers six practice 

acts and regulates the industries affected by each practice act:  

Alarm Company Act - An alarm company operator is a business that sells (at the buyer’s 

home or business), installs, maintains, monitors, services, or responds to alarm systems. An 

alarm agent is an employee of the alarm company. Each alarm company licensee must 

designate a person who is associated with the license in the Bureau’s records to serve as the 

qualified manager (QM).  

Collateral Recovery Act - A repossession agency contracts with a legal owner (e.g., credit 

grantor of personal property) to locate and/or recover property sold under a security 

agreement, most commonly a 2 motor vehicle. Each repossession agency licensee must 

designate a person who is associated with the license in the Bureau’s records to serve as the 

QM. 

Locksmith Act - A locksmith operates a business that installs, repairs, opens, or modifies 

locks, as well as originates keys for locks. Locksmiths must hold a locksmith license and 

employees of locksmiths who perform locksmithing duties must hold a locksmith 

registration, issued by the Bureau. Persons who only make duplicate keys from an existing 

key are exempt from regulation by the Bureau.  
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Private Investigator Act - A private investigator is an individual who investigates crimes; the 

identity, business, occupation, or character of a person; the location of lost or stolen property; 

or the cause of fires, losses, accidents, damage, or injury. In addition, a private investigator 

secures evidence for use in court. Private investigators may protect persons only if such 

services are incidental to an investigation. Private investigators may not protect property. As 

specified in the Private Investigator Act, individuals performing private investigation 

activities must hold a private investigator license issued by the Bureau. Each private 

investigator licensee must designate a person who is associated with the license in the 

Bureau’s records to serve as the QM.  

Private Security Services Act - A private patrol operator is a company that employs security 

guards and contracts with other persons or businesses to protect persons or property, or to 

prevent theft (a security guard is not authorized to contract themselves out for private 

security services unless they also hold a private patrol operator license). Private patrol 

operators are prohibited from performing any investigation except as incidental to the theft or 

loss of property for a company it has contracted with to provide private security services. 

Each private patrol operator licensee must designate a person, who is associated with the 

license in the Bureau’s records, to serve as the QM.  

Proprietary Security Services Act - A proprietary private security employer is a person or 

company that employs one or more proprietary private security officers. The proprietary 

private security officers may only provide security services to their employing proprietary 

private security employer, i.e. a proprietary private security employer cannot contract out the 

services of its proprietary private security officers to any other person or entity. Proprietary 

private security officers are not authorized to carry a firearm nor any other weapon, including 

batons, chemical weaponry, or stun guns.  

Qualified Managers - The Alarm Company Act, Collateral Recovery Act, Private 

Investigator Act, and Private Security Services Act require licensees to designate a person to 

serve as a QM. The QM is responsible for managing and directing the day-to-day activities of 

the licensed business, and may be the licensee, an agent of the licensee, e.g., officer of a 

corporation, or officer or member of a limited liability company (when applicable), or any 

other person designated by the licensee to serve in this capacity. The person serving as the 

QM must meet the experience requirements specified in the practice act and pass the 

licensing examination. 

SUNSET ISSUES FOR CONSIDERATION:  

As part of the BSIS’s sunset review, a number of issues and priorities were raised by the board’s 

staff, stakeholders, and legislative committees. These issues were first outlined in the BSIS’s 

“Sunset Review Report 2023” submitted to the Legislature on January 1, 2024. Subsequently, as 

part of the Joint Sunset hearings conducted by the Assembly Committee on Business and 

Professions and the Senate Business, Professions and Economic Development Committee, 

committees issued “background papers” highlighting recommendations to the BSIS regarding 

issues raised in their report. The background paper is available on the Committee’s website: 

https://abp.assembly.ca.gov/jointsunsethearings.  On April 11, DCA and BSIS staff responded to 

these recommendations and presented committee staff with potential reforms and statutory 

language to address various issues. This bill addresses certain issues discussed in these reports 

and responses.  

https://abp.assembly.ca.gov/jointsunsethearings
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While all of the issues identified in the background paper remain available for discussion, the 

following items are being addressed the current language of this bill or are otherwise under 

active deliberation: 

1) Issue #2 – License Exemptions from the Proprietary Security Services Act. The Proprietary 

Security Services Act regulates proprietary private security employers (employers) and 

proprietary security officers (officers). An employer is a person (or company) who has one or 

more employees who provide security services for the employer and only for the employer. 

An officer is employed exclusively by any one employer whose primary duty is to provide 

security services for his or her employer, whose services are not contracted to any other 

entity or person.  

 

The Proprietary Security Services Act, which regulates employers and officers includes 17 

exemptions from licensure (BPC § 7574.14) that include attorneys, collection agencies, 

insurance adjusters, motion picture studios, among others. Exemptions also include federal 

and state employees under certain circumstances. The license population consists of 630 

proprietary private security employers and 7,896 registered security officers, which is a 

fraction of the license population under the Bureau’s administered Private Security Services 

Act.  

 

The Act was originally enacted by SB 741 (Maldonado, Chapter 741, Statutes of 2009), 

which included the exemptions from licensure. BPC § 7474.14 has been amended several 

times, but not concerning existing exemptions. 

 

Staff Recommendation in the Background Paper: The Bureau should advise the Committees 

of whether the exemptions from licensure and registration are still valid or appropriate. 

Further, the Bureau should discuss how exemptions impact its ability to adequately regulate 

the profession. The Bureau should also inform the Committees of whether there should be 

additional exemptions. 

 

Board Response to the Background Paper: The Proprietary Security Services Act contains 

the same exemptions as the Private Security Services Act (Business and Professions Code 

(BPC) § 7582.2) and the Private Investigator Act (BPC § 7522). The Bureau believes that 

several of these exemptions are not valid and appropriate and should be eliminated.  

 

The exemptions in BPC § 7574.14 include entities like non-profits, attorneys, admitted 

insurers and adjusters, and collection agencies. Proprietary Private Security Employers 

employ Proprietary Private Security Officers who are not authorized to carry weapons. Non-

profits, such as churches and/or schools, often employ security personnel and, by virtue of 

the exemption, the employer is not required to ensure appropriate training or maintain 

training records for their security officers. This exemption poses a potential risk for consumer 

protection and public safety as the Bureau is unable to enforce training standards for the 

employers. Many of the remaining exemptions in BPC § 7574.14 are not applicable to the 

private security industry and may require further consideration, such as attorneys at law or 

admitted insurance adjusters. At this time, the Bureau does not have any recommendations 

for additional exemptions. 

 

Sunset Recommendation: This bill deletes various exemptions from the Proprietary Security 

Services Act consistent with recommendations outlined by the BSIS in their response, 
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including but not limited to: charitable societies, collection agencies, insurers and insurance 

brokers, attorneys, and certain banks and financial institutions.  

2) Issue #3 – LLCs for Alarm Companies and Private Investigators. The California Revised 

Uniform Limited Liability Company Act (Corporations Code § 17701.04 (b)) allows a 

business that is required to be licensed under the Business and Professions Code to form as 

an limited liability company (LLC), so long as the practice act specifically authorizes its 

licensees to form as an LLC. Pursuant to this authority, legislation was passed previously 

granting licensees under the Alarm Company Act (SB 1077, Price, Chapter 291, Statutes of 

2012) and licensees under the Private Investigators Act (AB 1608, Olsen, Chapter 669, 

Statutes of 2014) to form LLCs, provided certain conditions are met and subject to respective 

sunset dates.  

 

The authority in the Alarm Company Act and the Private Investigator Act contain sunset 

provisions because the Legislature determined, at the time, that the authorization would need 

to be reviewed to determine if licensure as an LLC posed any specific problems. The Senate 

Committee on Judiciary, which recommended the sunset dates stated in its analysis of SB 

1077, “historic concerns with adding a licensed profession to the list of authorized LLPs and 

LLCs in this state are substantially similar and necessitate that information, including claims 

information and other relevant data, be provided to this Committee to both demonstrate the 

appropriateness and need for LLC or LLP status, and to provide the evidence relevant to the 

issue of adequacy of insurance levels. Insurance and sunset requirements have been vital 

components in the ability of this Legislature to strike a balance between allowing 

professional licensed service providers to operate in a mode offering tax and liability-limiting 

advantages and preserving, to an appropriate degree, the ability of a party injured by 

professional negligence to recover damages for that injury.”  

 

Since that time, statute has required alarm company LLCs and private investigator LLCs to 

report any claim data to the Bureau on an annual basis, which the Bureau is then to report to 

the Legislature. Over the last ten years, the Bureau has not become aware of any major issues 

arising as a result of these companies being licensed as LLCs and the companies licensed as 

LLCs have not created any consumer protection issues the Bureau is aware of and the claims 

reporting has been minimal over the past several years. In fact, the Bureau reports in the past 

five years, the Bureau has not had any LLCs report paying out any claims.  

The authority in both practice acts are set to expire January 1, 2025, which requires the 

Committees to consider extending this authority once again. The Committees may want to 

consider whether there are considerable consumer protection issues resulting from issuing 

licenses to alarm company and private investigator LLCs that justify continuing to review 

and extend these provisions at regular intervals. 

Staff Recommendation in the Background Paper: The Bureau should report to the 

Committees the number of reported claims against alarm company operator and private 

investigator LLC licensees’ liability insurance it has received since. The Bureau should also 

advise the Committees of the consumer protection value provided by continuing to include a 

sunset date on these provisions. 

Bureau Response to Staff Recommendation: The Bureau has not received any reported claims 

against alarm companies nor against private investigators organized under a limited liability 
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company (LLC) structure. In researching this issue, the Bureau has not found any such 

claims ever reported to the Bureau. Continued reporting on this issue is not onerous to the 

Bureau, but it is unclear that it is necessary from a consumer protection standpoint. 

Sunset Recommendation: This bill extends the sunset date on the ability for alarm companies 

and private investigators to organize as LLCs until January 1, 2030, while preserving existing 

reporting requirements to maintain Legislative oversight of such licensed professions.  

3) Issue #6 – Licensure for Tribes and Tribally-Owned Businesses. Tribal governments are 

distinct political entities that have the right to exercise sovereignty concerning their members 

and territories. Tribes and states have adjacent jurisdictions and some of California’s tribes’ 

territories cross state borders. After multiple tribes applied for licensure with the Bureau to 

perform the scope of a licensee while outside tribal or federal boundaries, the Bureau found 

that current law does not provide a pathway for a federally recognized tribe seeking to 

operate as a registered proprietary private security employer under the Proprietary Security 

Services Act or as a licensed private patrol operator under the Private Security Services Act. 

There are two primary obstacles – lack of recognition of a tribal government or its businesses 

as a potential licensee and a requirement to be in good standing with the Secretary of State.  

Unlike many other license types in California, which are issued to the individual, (e.g., a 

nurse, veterinarian, physician and surgeon, funeral director, or cosmetologist), in the case of 

a proprietary private security employer or a private patrol operator, the registration or license 

is issued to the business. The Proprietary Security Services Act and the Private Security 

Services Act each define a “person,” to whom a license or registration may be issued as a 

variety of business types that include individual owners, firms, companies, associations, 

organizations, partnerships, and corporations (BPC §§ 7574.01 and 7580.3).  

Because tribes are sovereign governments, they have rights to self-governance that an 

individual (sole proprietor), firm, company, partnership, or corporation does not possess. 

Because of a tribe’s status as a sovereign government, a tribe is also not an association or 

organization. As a result, the Bureau is unable to issue a registration or license to tribal 

businesses.  

Tribes often pursue economic development initiatives by operating for-profit businesses to 

provide vital services to, and create job opportunities for, its members. These businesses can, 

but are not required to, register their businesses with the Secretary of State as foreign 

corporations. A tribe may also form a corporation as a tribally chartered corporation under 

tribal law or as a federally chartered corporation under Section 17 of the Indian 

Reorganization Act. Tribes have the right to choose which business form is best for their 

businesses. However, AB 830 (Flora, Chapter 376, Statutes of 2021) established remaining in 

good standing with the Secretary of State as a condition of registration or license 

maintenance (BPC §§ 7574.36 and 7587.11). 

Other boards and bureaus share similar challenges associated with issuing licenses to tribal 

businesses including the Bureau of Automotive Repair, the Structural Pest Control Board, 

and the Contractors State License Board, which recommended in its 2023 Sunset Review 

Report to address this issue to expand business opportunities and reduce licensure barriers for 

California’s 109 federally recognized tribes conducting business operations outside of its 

tribal boundaries. 
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Staff Recommendation in Background Paper:  The Bureau should advise the Committees on 

any concerns regarding licensing tribes and/or tribally owned businesses that are tribally 

chartered or federally chartered. The Bureau should specify whether good standing with the 

Secretary of State is a necessary requirement for tribes and their companies as a condition of 

licensure. The Bureau should also advise the Committees of other potential barriers to 

licensure for tribes for each of its practice acts. 

 

Bureau Response to Staff Recommendation: The Bureau supports the idea of encouraging 

tribes to obtain state licensure, but recognizes they are sovereign entities that raise unique 

issues when it comes to state licensure and the Bureau’s enforcement process. Since the law 

does not presently permit tribal licensure, the Bureau has worked collaboratively with tribes 

in the past to identify alternative arrangements to enable them to provide security services, 

like creating a corporation or licensing an individual. The Bureau looks forward to working 

with the Legislature on this issue. 

 

Sunset Recommendation: This bill adds definitions and conforming language to the various 

practice acts under the BSIS authorizing federally recognized tribes to utilize and participate 

in BSIS-regulated activities, including utilizing private or proprietary security for activities 

outside of tribal boundaries. Tribes and their respective employees would still be required to 

meet all standards for BSIS licensure, except for the requirement that the licensee be 

registered with the Secretary of State, as tribes differ in their particular organizational 

structure. Similar language is also being added to statute as part of the CSLB’s sunset review 

bill, as well (SB 1455, Ashby).  

 

4) Issue #8 – Unlicensed Activity Enforcement. The Bureau prioritizes cases with the highest 

potential for public harm and allocates its limited enforcement resources to cases involving 

use of force, fraud and dishonesty, unlicensed activity, and illegal or unethical behavior are 

addressed appropriately and timely. The Bureau may also refer the most egregious cases of 

unlicensed activity to DCA’s Division of Investigations; however, the Bureau’s 2023 Sunset 

Review Report discusses various issues relating to unlicensed activity enforcement:  

 Staffing Considerations. Needing to catch people in the act led the Bureau to change 

its enforcement strategy since the last sunset review. According to the Bureau, private 

security makes up the vast majority of BSIS investigations and complaints. 

Additionally, private security who engage in unlicensed activity often do so at night 

and on weekends. The Bureau’s enforcement staff were primarily analysts who 

worked regular business days and hours. Recognizing a need for enforcement staff to 

be available at times when unlicensed activity is likely to occur, the Bureau 

reclassified two analyst positions as Special Investigators (SIs) to work in the field 

and at night or on weekends, when warranted.  

The Bureau reports the SIs focus on time in the field investigating licensees and 

following unlicensed activity leads. Additionally, the SIs participate in multi-agency 

sweeps and sweeps with local law enforcement. From July 1, 2019 through June 30, 

2023, the Bureau issued 210 unlicensed activity citations, which is almost a 290% 

increase from the preceding four years.  

Despite the success of the SIs, the volume of unlicensed activity complaints over the 

past few years has nearly doubled. The Bureau currently receives an average of 373 
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complaints per year alleging unlicensed activity, which is a 90% increase over the 

196 reported for the year ending June 30, 2018.  

 Bureau Outreach Efforts. This increase may be attributed to Bureau outreach efforts. 

Bureau management and staff have attended and presented at meetings, conferences, 

and other events to educate local law enforcement and government agencies on 

licensing requirements and BSIS laws and regulations. Additionally, the Bureau 

continues to update consumer educational brochures as laws and regulations change. 

While educating the public is in the best interest of consumer protection, it tends to 

result in a higher number of reports of unlicensed activity, which could put a strain on 

Bureau resources.  

 Infraction Authority. BPC § 146 makes unlicensed activity in specified professions an 

infraction, punishable by a fine of not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250) and 

not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000). The professions listed in BPC § 146 

include locksmiths, repossessors, alarm companies, and private investigators (in 

addition to most 34 other professions under the Department’s purview). However, the 

private security industry, which has the highest reported incidence of unlicensed 

activity under the Bureau’s jurisdiction, are not. 

The Bureau recommended adding the Private Security Services Act and the 

Proprietary Security Services Act to the list of professions specified in BPC § 146. 

The Bureau states that authorizing the Bureau to issue an infraction for unlicensed 

activity will increase the impact of its unlicensed activity enforcement strategy 

because administrative fines do not compel an unlicensed person to comply with 

licensing laws as effectively as a criminal citation.  

 Collateral Recovery Act. Repossession agencies or agents who practice without 

licensure avoid licensing fees, fingerprinting, and background check requirements to 

obtain Bureau approval, and circumvent meeting the Bureau’s standards regarding 

documentation and treatment of property.  

BPC § 125.9 authorizes regulatory programs within the Department to establish a 

system for the issuance of citations for violations of the practice acts administered by 

those programs; however, this section exempts the Collateral Recovery Act from 

these provisions. In addition, BPC § 148 authorizes programs within the Department 

to establish a system similar to that authorized by BPC 125.9 for the issuance of 

citations for unlicensed activity. Because citations are a common method of enforcing 

unlicensed activity, it is not clear what options the Bureau has concerning an 

unlicensed repossessor other than a criminal referral. 

Staff Recommendation in the Background Paper: The Bureau should advise the Committees 

of how it anticipates meeting increasing unlicensed activity workload demands. Additionally, 

the Bureau should identify the anticipated volume of infractions the Bureau would issue and 

the circumstances under which the Bureau would file an infraction. Finally, how does the 

Bureau meet its consumer protection mandate when enforcing the Collateral Recovery Act? 

The Bureau should advise the Committees if additional enforcement tools are necessary to 

help address unlicensed activity and whether any statutory changes are necessary to enhance 

these and other efforts to enforce its licensing requirements. 
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Bureau Response to Staff Recommendation: The addition of two Special Investigators (SIs) 

to the Bureau’s enforcement team has added a substantial contribution to taking action 

against unlicensed practitioners and has proven to be a valuable asset in combatting 

unlicensed activity. The Bureau is exploring reclassifying two additional analyst positions to 

SIs to increase BSIS’s presence in the field.  

 

The Bureau is unable to estimate the anticipated volume of infractions, however as 

previously noted, with the addition of the SIs to the enforcement team and increased presence 

in the field, the Bureau issued significantly more unlicensed activity citations over the past 

four years than in the preceding years. The Bureau anticipates that trend will increase with 

the addition of more SIs and increased public presence. The authority to pursue infractions 

for unlicensed activity in the private security field would enable the Bureau to take more 

effective action in situations where an administrative citation does not deter the actions or 

garner compliance with the law, or in situations where the violations are more egregious in 

nature, such as the unlicensed possession of weapons or allegations involving use of force.  

For these reasons, the Bureau seeks amendments to its authority to take additional 

enforcement action.  

 

It is challenging for the Bureau to meet its consumer protection mandate when it comes to 

enforcing the Collateral Recovery Act when dealing with unlicensed repossessors. The 

Bureau does not have the authority to issue administrative citations for unlicensed 

repossessors because the industry is exempt from BPC § 125.9. The Bureau relies heavily on 

education in working with unlicensed repossessors to obtain compliance. Having the 

authority to issue unlicensed activity citations would be an important and necessary tool in 

obtaining compliance with the law and would serve as additional evidence if the Bureau had 

to seek criminal prosecution. 

Sunset Recommendation: The bill makes statutory changes to strengthen the BSIS’s authority 

to enforce their regulations and protect consumers, consistent with recommendations outlined 

in their response to the Committee’s background paper. Specifically, this bill amends BPC § 

125.9 to allow the BSIS to issue citations related to unlicensed repossession activity or other 

violations of the Collateral Recovery Act. Additionally, this bill adds infraction authority 

under BPC § 146 for any practice acts not currently listed, making clear the BSIS has 

additional enforcement tools against unlawful practice.  

5) Issue #10 – Technical Changes. Since the Bureau’s last sunset review in 2019, the Bureau 

has sponsored or been impacted by numerous pieces of legislation which address all or parts 

of the Bureau’s duties, oversight authority, licensing requirements, examination standards, 

among others.  

 

As a result, there may be a number of non-substantive and technical changes to the license 

law that are needed to correct deficiencies or other inconsistencies in the law which may 

improve Bureau operations.. Because of numerous statutory changes and implementation 

delays, code sections can become confusing, contain provisions that are no longer applicable, 

make references to outdated report requirements, and cross-reference code sections that are 

no longer relevant. Sunset review is an appropriate time to review, recommend, and make 

necessary statutory changes. 

 

Staff Recommendation in the Background Paper: The Bureau should recommend cleanup or 



SB 1454 
 Page  14 

technical amendments to the Committees, as necessary. 

 

Bureau Response to Staff Recommendation: The Bureau is proposing several minor, 

technical changes that should be included in the sunset bill. The changes include clarifying 

changes to align various sections of the practice acts. 

Sunset Recommendation: The sunset bill makes technical changes consistent with language 

proposed by DCA and BSIS staff, which conforms statute in various practice acts for 

consistency and alignment with legislation passed since the last sunset review.  

6) Issue #11 – Continued Regulation by the BSIS. The safety and welfare of consumers is best 

preserved through a strong licensing and regulatory structure to oversee the security and 

investigative service professions. The importance of an effective, proactive, efficient Bureau 

cannot be overlooked, particularly given the authority licensees have to utilize equipment in 

their normal course of work that is highly regulated and impactful. Ensuring appropriate 

training, readiness, and oversight of BSIS licensees is necessary to ensure public safety. The 

Bureau has implemented significant policy changes that improve the Bureau’s effectiveness 

in protecting consumers and improving public safety since its last sunset review. 

Staff Recommendation in the Background Paper: The Bureau should be continued, and 

reviewed again on a future date to be determined. 

 

Bureau Response to Staff Recommendation: The Bureau agrees with this assessment. The 

Bureau is dedicated to its consumer protection mandate and will continue to work with the 

Legislature and stakeholders to meet its mission of safeguarding California consumers. 

 

Staff Recommendation: This bill extends the BSIS’s oversight of security guards, alarm 

company operators, repossessors, locksmiths, and private investigators until January 1, 2029.  

 

Additional Issue – Private Investigator-Client Agreements. In addition to issues raised during 

sunset review, the BSIS has identified another concern that this bill addresses through 

clarification to the Private Investigator Act. Specifically, there is no language in current law 

related to agreements between a private investigator and their client, most notably no standard 

that an agreement - including the scope, terms, and fees for a contract - be in writing. As a result, 

when the BSIS receives a complaint from a consumer related to a private investigator breaching 

an agreement, it is difficult for BSIS staff to investigate and often results in back-and-forth 

accusations between the licensee and client, with little resolution. According to statistics from 

the BSIS provided to the Committees, 27% of all consumer complaints regarding private 

investigators allege that the investigator failed to render services or report to the consumer as 

agreed.  

 

This bill therefore adds language that specifically mandates private investigators enter into a 

written agreement with clients that details, among other things, the estimated length of work, the 

scope of investigation, and an explanation of all fees agreed upon by the parties. Upon 

completion of the investigation, any written report must be provided to the client within 30 days, 

and the licensee must retain a copy of the agreement and any subsequent findings, amendments, 

or reports for a minimum of two years.  
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Current Related Legislation.  

SB 1452 (Ashby) is the sunset bill for the California Architects Board and the Landscape 

Architects Technical Committee.  This bill is pending in this committee. 

SB 1453 (Ashby) is the sunset bill for the Dental Board of California.  This bill is pending in this 

committee. 

SB 1454 (Ashby) is the sunset bill for the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services.  This 

bill is pending in this committee. 

SB 1455 (Ashby) is the sunset bill for the Contractors’ State License Board.  This bill is pending 

in this committee. 

AB 3251 (Committee on Business and Professions) is the sunset bill for the California Board of 

Accountancy.  This bill is pending in the Senate Committee on Business, Professions, and 

Economic Development. 

AB 3252 (Committee on Business and Professions) is the sunset bill for the Court Reporters 

Board.  This bill is pending in the Senate Committee on Business, Professions, and Economic 

Development. 

AB 3253 (Committee on Business and Professions) is the sunset bill for the Board of 

Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, and Geologists. This bill is pending in the Senate 

Committee on Business, Professions, and Economic Development. 

AB 3254 (Committee on Business and Professions) is the sunset bill for the Cemetery and 

Funeral Bureau.  This bill is pending in the Senate Committee on Business, Professions, and 

Economic Development. 

AB 3255 (Committee on Business and Professions) is the sunset bill for the Board of Vocational 

Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians of the State of California.  This bill is pending in the Senate 

Committee on Business, Professions, and Economic Development. 

Prior Related Legislation.  

AB 229 (Holden), Chapter 697, Statutes of 2021, required that, beginning January 1, 2023, 

various licensees regulated by the BSIS must complete a course of training in the exercise of the 

appropriate use of force in order to be issued a license or a firearms permit, and added various 

other requirements to licensees with regard to incidents of physical use of force, firearm 

discharge, or other altercations with the public.  

SB 1443 (Roth), Chapter 625, Statutes of 2022, rescheduled the sunset review dates for various 

boards under the Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA), including the BSIS, and extended the 

extended the authority for a licensed alarm company or private investigation company to be 

organized as an LLC until January 1, 2025. 

SB 1474 (Business, Professions and Economic Development Committee), Chapter 312, Statutes 

of 2020, among other things, extended the authority for a licensed private investigation company 

to be organized as an LLC until January 1, 2024. 
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SB 609 (Glazer), Chapter 377, Statutes of 2019, extended the sunset date for the BSIS to January 

1, 2024, and made various changes to the operations of the bureau, including prohibiting BSIS 

from issuing firearms permits to applicants under 21 years of age, consolidating the Private 

Investigator (PI) Fund and the Private Security Services (PSS) Fund, and increasing certain fees.  

SB 904 (Wieckowski), Chapter 406, Statutes of 2018, extended the authority for a licensed alarm 

company to be organized as an LLC until January 1, 2024.  

SB 559 (Morrell), Chapter 569, Statutes of 2017, extended the authority for a licensed private 

investigation company to be organized as an LLC until January 1, 2019, subject to certain 

conditions.  

SB 177 (Wieckowski), Chapter 140, Statutes of 2015, extended the authority for a licensed alarm 

company to be organized as an LLC until January 1, 2019, subject to certain conditions.  

AB 1608 (Olsen), Chapter 669, Statutes of 2014, authorized a licensed private investigator to be 

organized as a limited liability company (LLC) until January 1, 2018, subject to certain 

conditions. 

SB 1077 (Price), Chapter 291, Statutes of 2012, authorized a licensed alarm company to be 

organized as an LLC until January 1, 2016, subject to certain conditions, and authorized the 

BSIS to cite unlicensed alarm company operators. 

SB 741 (Maldonado), Chapter 361, Statutes of 2009, revised and recasted the existing regulation 

of proprietary private security officers to require both proprietary private security officers and 

proprietary private security employers, as defined, to register with the BSIS, and established 

training and enforcement provisions. 

AB 936 (Rainey), Chapter 1263, Statutes of 1993, formally renamed the Bureau as its current 

identifier, the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services (BSIS).  

ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT:  

 

This bill is supported by the San Manuel Band of Mission Indians, who write: “Many tribes, 

like San Manuel, are forced to conduct some operations off tribal land because there is not 

enough room on their reservation and trust lands. At the same time, they cannot obtain the 

appropriate security licensing from the state because there is no box for them to check on the 

relevant applications. This bill would fix that incongruence by clarifying that tribes may obtain 

licensing appropriate for their off-reservation activity, like other non-tribal entities.” 

ARGUMENTS IN OPPOSITION:  

 

None on file. 

 

REGISTERED SUPPORT: 

 

ADT, Inc. 

California Alarm Association 

San Manuel Band of Mission Indians 
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REGISTERED OPPOSITION:  

 

None on file.  

Analysis Prepared by: Edward Franco / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301
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Date of Hearing: June 25, 2024 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS 

Marc Berman, Chair 

SB 1455 (Ashby) – As Amended May 16, 2024 

SENATE VOTE: 38-0 

SUBJECT: Contractors:  licensing 

SUMMARY: Extends the sunset date for the Contractors State License Board (CSLB or 

board), authorizes the CSLB to issue a license to a federally recognized tribe, requires the 

awarding authority of a public works contract to use the license classifications prescribed by 

law, waives the requirement for an applicant to submit an employment duty statement, delays 

implementation of the universal worker’s compensation requirement to January 1, 2028, and 

makes additional policy reforms stemming from the board’s sunset review.  

EXISTING LAW:   

1) Establishes, until January 1, 2025, the CSLB under the Department of Consumer Affairs 

(DCA) to implement and enforce the Contractors State License Law (License Law), 

which includes the licensing and regulation of contractors and home improvement 

salespersons. (Business and Professions Code (BPC) §§ 7000 et seq.) 

2) Requires, until January 1, 2025, the board, by and with the approval of the director, to 

appoint a registrar of contractors, to be the executive officer and secretary of the board 

and to carry out all of the administrative duties of the board. (BPC § 7011) 

3) Defines “person” to mean an individual, a firm, partnership, corporation, limited liability 

company, association or other organization, or any combination thereof. (BPC § 7025(b)) 

4) Defines “qualifying person,” “qualifying individual,” or “qualifier” to mean a person who 

qualifies for a license. (BPC § 7025(c))  

5) Exempts from the License Law, an authorized representative of the United States 

government, the State of California, or any incorporated town, city, county, irrigation 

district, reclamation district, or other municipal or political corporation or subdivision of 

this state when the entity or its representative is acting within the scope of the entity’s or 

representative’s official capacity, except that the entity or its authorized representative 

may not contract with an unlicensed contractor for work that is required to be performed 

by a licensed contractor. (BPC § 7040) 

6) Requires the awarding authority in public works contracts to determine the license 

classification necessary to bid and perform the project, as specified. (BPC § 7059(b)) 

7) Authorizes the CSLB to issue contractors’ licenses to individual owners, partnerships, 

corporations, and limited liability companies. (BPC § 7065(b)) 
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8) Mandates the board to require every applicant or licensee qualifying by the appearance of 

a qualifying individual to submit detailed information on the qualifying individual’s 

duties and responsibilities for supervision and control of the applicant’s construction 

operations, including, but not limited to, an employment duty statement prepared by the 

qualifier’s employer, or principal. Failure of an applicant or licensee to provide this 

information constitutes a violation. (BPC §7068.1(d)) 

9) Specifies that the failure of a contractor licensed to do business as a corporation or 

limited liability company in this state to be registered and in good standing with the 

Secretary of State after notice from the registrar will result in the automatic suspension of 

the license by operation of law. (BPC § 7076.2(a)) 

10) Requires, until January 1, 2026, as a condition of licensure, that an applicant or licensee 

have on file at all times a current and valid Certificate of Workers’ Compensation 

Insurance or Certification of Self-Insurance, unless that applicant or licensee has no 

employees and does not hold a C-8, C-20, C-22, C-39, or a D-49 license; the applicant or 

licensee is organized as a joint venture; or the license is inactive, as specified. (BPC § 

7125(a-d)) 

11) Requires, beginning January 1, 2026, as a condition of licensure, that an applicant or 

licensee have on file at all times a current and valid Certificate of Workers’ 

Compensation Insurance or Certification of Self-Insurance, unless the applicant or 

licensee is organized as a joint venture or the license is inactive, as specified. (BPC § 

7125(a-c)) 

12) Sets the application fee for an asbestos certification examination and a hazardous 

substance removal or remedial action certification examination at $125 and authorizes 

both to be increased to $157. (BPC § 7137(a)(1)(F-G)) 

13) Sets the fee for rescheduling an examination for an applicant who has applied for an 

original license, additional classification, a change of responsible managing officer, 

responsible managing manager, responsible managing member, or responsible managing 

employee, or for an asbestos certification or hazardous substance removal certification, at 

$100 and authorizes it to be increased to $125. (BPC § 7137(a)(2)(A)) 

14) Sets the fee for scheduling or rescheduling an examination for a licensee who is required 

to take the examination as a condition of probation at $100 and authorizes it to be 

increased to $125. (BPC § 7137(a)(2)(B)) 

15) Authorizes the board to contract with licensed professionals, as specified, for the site 

investigation of consumer complaints, if funding is made available for that purpose. (BPC 

§ 7019(a)) 

16) Authorizes the board to contract with other professionals whose skills or expertise are 

required to aid in the investigation of prosecution of a licensee, registrant, applicant, or 

those subject to licensure or registration by the board. (BPC § 7019(b)) 
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17) Requires the board to determine the rate of reimbursement for individuals assisting with 

an investigation. (BPC § 7019(c)) 

THIS BILL:  

1) Extends the sunset date for the board and its authority to appoint a registrar until January 

1, 2029.  

2) Authorizes contractors’ licenses to be issued to a federally recognized tribe.  

a) Defines “federally recognized tribe” to mean a tribe located in this state and included 

on the list published in the Federal Register pursuant to the Federally Recognized 

Indian Tribe List Act of 1994, including an entity controlled by and established for 

the benefit of one or more tribes.  

b) Specifies that nothing in the License Law is intended to infringe upon or diminish the 

existing rights, privileges, and immunities of federally recognized tribes as set forth in 

federal, state, or tribal law, or the jurisdiction of those federally recognized tribes. 

c) Specifies that nothing in the License Law, whether express or implied, shall confer 

upon the board, registrar, or director any rights or authority to regulate any activity 

within the jurisdiction of a federally recognized tribe. 

d) Exempts a federally recognized tribe and a federally recognized tribe’s business that 

is chartered under tribal or federal law from the requirement to be registered and in 

good standing with the Secretary of State.  

e) Updates the definition of “person” to include a federally recognized tribe. 

3) Requires the awarding authority of a public works contract to determine the license 

classification necessary to bid and perform the project, in accordance with the 

classifications prescribed by the License Law. (Emphasis added to distinguish from 

existing law) 

a) Specifies that nothing shall be construed as authorizing an awarding authority to enact 

regulations relating to the qualifications necessary to engage in the business of 

contracting. 

b) Specifies that nothing shall deprive the registrar of the authority to investigate 

complaints and commence disciplinary proceedings for violations of the requirement 

determine the license classification necessary using existing classifications prescribed 

by law and regulations. 

4) Deletes the requirement for an applicant or licensee to submit an employment duty 

statement for a qualifying individual. 

5) Delays until January 1, 2028, the requirement for every licensee to have workers’ 

compensation insurance. 
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6) Requires, by no later than January 1, 2027, the board to establish a process and 

procedure, which may include an audit, proof, or other means, to verify that an applicant 

or licensee without an employee or employees is eligible for exemption from the 

workers’ compensation insurance requirement. 

7) Deletes the fee for scheduling or rescheduling an examination, and instead requires the 

fee charged to take an examination conducted or administered by a public or private 

organization to be no greater than the actual cost of the administration of the 

examination, and be paid directly to the organization by the applicant.  

8) Mandates the board to require a licensee that is subject to a public complaint requiring a 

professional or expert investigation or inspection and report to pay reasonable fees that 

are necessary to cover the costs of that investigation or inspection and report.  

a) Specifies that fees shall be fixed in an amount not more than the board’s cost of 

contracting for the investigation or inspection and report, except that the minimum 

fee shall be $100 for each investigation or inspection and report and may be increased 

to not more than $1,000 for each investigation or inspection and report. 

b) Specifies that the fee shall only be assessed for an investigation or inspection and 

report that resulted in issuance of a letter of admonishment or a citation. 

c) Specifies that the full amount of the assessed fee shall be added to the fee for the 

licensee’s active or inactive renewal and that a license shall not be renewed without 

payment of the renewal fee and all fees for the investigation or inspection and report. 

9) Makes nonsubstantive and conforming changes. 

FISCAL EFFECT:  

According to the Senate Appropriations Committee: 

 Unknown, likely significant revenue loss ranging into the millions of dollars annually 

beginning in 2028 as a result of contractors who may choose to not renew their 

license rather than obtain workers’ compensation insurance (Contractors License 

Fund). This revenue loss may be lower to the extent that providing an exemption for 

workers’ compensation insurance requirements facilitates more contractors to 

continue to remain licensed. 

 

The CSLB notes providing a delayed implementation date would help to address the 

immediate additional decline in the board’s licensee population and corresponding 

renewal revenue loss. The CSLB does not anticipate additional licensing or 

enforcement workload by extending the delayed implementation date. 

 

 Unknown workload impact to CSLB to establish the exemption verification process 

and procedure. Costs may include staff resources to promulgate regulations and 

conduct stakeholder outreach.  
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 The CSLB anticipates an annual revenue increase of approximately $250,000 in 

industry professional or expert investigation or inspection and report recovery fees. 

 

COMMENTS:  

Purpose. This bill is the sunset review vehicle for the CSLB, authored by the Senate 

Business, Professions, and Economic Development Committee. This bill extends the sunset 

date for the board and enacts technical changes, statutory improvements, and policy reforms 

in response to issues raised during the board’s sunset review oversight process. 

Background.  

Sunset review. Each year, the Assembly Committee on Business and Professions and the 

Senate Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development hold joint sunset 

review oversight hearings to review the licensing boards under the DCA. The DCA boards 

are responsible for protecting consumers and the public and regulating the professionals they 

license. The sunset review process provides an opportunity for the Legislature, DCA, boards, 

and stakeholders to discuss the performance of the boards and make recommendations for 

improvements.  

 

Each board subject to review has an enacting statute that has a repeal date, which means each 

board requires an extension before the repeal date. This bill is one of the “sunset” bills that 

are intended to extend the repeal date of the boards undergoing sunset review, as well as 

include the recommendations from the sunset review oversight hearings. There are five 

sunset review bills authored by the Assembly Committee on Business and Professions and 

five sunset review bills authored by the Chair of the Senate Business, Professions and 

Economic Development Committee.  

 

Contractors State License Board. The CSLB is responsible for the implementation and 

enforcement of the License Law, which governs the licensure, practice, and discipline of the 

construction industry in California. Any business or individual who constructs or alters, or 

offers to construct or alter, any building, highway, road, parking facility, railroad, excavation, 

or other structure in California must be licensed by the CSLB if the total cost of labor, 

materials, and all other items of one or more contracts on the project is $500 or more. 

 

The CSLB issues licenses to business entities and sole proprietors. Each license requires a 

qualifying individual (a “qualifier”) who directly supervises and controls construction work 

performed under the license. The qualifying individual must be at least 18 years old, have at 

least four years of specified work experience, undergo a criminal background check, and pass 

both a law and business exam as well as a trade-specific exam.1 Additionally, licensed 

contractors are required to maintain a contractor’s bond and workers’ compensation 

insurance, and pay various fees.  

                                                 

1 Contractors State License Board. (n.d.) Get Licensed to Build: A Guide to Becoming a California Licensed 

Contractor.  
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The CSLB currently issues four license types: “A”’ General Engineering Contractor license; 

“B” General Building Contractor license; “B-2” Residential Remodeling Contractor license; 

and “C” Specialty Contractor licenses of which there are 42 classifications. Each licensing 

classification (e.g. electrical, drywall, painting, plumbing, roofing, and fencing) specifies the 

type of contracting work permitted in that classification. Specific license holders are also 

eligible for Asbestos or Hazardous Substance Removal certifications issued by the CSLB. 

The board also regulates Home Improvement Salespersons (HIS). There are approximately 

300,000 licensed contractors (active and inactive status licenses) and 30,000 registered HIS 

in California.2 

The board’s mission, as stated in its 2022-2024 Strategic Plan is as follows:  

CSLB protects consumers by regulating the construction industry through policies that 

promote the health, safety, and general welfare of the public in matters relating to 

construction, including home improvement.  

The board reports that it accomplishes its mission by doing all of the following:  

 Ensuring that construction, including home improvement, is performed in a safe, 

competent, and professional manner;  

 Licensing contractors and enforcing licensing laws;  

 Requiring licensure for any person practicing or offering to practice construction 

contracting;  

 Enforcing the laws, regulations, and standards governing construction contracting in a 

fair and uniform manner;  

 Providing resolution to disputes that arise from construction activities; and  

 Educating consumers so they can make informed choices.3 

Current Related Legislation.  

AB 2622 (J. Carillo) would authorize a person who does not have a contractor license to both 

advertise for and perform construction work or a work of improvement if the total cost of 

labor, materials, and all other items, is less than $1,000, subject to limitations. AB 2622 is 

pending in the Senate Business, Professions, and Economic Development Committee. 

 

AB 3251 (Committee on Business and Professions) is the sunset bill for the Board of 

Accountancy. AB 3251 is pending in the Senate Business, Professions, and Economic 

Development Committee. 

 

AB 3252 (Committee on Business and Professions) is the sunset bill for the Court Reporters 

Board. AB 3252 is pending in the Senate Business, Professions, and Economic Development 

Committee. 

                                                 

2 Contractors State License Board (2023, December) Sunset Review Report  

https://www.cslb.ca.gov/Resources/Reports/Sunset/CSLB_2023_Sunset_Report.pdf 
3 Contractors State License Board (n.d.) 2022-2024 Strategic Plan 

https://www.cslb.ca.gov/Resources/reports/StrategicPlan/StrategicPlan_2022-24_ADA.pdf 
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AB 3253 (Committee on Business and Professions) is the sunset bill for the Board for 

Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, and Geologists. AB 3253 is pending in the Senate 

Business, Professions, and Economic Development Committee. 

 

AB 3254 (Committee on Business and Professions) is the sunset bill for the Cemetery and 

Funeral Bureau. AB 3254 is pending in the Senate Business, Professions, and Economic 

Development Committee. 

 

AB 3255 (Committee on Business and Professions) is the sunset bill for the Board of 

Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians of the State of California. AB 3255 is 

pending in the Senate Business, Professions, and Economic Development Committee. 

  

SB 1452 (Ashby) is the sunset bill for the California Architects Board and the Landscape 

Architects Technical Committee. SB 1452 is pending in this committee. 

 

SB 1453 (Ashby) is the sunset bill for the Dental Board of California. SB 1453 is pending in 

this committee. 

 

SB 1454 (Ashby) is the sunset bill for the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services. SB 

1453 is pending in this committee. 

 

SB 1071 (Dodd) would have delayed, until January 1, 2028, the requirement that all CSLB 

licensees be required to comply with workers’ compensation requirements in law. The 

contents of SB 1071 were incorporated into this bill and SB 1071 died in the Senate 

Appropriations Committee.  

Prior Related Legislation.  

SB 216 (Dodd), Chapter 978, Statutes of 2022, required asbestos abatement contractors; 

concrete contractors; heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) contractors; and tree 

service contractors to have workers' compensation insurance, regardless of whether they have 

employees, until January 1, 2026, at which time all contractors are required to have workers' 

compensation insurance regardless of whether they have employees.  

AB 830 (Flora), Chapter 376, Statutes of 2021, states that a duty statement is required to 

establish the responsibilities of a qualifying individual on a contractors’ license.  

ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT:  

In support of this bill, the CSLB writes, “CSLB believes it is effectively executing its public 

protection mandate, by setting minimum standards for contractor licensure and removing bad 

actors from the marketplace when appropriate. The Board looks forward to continuing its 

work with the legislature and interested stakeholders to further its essential consumer 

protection work.” 

SUNSET ISSUES FOR CONSIDERATION: In preparation for the sunset hearings, 

committee staff publishes background papers that identify outstanding issues relating to the 
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entity being reviewed. The background papers are available on the Committee’s website: 

https://abp.assembly.ca.gov/jointsunsethearings. While all of the issues identified in the 

background paper remain available for discussion, the following are currently being 

addressed in this bill or otherwise actively discussed: 

 

1) Issue #1: Expert Investigation and Inspection Costs. The CSLB is responsible for 

enforcement of the License Law. As part of its enforcement arm, the CSLB actively 

responds to and conducts investigations of consumer complaints. The CSLB reports 

that a primary goal of the CSLB’s Intake and Mediation Unit is to resolve as many 

complaints as practical without further referral to a field investigation. Investigations 

can increase costs for the CSLB, as greater resources are needed to conduct 

investigations. As noted by the CSLB, when a complaint is referred for a field 

investigation, the investigation is likely to result in a settlement, citation, letter of 

admonishment, or arbitration none of which provide a mechanism for cost recovery 

of the CSLB’s work including staff-time or other resources necessary to investigate 

and resolve these complaints.  

 

According to the CSLB, to resolve a workmanship dispute, CSLB must evaluate the 

work that needs to be completed for a project to meet industry standards and any 

associated costs to complete that work. In order to make the proper assessment of 

workmanship and costs of a construction-related project, the CSLB must rely on the 

expertise of industry experts (IEs) and contracts with IEs as part of the investigation 

and enforcement process. Per BPC § 7019, if funding is made available, the CSLB 

may contract with other licensed professionals including architects, engineers and 

geologists as appropriate, for the site investigation of the consumer complaint. The 

registrar is responsible for determining the rate of reimbursement for the IE.  

 

As noted by the CSLB, it annually receives more than 13,000 consumer-filed 

complaints, the majority of which allege incomplete and/or defective work. For the 

complaints that allege workmanship issues, IE services are required to determine if 

the contracted work was completed and performed to minimum trade standards. 

While IEs provide valuable industry expertise in their evaluation of work as part of a 

complaint, the utilization of IEs is costly to the CSLB. As reported by the CSLB, 

costs can be around $800 for a single IE to inspect the project site of a complaint and 

prepare a report utilized by the CSLB to make an enforcement determination. 

Between FYs 2019/20 through 2022/23, the CSLB spent $2,061,446 on IEs, (one case 

may require more than one IE). Costs associated with the use of IEs also include 

travel to the job site. These costs can increase depending on the severity of the 

complaint and the type of work that must be inspected based on a complaint. 

Currently, the CSLB does not have the statutory authority to seek reimbursement for 

the costs associated with IEs during the enforcement process. However, in those cases 

with formal discipline, such as probation or suspension, an ALJ may require cost 

recovery as part of the formal discipline process but for less severe penalties such as 

citations, CSLB does not have cost recovery authority.  

 

As noted in the CSLB’s 2023 Sunset Review Report, CSLB requests authority to 

obtain reimbursement for the cost of repeatedly inspecting poor workmanship or 

https://abp.assembly.ca.gov/jointsunsethearings
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incomplete work prior to, and in lieu of, the disciplinary stage of a complaint when 

appropriate. Providing authority to recover some IE costs will serve as a deterrent to 

contractors who do not respond timely to requests to correct work or who repeatedly 

rely on CSLB to incur the cost of an IE to tell them how to correct and complete their 

contracted work.  

 

At least one other DCA agency has authority to charge for inspections in the 

enforcement process. The Bureau of Household Goods and Services (BHGS), under 

the Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation Act (BPC §§ 19213 and 19213.1), is 

authorized to charge a fee when an inspection is needed to establish a violation. These 

sections do not require cost recovery through disciplinary action to invoke the fee. 

Unlike BHGS, which has staff to conduct and report on inspections, CSLB does not 

have in-house expertise to identify workmanship violations or the staff resources to 

conduct inspections at the rate complaints are received. Thus, CSLB must rely on 

experts in the field to conduct inspections. The CSLB notes in its 2023 Sunset 

Review Report that “To ensure CSLB can continue to 25 contract with IEs as the cost 

of services rises, authorization would be recommended to charge actual costs.” 

  

Staff Recommendation: The CSLB should advise the Committees on any anticipated 

cost savings associated with authority to seek the cost reimbursement of IEs. 

 

Board Response: Anticipated cost savings could be around $250,000 a fiscal year, or 

about 40 to 60 percent of the board’s annual IE costs.  

 

This is based on the board’s recommendation that this proposal be limited to IE cost 

reimbursement on investigations resulting only in letters of admonishment or citations 

because each resolution affords a right to appeal. The board estimates that 

approximately 40 to 60 percent of its total IE invoices each fiscal year result in a 

citation or letter of admonishment (though much more commonly a citation). The 

proposal is not needed for accusations, which afford the board formal cost recovery. 

 

In addition to anticipated cost savings, the board is optimistic the proposal will result 

in fewer consumer complaints and serve as a deterrent to contractors that repeatedly 

rely on CSLB to contract with an IE to serve as quality control for their business 

rather than timely address their complaints with their customers. 

 

Sunset Recommendation: This bill mandates that the board require a licensee that is 

subject to a public complaint requiring a professional or expert investigation or 

inspection to pay between $100 and $1,000 to cover the board’s cost of contracting 

for the investigation or inspection and report.  

 

2) Issue #3: Workers’ Compensation Insurance. The License Law requires applicants 

and licensees, as a condition of licensure, to submit to the CSLB a valid Certificate of 

Workers’ Compensation Insurance, or a valid Certification of Self-Insurance from the 

Department of Industrial Relations if they have any employees. As specified in BPC § 

7125, if an applicant or licensee does not have employees and does not hold a (C-8) 

concrete license, (C-20) Warm-Air Heating, Ventilating and Air-Conditioning 
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license, (C-22) Asbestos Abatement contractor license, (D-49) Tree Service 

contractor license, or (C-39) roofing contractor license, they are able to provide a 

certification of exemption (meaning they have no employees) and are then not 

required to meet the workers’ compensation insurance requirements as a condition of 

licensure, until January 1, 2026, when all applicants and licensees will be required to 

provide a valid Certificate of Workers Compensation Insurance for initial licensure 

and renewal.  

 

To address concerns that some applicants or licensees were providing a certification 

of exemption in order to avoid obtaining the required workers’ compensation 

insurance, SB 216 (Dodd), Chapter 978, Statues of 2022, expanded the license 

classifications required to have a Certificate of Workers’ Compensation Insurance on 

file with the CSLB to include the (C-8 Concrete), (C-20 HVAC,) (C-22 Asbestos 

Abatement), (D-49 Tree Service) regardless if the contractor has employees. Prior to 

the passage of SB 216, only a C-39 Roofing contractor was required to have workers’ 

compensation insurance regardless of whether or not they had any employees. 

Beginning January 1, 2026, all licensure classifications under the jurisdiction of the 

CSLB, regardless of whether or not they have employees, must obtain workers’ 

compensation insurance. The requirements in SB 216 stemmed from work conducted 

by the CSLB in 2017, as it reviewed strategies to combat workers’ compensation 

insurance avoidance. The CSLB reported that between January 2018 and March 

2020, CSLB issued 500 stop work orders to licensed contractors on job sites for 

failure to secure workers’ compensation and further made 342 legal actions against 

licensed contractors for workers’ compensation insurance violations.  

 

SB 216 provided a delayed implementation for all licensure classifications to meet the 

workers’ compensation mandate. However, as noted in the CSLB’s 2023 Sunset 

Review Report, there are concerns that the implementation of SB 216 will have a 

greater impact on CSLB’s workload than anticipated and could potentially increase 

license-processing times. The CSLB is currently researching additional mechanisms 

to address the potential licensing challenges, including requesting new staff through 

the budget change proposal process.  

 

In addition to concerns regarding implementation, there has been stakeholder 

feedback from contractors who will be required to obtain a certificate of workers 

compensation insurance even though they report to have no employees. California 

law requires that employers, including those in the construction industry, carry 

workers' compensation insurance, even if they have only one employee, including 

receptionists or other staff. 

 

Staff Recommendation: The CSLB should advise the Committees if legislative 

changes are necessary to ensure effective implementation of SB 216. Additionally, 

the CSLB should advise the Committees if it foresees any workforce issues resulting 

from the implementation. Is the CSLB conducting any outreach or informational 

sessions to help applicants and licensees meet this new requirement or better 

understand what it means to have “employees”? Does the CSLB need more time to 

implement the requirements? 
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Board Response: If the 2026 mandate in SB 2016 took effect today, approximately 

115,000 contractors would currently need a policy. CSLB may expect 10 percent of 

licensees to stop paying to maintain a license, resulting in a possible loss of $8 

million to CSLB’s fund that may impact enforcement operations. Staff also 

anticipates a significant increase in document processing with an increase in 

certificates and possibly applications to inactivate or cancel licenses. Staff will need 

to explore an entirely online certificate process or pursue a partnership with the 

Workers’ Compensation Insurance Rating Bureau to assist with the tracking and 

registering of certificates. 

 

The board’s Chair assigned a two-board member advisory committee to connect with 

industry stakeholders on concerns raised by the legislature by potential SB 216 

impacts. The stakeholder meeting was held on April 10, 2024. In addition to the two 

CSLB board members assigned, invitees included insurance regulators, attorneys, 

contractor association representatives, and smaller contractors who opposed the 

requirement. With minimal exception, industry attendees supported maintaining the 

“status quo” and the original policy of the bill to protect property owners, workers, 

and level the playing field for law-abiding contractors. Attendees did acknowledge 

the hardship that may come from very small businesses who truly never use a single 

worker from being forced to buy a policy and suggested the board could develop a 

new minimal-scope trade classification for licensed contractors who are not 

employers to perform maintenance work at a defined limit.   

 

As to outreach, since October 2022, CSLB has issued industry bulletins and over 

30,000 letters with education and resources about the requirement. The industry 

bulletins are on its website. CSLB will send letters and explore additional avenues for 

ensuring compliance with the 2026 WC requirements. 

 

As to workforce issues, contractors have expressed concern about being forced to pay 

for a policy that does not benefit them. There has always been a concern with any 

requirement of this nature that a percentage of licentiate will “go underground” 

instead of paying for workers’ compensation insurance. 

 

Sunset Recommendation: This bill delays the universal workers’ compensation 

insurance mandate to January 1, 2028. Additionally, in anticipation of a potential 

reversal of that policy in the future, this bill requires the board, by no later than 

January 1, 2027, to establish a process and procedure to verify that an applicant or 

licensee without a single employee is eligible for an exemption.  

 

3) Issue #7: Exam Fees. In July of 2022, the CSLB entered into a master contract held 

by the DCA, joining several boards and bureaus whose license examinations are 

administered by a third-party vendor. Prior to CSLB joining that contract, it was 

responsible for scheduling, creating, developing and administering its own 

examinations. Because the CSLB was involved in all aspects of the examination 

process, any fees associated with examinations were set in statute and paid directly to 

the CSLB by the applicant. However, since the transition to PSI Exams, the existing 
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fee structure for applicant examinations may be outdated. Because of current 

specifications in statute, applicants are paying the CSLB for examination 

administration instead of the vendor PSI Exams.  

 

Current law (BPC § 7137) specifies the fees applicants are required to pay the CSLB 

directly for examinations. CSLB then pays the vendor to administer the examination. 

The vendor in turn charges CSLB for each examination administered. This is a costly 

duplication of effort and paperwork for all parties involved.  

 

Scheduling examinations and retakes requires significant staff resources to receive 

and process payments and then notify candidates and PSI Exams that they may 

schedule a second (or subsequent) examination, some as many as 12 times. 

Applicants could pay a lesser fee for rescheduling an exam or retaking after failing if 

the CSLB was not required to process examination reschedules. BPC § 7137(a)(2) 

specifies the fee to reschedule an examination is $100; however, PSI Exams invoices 

CSLB $45.65 for each standard examination. Therefore, the CSLB has recommended 

in its 2023 Sunset Review Report to amend the License Law to require candidates to 

pay examination fees directly to PSI Exams, instead of the CSLB, saving both time 

and money for the applicant and CSLB staff resources. 

 

Staff Recommendation: The CSLB should advise the Committees on the statutory 

language necessary to make this change. The CSLB should advise the Committees on 

whether outsourcing the administration of the examinations has created efficiencies 

for the CSLB and/or applicants. 

 

Board Response: Outsourcing examinations has resulted in several efficiencies by 

authorizing the CSLB applicant to work with PSI directly to schedule their 

examinations. Efficiencies include greatly expanding the hours and locations 

available for applicants to take examinations, as well as allowing applicants to choose 

their own examination date and schedule and cancel their own examinations. This has 

allowed CSLB to close its test centers and eliminate the need to staff test centers with 

proctors or licensing staff to schedule examinations. The final piece of these 

efficiencies is this proposal that would have the applicant pay the testing 

administrator the examination fee directly, which would be $45 or $90 depending on 

the number of examinations being scheduled.  

 

However, the board has been clear this is an additional fee on applicants they are not 

currently paying ($90 or $45 depending on number of examinations taken).   

 

When CSLB conducted a fee study in 2020 and fees were raised commensurate with 

the cost of current services, it was envisioned that PSI would administer examinations 

at some point in the future. So updated CSLB fees did not include examination 

“administration” costs. 

 

Staff will tender for committee’s consideration draft legislative language to 

accomplish this. 
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Sunset Recommendation: This bill deletes exam fees in statute and requires applicants 

to pay the third-party exam vendor directly.   

 

4) Issue #8: Federally Recognized Tribes. According to information in the CSLB’s 2023 

Sunset Review Report, the CSLB has found that current law does not provide a 

pathway for a federally recognized tribe, seeking to operate as a licensed contractor 

outside of its tribal boundaries, to obtain a contractor license. Unlike many other 

license types in California, which are issued to the individual, (i.e., a nurse, a 

veterinarian, a physician and surgeon, a funeral director, or a cosmetologist), a 

contractor license is issued to the “business.” A CSLB license may be issued to a 

variety of business types including individual owners, partnerships, corporations, and 

limited liability companies. As noted in the CSLB’s 2023 Sunset Review Report, 

several tribes have attempted to apply for a contractor license, but have been denied, 

as there is no authority in current law to issue a license to a tribe. The License Law 

authorizes licenses to be issued to individual sole proprietorships or entities that are 

registered with the Secretary of State.  

 

BPC § 7026, defines a contractor as, “…a person who undertakes to or offers to 

undertake to, or purports to have the capacity to undertake to, or submits a bid to, or 

does himself or herself or by or through others, construct, alter, repair, add to, 

subtract from, improve, …” The term “person” in the definition of a contractor is 

defined in BPC § 7025(b), as “an individual, a firm, partnership, corporation, limited 

liability company, association or other organization, or any combination thereof,”  

 

BPC § 7065(b) specifies that contractor licenses are to be issued to individual owners, 

partnerships, corporations, and limited liability companies. This creates a barrier for 

tribes, which are distinctly not any of the above entities. Further, BPC 7076.2 requires 

licensed contractors that do business as a corporation or limited liability company to 

register with the Secretary of State, and maintain good standing. Failure to do so 

results in suspension.  

 

A tribe may form a corporation as a tribally chartered corporation under tribal law, a 

state chartered corporation formed under state law, or a federally chartered 

corporation under Section 17 of the Indian Reorganization Act. However, the License 

Law only recognizes registration with the Secretary of State as a valid method of 

forming a corporation for purposes of CSLB licenses. As sovereign governments, 

tribes often pursue economic development initiatives by operating for-profit 

businesses. These businesses can, but are not required to, register their businesses 

with the Secretary of State as foreign corporations. Additionally, tribes cannot obtain 

a license as a sole proprietor, because a tribe has a right to self-governance that is not 

afforded to an individual. As a result, CSLB is unable to issue contractor licenses to 

tribal businesses. Federally recognized tribes do not need licenses to operate within 

their boundaries, unless their tribal laws designate such specific requirements.  

 

Other boards and bureaus share similar challenges associated with issuing licenses to 

tribal businesses including the Bureau of Automotive Repair, the Bureau of Security 

and Investigative Services and the Structural Pest Control Board. The CSLB 
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recommends in its 2023 Sunset Review Report to address this issue to expand 

business opportunities and reduce licensure barriers for federally recognized tribes 

conducting business operations outside of its tribal boundaries. 

 

Staff Recommendation: The CSLB should advise the Committees on the appropriate 

legislative changes necessary to permit a tribe or tribally owned business to obtain a 

contractor license. 

 

Board Response: Tribal governments sometimes seek to do business outside of 

federal or tribal land. As such, a contractor’s license is required.  

 

Existing law requires the CSLB to collect a social security number for a sole owner, a 

federal employer identification number for a partnership, and a registration number 

for a corporation or an LLC. However, Tribal organizations are set up as entities 

under Tribal Law as opposed to entities with a Secretary of State registration. Tribal 

organizations have expressed to the CSLB the preference the tribe be licensed rather 

than individual members obtaining a sole ownership or partnership license.  

 

As a result, tribal entities have applied for contractor licensure several times and 

CSLB is unable to issue a license to the tribal entity. This is neither in the interests of 

consumer protection nor the legislature’s policy of reducing barriers to licensure.  

 

The CSLB has been advised that any such proposal may need to include a waiver of 

tribal sovereignty for imposing discipline on the license; the Department of Cannabis 

Control has similar provisions. This would ensure the CSLB could take disciplinary 

action for violations of the License Law as it would with any other licensee.  

 

Staff will tender for committee’s consideration draft legislative language to 

accomplish this. 

 

Sunset Recommendation: This bill expressly authorizes the board to issue a license to 

a federally recognized tribe and makes conforming changes. 

  

5) Issue #12: Contractor Classifications for Public Works Projects. BPC § 7059 

provides the CSLB with authority to adopt rules and regulations pertaining to the 

license classifications, including establishing limits in the field and scope of the 

operations a licensed contractor may engage in based upon the classification of 

license held (“A” General Engineering, “B” General Building, “B-2” Residential 

Remodeling, and “C” Specialty). BPC § 7117.6 specifically prohibits working outside 

of the licensee’s classification and subjects that contractor to enforcement actions by 

the CSLB.  

 

The various classifications of contractor work in which licensees operate are 

consistent amongst all types of projects on which a contractor may engage. 

Regardless of the scope or size of a project, or who hires the licensed contractor (a 

private or public entity), a contractor must abide by all parameters of the License 

Law, including contracting for work within the licensee’s classification. With respect 
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to larger public works projects, BPC § 7059 requires in public works contracts that 

the awarding authority determines the classification necessary to bid and perform the 

project, and prohibits the awarding authority from issuing a contract to a specialty 

contractor whose classification constitutes less than a majority of the project. 

Stakeholders have noted that current law may lead to confusion for awarding agencies 

when determining the appropriate classification as BPC § 7059 specifies the awarding 

authority determines the classification necessary without specifying that those 

classifications should be consistent with the classifications specified in the License 

Law. 

 

Staff Recommendation: The CSLB should advise the Committees if statutory 

clarification would be beneficial to ensure that public works projects are only 

awarded to contractors with the appropriate license type. 

 

Board Response: Statutory clarification would be beneficial as local agencies 

sometimes determine a classification for a public works project that is not the 

appropriate classification. Existing law allows a public agency to determine the 

contractor license classification necessary to bid and perform a public works project. 

CSLB believes this includes the responsibility to select the classification whose trade 

description provided by law that most appropriately fits the work to be bid on the 

project. However, existing law does not say this in the section of law about agencies 

selecting contractors should consider CSLB regulations, so clarification is 

appropriate.   

 

This proposal will clarify existing law to simply state, in the section related to public 

works, that the awarding authority’s determination is based on CSLB’s authority to 

establish license classifications. This will provide clarity for awarding agencies and 

contractors when selecting classifications for which a contract is awarded and not 

impede CSLB’s regulatory ability to ensure licensees are contracting within their 

authorized classification. 

 

Sunset Recommendation: This bill clarifies that in public works contracts, the 

awarding authority must determine the necessary license classification using the 

classifications prescribed in the License Law and related regulations. 

 

6) Issue #17: Technical Clean-up. Since the CSLB’s last sunset review in 2019, the 

CSLB has sponsored or been impacted by numerous pieces of legislation which 

address all or parts of the CSLB’s duties, oversight authority, licensing requirements, 

examination standards, among others. As a result, there may be a number of non-

substantive and technical changes to the License Law to correct deficiencies or other 

inconsistencies in law. Because of numerous statutory changes and implementation 

delays, code sections can become confusing, contain provisions that are no longer 

applicable, make references to outdated report requirements, and cross-reference code 

sections that are no longer relevant. The board’s sunset review is an appropriate time 

to review, recommend, and make necessary statutory changes. 
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Staff Recommendation: The CSLB should recommend cleanup or technical 

amendments to the Committees. 

 

Board Response: Staff will tender for committee’s consideration draft legislative 

language to accomplish this. 

 

Sunset Recommendation: This bill makes various nonsubstantive and conforming 

changes.  

 

Additionally, this bill, responds to a concern that was raised in the board’s December 

2023 sunset report in response to a question asking whether there are existing statutes that 

hinder the efficient and effective processing of applications and/or examinations, to 

which the board replied:  

 

BPC section 7068.1 was amended by AB 830 (Flora, Chapter 376, Statutes of 

2021), to state a duty statement could be required to establish a qualifier’s 

responsibility to exercise supervision and control over the applicant’s projects. 

This amendment created confusion as to whether employers are required to 

submit a duty statement to demonstrate the qualifier’s supervision and control 

over projects. Prior to this amendment, CSLB had existing authority to collect 

detailed information on the qualifying individual’s duties and responsibilities, 

including a duty statement when warranted.  

 

The Licensing Division has fielded calls from applicants, new qualifiers, 

licensees, and construction law attorneys during renewal who believe section 

7068.1 requires a duty statement as a condition of licensure. Additionally, the 

Licensing Division has received duty statements from licensees and applicants 

who believe a duty statement is required to renew their license. AB 830 

created an additional, unnecessary workload and added a burden to employers 

who believe they must create a document to satisfy this requirement. The 

needed clarifying amendment is technical and is, therefore, included in 

CSLB’s technical bill proposal. 

 

This bill deletes the requirement that applicants and licensees submit an 

employment duty statement prepared by the qualifier’s employer or principal and 

redundant language that failure to do so is a violation.  

 

7) Issue #18: Continued Regulation. The safety and welfare of consumers persists under 

the presence of a strong licensing and regulatory structure to oversee the contractor 

profession. The CSLB’s focus is consumer protection, to that end, has demonstrated 

its commitment to ensuring a robust contractor marketplace. Although, there are 

places where the CSLB can improve, including fiscal prudence, strengthening its 

licensing and enforcement objectives and those respective programmatic units, and 

identifying legislative priorities sooner, the CSLB should continue with a four-year 

extension so that the Legislature may once again review whether the issues and 

recommendations in this Background Paper have been addressed. 
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Staff Recommendation: Recommend that the licensing and regulation of contractors 

and HIS continue under the CSLB’s regulatory authority in order to protect the 

interests and safety of the public. The CSLB should continue its work to help address 

the unlicensed economy through its enforcement operations and continue its 

administrative efforts to increase examinations in multiple languages. The CSLB 

should continue to develop staff management policies to ensure it has well-trained 

and cross-trained staff to alleviate pressures when disaster response is necessary. 

Further, the recommendation is for the CSLB to be reviewed by the appropriate 

policy committees of the Legislature once again in four years. 

 

Board Response: The board agrees with this recommendation and thanks the 

committees for the opportunity to participate in the Sunset Review process. 

 

Sunset Recommendation: This bill delays the sunset date for the board by four years 

to January 1, 2029.  

 

REGISTERED SUPPORT: 

Contractors State License Board 

California Legislative Conference of Plumbing, Heating & Piping Industry 

National Electrical Contractors Association 

Northern California Allied Trades 

Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors Association of California 

United Contractors 

Wall and Ceiling Alliance 

Western Electrical Contractors Association 

Western Wall and Ceiling Contractors Association 

Yurok Tribe 

 

REGISTERED OPPOSITION: 

None on file 

Analysis Prepared by: Kaitlin Curry / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301
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Date of Hearing: June 25, 2024 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS 

Marc Berman, Chair 

SB 1456 (Ashby) – As Amended June 19, 2024 

NOTE: This bill is double referred and passed the Assembly Arts, Entertainment, Sports, and 

Tourism Committee as amended on June 18, 2024, by of a vote of 6-0-1.  

SENATE VOTE: 37-0 

SUBJECT: State Athletic Commission Act 

SUMMARY: Extends the California State Athletic Commission by four years to January 1, 

2025, authorizes the commission to establish a process for approving competitors who test 

positive for hepatitis C, increases the minimum purse to $200 and authorizes the commission to 

increase the amount by regulation, requires an onsite ambulance to transport a competitor to the 

hospital if the ringside physician orders it, and increases the boxing pension plan ticket 

assessment.  

EXISTING LAW:   

1) Regulates and licenses combat sports under the Boxing Act, also known as the State Athletic 

Commission Act. (Business and Professions Code (BPC) §§ 18600-18887) 

2) Establishes the State Athletic Commission, until January 1, 2025, within the Department of 

Consumer Affairs (DCA) to administer and enforce the Boxing Act. (BPC § 18602) 

3) Defines “club” and “promoter” synonymously to mean a corporation, partnership, 

association, individual, or other organization which conducts, holds, or gives a boxing or 

martial arts contest, match, or exhibition. (BPC § 18622) 

4) Defines a professional or amateur boxer or martial arts fighter as one who engages in a 

boxing or martial arts contest and who possesses fundamental skills in their respective sport. 

(BPC § 18623) 

5) Defines “contest” and “match” synonymously to mean professional and amateur boxing, 

kickboxing, and martial arts exhibitions, and mean a fight, prizefight, boxing contest, 

pugilistic contest, kickboxing contest, martial arts contest, or sparring match, between two or 

more persons, where full contact is used or intended that may result or is intended to result in 

physical harm to the opponent. (BPC § 18625(a)) 

6) Defines an amateur contest or match to include a contest or match where full contact is used, 

even if unintentionally. (BPC § 18625(b)(1)) 

7) Provides that an amateur contest or match does not include light contact karate, tae kwon do, 

judo, or any other light contact martial arts as approved by the commission and recognized 

by the International Olympic Committee as an Olympic sport. (BPC § 18625(b)(2)) 
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8) Defines “martial arts” as any form of karate, kung fu, tae kwon do, kickboxing or any 

combination of full contact martial arts, including mixed martial arts, or self-defense 

conducted on a full contact basis where a weapon is not used. (BPC §18627(a)) 

9) Defines “kickboxing” as any form of boxing in which blows are delivered with the hand and 

any part of the leg below the hip, including the foot. (BPC § 18627(b)) 

10) Defines “full contact” as the use of physical force in a martial arts contest that may result or 

is intended to result in physical harm to the opponent, including any contact that does not 

meet the definition of light contact or noncontact. (BPC § 18627(c)) 

11) Defines “manager” as any person who does any of the following: 

a) By contract, agreement, or other arrangement with any person, undertakes or has 

undertaken to represent in any way the interest of any professional boxer, or martial arts 

fighter in procuring, or with respect to the arrangement or conduct of, any professional 

contest in which the boxer or fighter is to participate as a contestant; except that the term 

“manager” shall not be construed to mean any attorney licensed to practice in this state 

whose participation in these activities is restricted to representing the legal interests of a 

professional boxer or fighter as a client. Otherwise, an attorney shall be licensed as a 

manager in order to engage in any of the activities described in this section. (BPC § 

18628(a)) 

b) Directs or controls the professional boxing or martial arts activities of any professional 

boxer or martial arts fighter. (BPC § 18628(b)) 

c) Receives or is entitled to receive more than 10 percent of the gross purse of any 

professional boxer or martial arts fighter for any services relating to such person’s 

participation in a professional contest. (BPC § 18628(c)) 

d) Is an officer, director, shareholder, or member of any corporation or organization which 

receives, or is entitled to receive more than 10% of the gross purse of any professional 

boxer or martial arts fighter for any services relating to the person’s participation in a 

professional contest. (BPC § 18628(d)) 

12) Creates the Advisory Committee on Medical and Safety Standards within the commission, 

consisting of six licensed physicians and surgeons appointed by the commission, to study and 

recommend medical and safety standards for the conduct of boxing, wrestling, and martial 

arts contests. (BPC § 18645) 

13) Requires any person applying for a license or the renewal of a license as a professional boxer 

or as a professional martial arts fighter to present documentary evidence satisfactory to 

CSAC that the applicant has been administered a clinical laboratory test to detect the 

presence of antibodies both to the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) and to hepatitis C 

virus (HCV) and to detect the presence of the antigen of hepatitis B virus (HBV) within 30 

days prior to the date of the application and that the results of all three tests are negative. 

(BPC § 18712(a)) 
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14) Requires a promoter to contribute $.88 on every ticket, excluding a working complimentary 

ticket, up to a maximum contribution of $4,600 per show, to the boxing pension plan. (CCR 

tit. 4 § 403(a)) 

THIS BILL:  

1) Extends the operation of the commission and its authority to hire an executive officer and 

specified inspectors by four years to January 1, 2029.  

2) Specifies that the commission’s Advisory Committee on Medical and Safety Standards must 

include at least one licensed physician and surgeon certified in neurology by a specialty 

board that is a member board of the American Board of Medical Specialties.  

3) Requires the commission to establish, by regulation, a review and approval process for 

applicants or licensees who test positive for hepatitis C to compete.  

4) Specifies that a licensee is entitled to a minimum purse of $200 per round and authorizes the 

commission to increase the minimum amount in regulation.  

5) Requires the assigned onsite ambulance to transport a licensee to a trauma center without 

delay if a ringside physician orders immediate medical care.  

6) Specifies that the method of financing the boxing pension plan shall include an assessment in 

the amount of $1 on each ticket sold for a professional boxing contest held in this state, up to 

a maximum contribution of $10,000 dollars.  

7) Makes technical and conforming changes.  

FISCAL EFFECT: According to the Senate Appropriations Committee, the 2024-25 

Governor’s Budget provides approximately $2.22 million (Athletic Commission Fund) and 10.7 

positions to support the continued operation of the commission’s licensing and enforcement 

activities. 

COMMENTS:  

Purpose. This bill is sponsored by the author. According to the author, “this bill is necessary to 

make changes to the California State Athletic Commission to improve oversight of the regulated 

professions under the jurisdiction of the Commission.” 

Background. Each year, the Assembly Committee on Business and Professions and the Senate 

Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development hold joint sunset review 

oversight hearings to review the licensing boards under the Department of Consumer Affairs 

(DCA). The DCA boards are responsible for protecting consumers and the public and regulating 

the professionals they license. The sunset review process provides an opportunity for the 

Legislature, DCA, boards, and stakeholders to discuss the performance of the boards and make 

recommendations for improvements.  

Each board subject to review has an enacting statute that has a repeal date, which means each 

board requires an extension before the repeal date. This bill is one of the “sunset” bills that are 
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intended to extend the repeal date of the boards undergoing sunset review, as well as include the 

recommendations from the sunset review oversight hearings.  

This year, there are five sunset review bills authored by the Assembly Committee on Business 

and Professions and five sunset review bills authored by the Chair of the Senate Business, 

Professions and Economic Development Committee. 

California State Athletic Commission. The commission is responsible for protecting the health 

and safety of its licensees: boxers, kickboxers, and other martial arts athletes. Concerned with 

athlete injuries and death, the public established the commission by initiative in 1924. The 

commission is responsible for implementation and enforcement of the Federal Muhammad Ali 

Boxing Reform Act and the state Boxing Act or State Athletic Commission Act. It provides 

direction, management, and control for professional and amateur boxing, professional and 

amateur kickboxing, and all forms and combinations of full contact martial arts contests, 

including mixed martial arts (MMA) and matches or exhibitions conducted, held or given in 

California. The commission has four main functions: licensing, enforcement, regulating events, 

and administering two “pension” funds, the Professional Boxers’ Pension Fund and the Mixed 

Martial Arts Retirement Benefit Fund. 

More specifically, the commission establishes requirements for licensure, issues and renews 

licenses, approves and regulates events, assigns ringside officials, investigates complaints 

received, and enforces applicable laws by issuing fines and suspending or revoking licenses. In 

2023, the Commission supervised 150 events. 

The current Commission mission statement, as stated in its 2019-2023 Strategic Plan, is as 

follows: 

The California State Athletic Commission is dedicated to the health, safety and 

welfare of participants in regulated competitive sporting events, through ethical 

and professional service. 

The Commission is in the process of updating its Strategic Plan for 2024-2028. 

Current Related Legislation. AB 3251 (Committee on Business and Professions), which is 

pending in the Senate, is the sunset bill for the California Board of Accountancy. 

AB 3252 (Committee on Business and Professions), which is pending in the Senate, is the sunset 

bill for the Court Reporters Board.  

AB 3253 (Committee on Business and Professions), which is pending in the Senate, is the sunset 

bill for the Board for Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, and Geologists.  

AB 3254 (Committee on Business and Professions), which is pending in the Senate, is the sunset 

bill for the Cemetery and Funeral Bureau.  

AB 3255 (Committee on Business and Professions), which is pending in the Senate, is the sunset 

bill for the Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians.  
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SB 1452 (Ashby), which is pending in this committee, is the sunset bill for the California 

Architects Board and the Landscape Architects Technical Committee.  

SB 1453 (Ashby), which is pending in this committee, is the sunset bill for the Dental Board of 

California. 

SB 1454 (Ashby), which is pending in this committee, is the sunset bill for the Bureau of 

Security and Investigative Services.  

SB 1455 (Ashby), which is pending in this committee, is the sunset bill for the Contractors’ State 

License Board.  

Prior Related Legislation. AB 1136 (Haney), Chapter 466, Statutes of 2023, established the 

Mixed Martial Arts Retirement Benefit Fund.  

AB 1703 (Wendy Carrillo), Chapter 591, Statutes of 2023, increases the cap on the 5% fee on 

gate admissions that the commission may collect from a combative sports promotion from 

$100,000 to $200,000. 

AB 1523 (Low), Chapter 464, Statutes of 2019, extended the operation of the CSAC until 

January 1, 2024, and authorizes the Commission to hire a chief athletic inspector and assistant 

chief athletic inspector. 

SB 439 (Hill), Chapter 316, Statutes of 2015, extended the operation of the Commission until 

January 1, 2020, and made changes to the laws governing the Commission’s operations and the 

Commission’s oversight of professional and amateur combat sports, as specified, held or given in 

California. 

SB 309 (Lieu), Chapter 370, Statutes of 2013, extended the operation of the Commission until 

2016. 

AB 1186 (Bonilla), Chapter 506, Statutes of 2013, clarified that the Commission is authorized to 

regulate all forms of full contact martial arts contests involving participants 18 years of age or 

younger, including all forms and combinations of forms of full contact martial arts contests 

deemed by the Commission to be similar, and that an amateur contest includes a contest where 

full contact is used, even if unintentionally. 

AB 2100 (Alejo) of 2012, which was held in the Assembly Appropriations Committee, would 

have required that the Commission, in consultation with the Association of Boxing 

Commissions, to establish and enforce a professional code of conduct, as specified, and that 

persons seeking payment as promoters must make specified disclosures to the Commission prior 

to being compensated.  

SB 543 (Price), Chapter 448, Statutes of 2011, extended the Commission sunset date for 2 years, 

from January 1, 2012 to January 1, 2014. 

SB 294 (Negrete McLeod), Chapter 695, Statutes of 2010, extended the Commission sunset date 

for one year, from January 1, 2011 to January 1, 2012. 
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SB 963 (Ridley-Thomas), Statutes of 2008, extended the Commission sunset date from July 1, 

2009 to January 1, 2011. 

SB 247 (Perata), Chapter 465, Statutes of 2006, reestablished the Commission on January 1, 

2007, as an independent board through July 1, 2009. 

ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT:  

The California Orthopaedic Association writes in support of adding “a neurologist to the State 

Athletic Commission Advisory Committee of Medical and Safety Standards… Since these sports 

do have increased risk of head and neurological damage, we think having a designated slot for a 

neurologist is appropriate and support the legislation.” 

ARGUMENTS IN OPPOSITION: 

None on file 

SUNSET ISSUES FOR CONSIDERATION: 

In preparation for the sunset hearings, committee staff publishes background papers that identify 

outstanding issues relating to the entity being reviewed. The background papers are available on 

the Committee’s website: https://abp.assembly.ca.gov/jointsunsethearings. While all of the issues 

identified in the background paper remain available for discussion, the following are currently 

being addressed in the amendments to this bill or otherwise actively discussed: 

1) Issue #2: Retired Fighters. The commission administers a Boxers’ Pension Plan, which was 

originally established in 1982 aimed at providing monetary resources to retired professional 

boxers. Current law, specifies that, if the fee on admissions for a boxing contest exceeds 

$70,000, the amount in excess of $70,000 shall be paid one-half to the commission and one-

half to the Boxers’ Pension Fund. The law further requires any Boxers’ Pension Plan 

established by the commission to be actuarially sound. The law specifies that the Boxers’ 

Pension Fund is specifically not a retirement fund.  

Commission regulations require a promoter to contribute $.88 on every ticket, excluding a 

working complimentary ticket, up to a maximum contribution of $4,600 per show, to the 

Boxers’ Pension Fund. Regulations further specify that a participating boxer shall become 

vested in the amount credited to the participating boxer's regular account when they have 

fought in at least ten scheduled rounds per calendar year during each of four calendar years 

without an intervening break in service, and have fought in at least 75 scheduled rounds 

without a break in service.  

In 2005, the Bureau of State Audits (BSA) found that the fund was poorly administered and 

very few boxers have or would receive benefits from the Boxers’ Pension Fund. The Auditor 

noted that from 2001-2004, total benefits paid to boxers were $36,000, while administrative 

costs were six times greater. Further, the Auditor also noted that, as of 2003, only 14 percent 

of licensed boxers were vested and their accounts were very low. On December 31, 2005, 

only 43 participants were eligible for retirement benefits totaling just $430,000. BSA 

recommended reducing vesting requirements and increasing the gate fees used to fund the 
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plan. According to a report issued by BSA in January 2011, these recommendations from 

2005 remained unresolved. The commission responded to BSA’s recommendation by stating 

that it would conduct a study on the impact of reducing vesting requirements and pursue 

changes in statute or regulation or an increase in gate fees. 

During the 2013 sunset review oversight of the commission, questions were raised as to 

whether a lump sum payment was a proper benefit to a fighter, or whether there were 

potentially more appropriate means by which to assist these athletes like providing health 

insurance benefits, connecting fighters to coverage for medical services, or directing retired 

boxers to medical coverage options like Covered California so they are able to receive 

ongoing, consistent medical treatment that is not likely covered by a one-time payment. 

During the 2019 sunset review oversight of the commission, it noted that it had increased 

Pension Plan distributions to qualified retired boxers, despite the obstacles in locating 

potential claimants. At the time, there were almost 300 covered boxers and almost $3.8 

million in fund assets, with 11 boxers paid just over $176,000 in 2018. The commission 

advised that establishing a MMA Pension Plan was outlined in its Strategic Plan, but 

questions were raised at the time about how a MMA Pension Plan would be structured, given 

its specificity for boxers, as well as the general challenges associated with underfunded 

pensions. 

A May 2023 Los Angeles Times article, “California created the nation’s only pension for 

aging boxers. But it’s failing many of them”, found that the pension plan does not have 

enough money to pay all unclaimed pensions without reducing the amount of money 

received by fighters who become eligible in future years - with just $294,000 set aside for the 

$2.1 million owed to boxers who haven't been paid. Many boxers have not claimed them 

because, in many cases according to the article, they were unaware that they were even 

eligible for a pension. While the commission has made recent efforts to advertise this benefit 

to boxers, the article states that the commission has waited until a boxer turns 50 before 

attempting to contact them for the first time, and by then, the vast majority of addresses are 

no longer current. The article found that approximately 200 boxers could have claimed a 

pension last year, but only 12 of them did so. The article also noted that the commission’s 

contracted pension administrator, Benefit Resources, has raised alarms in the past about the 

impact of too many boxers coming forward with late claims in the same year which creates 

uncertainty and instability in the fund. 

A subsequent Los Angeles Times article in March 2024, “After losing a world champion 

boxer’s pension records, California finally admits error”, highlighted action taken by the 

commission at its March 4, 2024 meeting to pay a retired boxer a lump sum payment after 

previously denying payment, only to learn that the fighter’s pension records had somehow 

been lost. 

In 2023, the commission sponsored AB 1136 (Carrillo), Chapter 466, Statutes of 2023, to 

establish a MMA Retirement Benefit Fund. The MMA Fund is financed by any of the 

following: 

• An assessment in the amount of one dollar ($1) on each ticket sold for a professional 

MMA contest held in the state. The amount may be raised to up to $2 through 

regulations. 
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• Revenue through the sale of special interest license plates and other commission-branded 

items, including, but not limited to, sport paraphernalia and souvenirs. 

• Contributions by martial artists, managers, promoters, or any one or more of these 

persons, in an amount sufficient to finance the MMA Fund. 

The MMA Fund fighter eligibility and vesting requirements are outlined in the State Act, 

rather than regulations, as the Boxers’ Pension Fund administration is outlined. The 

commission has requested a number of changes related to these programs, including changes 

aimed at increasing revenue for the Boxers’ Pension Fund. 

Staff Recommendation: The commission should advise the committees whether there are 

better means by which to assist retired boxers lead a healthy life after years of participation in 

the sport and ensure that they receive important medical care. The commission should 

provide an update about the ability for the commission’s current structure and revenues to 

support this important work. The commission should provide an update on formal, ongoing 

outreach efforts to boxers and future efforts to MMA athletes. The commission should 

provide an update on necessary statutory changes to the State Act related to these funds and 

programmatic efforts. The committees should evaluate whether the current statute and 

regulations meets the intended purpose of assisting retired athletes. 

Commission Response: The Commission plans to engage and offer financial literacy 

education to athletes in addition to not in lieu of the financial assistance offered by the 

pension/benefit funds. The Commissions revenues fluctuate but providing pension/benefit 

funds remains a top priority. 

Sunset Recommendation: None at this time—discussions are still ongoing.  

2) Issue #3: Codification of Regulations and State Act Modernization. The State Act was 

written decades ago and, while updates have been made over the years, structural changes to 

ensure efficient Commission operations may be needed. Additionally, much of the athlete 

safety and provisions governing events, contracts, and fighter well-being are outlined in 

regulations rather than in the State Act. The Commission has historically been hindered in 

updating its regulations quickly due to delays in the process and general timeframes that may 

not allow the Commission to make appropriate changes in a timely manner. 

Staff Recommendation. The Commission should work with the Committees to amend the 

State Act as necessary in order to modernize the law and further promote the clear and 

effective regulation of events, prioritizing the safety and welfare of athlete licensees. 

Commission Response: Codification of regulations would be helpful to the Commission, 

especially with pending regulations.  In addition, Hepatitis C treatments are now different 

than when the Boxing Act was last amended on this statute, and an amendment recognizing 

new treatments would be welcome. 
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Sunset Recommendation: Authorize the commission to develop a process for approving 

fighters who may have hepatitis C antibodies but are otherwise contagious and include the 

following issues: 

a) Minimum Purse. In response to concerns that athletes were not provided a minimum 

purse for fighting and exploitation by promoters who may pay them as little as $1.00 

instead of an industry minimum, the commission promulgated regulations to set a 

minimum purse amount of $100 per round. The commission believes this amount should 

be updated to $200 and included in the State Act. 

 

Recommendations: Increase the minimum purse to $200 and authorize the Commission to 

increase that amount in regulations.  

b) Ambulance Transport. Commission regulations require an ambulance staffed by at least 

one paramedic is available at the site during and after an event and that it remains on site 

until released by a ringside physician. Commission regulations require an ambulance at 

events, but concerns have been raised that fighter safety is significantly impacted when 

paramedics do not transport injured fighters in a timely manner to receive critical care. It 

would be helpful for the committees to understand what discussions the commission has 

held with stakeholders to ensure that fighter safety is prioritized and that appropriate 

judgment is made swiftly to protect these individuals. It would be helpful for the 

committees to understand what steps need to be taken so that injured fighters are 

transported from events as necessary. 

Recommendations: Require the onsite ambulance to take fighters to the hospital if the 

ringside physician orders it.  

3) Issue #5: Fluidity in Revenues. The commission is not able to adequately predict revenues 

over time in the manner that other licensing boards do, given the fluid nature of the 

commission licensing revenues and fluctuations in the sports that may dictate when events do 

or do not take place. The budget process requires that estimates be made many months in 

advance in order for the commission’s spending authority to be approved. The commission 

faces a completely different fund situation depending on events that are held in California. 

The issue of the commission’s staffing has continued to be of concern during past sunset 

review oversight discussions, audits, and budget discussions about appropriate expenditures. 

Athletic inspectors in particular perform a critical function in overseeing the safety of events 

and well-being of licensees at events. Inspectors facilitate key aspects of an event, including 

all of the pre-bout activities like weigh-ins and proper hand wrapping and ensuring only 

authorized individuals are in locker rooms. Inspectors also must be present in order for 

fighters to get paid after a fight. If too few athletic inspectors are assigned to an event, key 

fighter safety protections may be overlooked. 

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and issuance of a statewide directive to prohibit all major 

gatherings, all major sporting events were cancelled, which in turn impacted the 

commission’s ability to generate revenue mid-way through fiscal year 2019-20 and 

throughout 2020-21. During this time, the Commission’s revenue dropped to approximately 

$1.8 million in 2019-20 and to only $894,000 in 2020-21. During this time, the commission 



SB 1456 
 Page 10 

 

relied on its fund reserves and various cost saving measures to support its operations during 

the height of the pandemic. Between fiscal years 2019-20 and 2020-21, the commission’s 

fund reserves sharply dropped from $1.6 million (12.1 months in reserve) in 2019-20 to 

$757,000 (4.0 months in reserve) by the end of 2020-21. 

In 2021-22, major combat sporting events were allowed to resume in California and the 

commission generated roughly $1.9 million in revenues, a significant improvement from the 

prior year. However, the commission required additional spending authority of $340,000 to 

pay the Office of the Attorney General for unanticipated litigation costs which further 

depleted the commission’s fund reserves to $343,000 (1.7 months in reserve) by the end of 

the fiscal year. Based on expenditure and revenue projections, the commission is anticipated 

to generate $1.9 million in revenues and expend approximately $2.4 million, which will 

cause a fund insolvency of $79,000. 

The commission sponsored AB 1703 (Carrillo), Chapter 591, Statutes of 2023, which 

increased the cap on the amount of admissions revenue that promoters must report from 

$2,000,000 to $4,000, and increased the cap on the admissions revenue fee from $100,000 to 

$200,000. The commission believes this will help to ensure that it remains solvent, however, 

with rising costs of doing business for state agencies, increased administrative workload at 

the commission level related to a new MMA Fund and a long overdue business 

modernization project, as well as other important initiatives the commission is undertaking 

(such as working to provide financial literacy information to fighters), it would be helpful for 

the committees to understand what additional resources, revenues, and adjustments the 

commission needs to continue its critical work. 

Staff Recommendation: The commission should explain whether it can effectively protect 

fighters and oversee events with its current spending authority and other staffing needs it has 

to improve operations and promote fighter safety. The commission should advise the 

committees if its inability to adjust expenditures on an ongoing basis, as well as budget 

process delays in changing its spending authority on a regular basis, impede its health and 

safety efforts. 

Commission Response: The Commission requests a continuous appropriation. As the 

Legislature has noted multiple times, the Commission has very unpredictable revenue.   

The expenditures are also unpredictable in regard to events. The stable expenditures of office 

staff, rent, and Pro Rata are only about half of the total expenditures. The remaining 

expenditures fluctuates based on the industry.  If the Commission has a high-volume year, 

expenditures (as well as revenue) will be higher.  Budgeting for the sports entertainment 

industry among the Commissions 43 licensed promoters is an educated guess at best.  A 

continuous appropriation would be prudent and helpful. 

Sunset Recommendation: None at this time—discussions are ongoing.   

4) Issue #8: Technical Changes. There are instances in the State Act where technical 

clarifications may improve commission operations and application of the statutes governing 

the commission’s work. 
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Staff Recommendation: The committees may wish to amend the Act to include technical 

clarifications. 

Commission Response: The Commission agrees with Technical Changes. 

Sunset Recommendation: Include technical changes.  

5) Issue #9: Continued Regulation by the Commission. California’s professional and amateur 

boxers, kickboxers and mixed martial arts athletes are better served with appropriate 

oversight by a commission, and the state benefits from holding these events in California. If 

the commission goes away, large scale events held in communities throughout the state will 

not happen, taking with them the economic windfall to local businesses. Most significantly, 

fighting will still take place, in an underground, unregulated environment that is not 

conducive to protecting athletes and promoting career opportunities and abilities of many 

young people. The most important work of the commission happens on the ground level, 

managing and overseeing events and promoting the well-being of the competitors 

participating in combat sporting events in California. While the commission has struggled 

with certain functions over the years like ensuring retired fighters receive benefits, the 

current membership and management have shown a commitment to improve the 

commission’s overall efficiency and effectiveness and are working cooperatively with the 

Legislature and the committees to bring about necessary changes. 

Staff Recommendation: The commission should be continued, and reviewed again on a future 

date to be determined.  

Sunset Recommendation: Extend the commission by four years.  

REGISTERED SUPPORT: 

California Orthopaedic Association 

REGISTERED OPPOSITION: 

None on file 

Analysis Prepared by: Vincent Chee / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301
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Date of Hearing: June 25, 2024 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS 

Marc Berman, Chair 

SB 1498 (Ashby) – As Amended June 17, 2024 

NOTE: This bill is double referred and if passed by this Committee will be re-referred to the 

Assembly Committee on Judiciary.  

SENATE VOTE: 38-0 

SUBJECT: Cannabis and industrial hemp: advertising: civil action. 

SUMMARY: Authorizes state and local prosecutors to bring an action for injunctive relief and 

civil penalties against individuals engaged in commercial cannabis activity for violations of laws 

intended to restrict the advertising and marketing of cannabis products to minors by licensed 

cannabis businesses, and extends those laws to apply to individuals operating without a license. 

EXISTING LAW:   

1) Enacts the Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSA) to 

provide for a comprehensive regulatory framework for the cultivation, distribution, transport, 

storage, manufacturing, processing, and sale of medicinal and adult-use cannabis.  (Business 

and Professions Code (BPC) §§ 26000 et seq.)  

2) Establishes the Department of Cannabis Control (DCC) within the Business, Consumer 

Services, and Housing Agency for purposes of administering MAUCRSA.  (BPC § 26010)  

3) Establishes grounds for disciplinary action against cannabis licensees, including failures to 

comply with state requirements as well as local laws and ordinances.  (BPC § 26030) 

4) Authorizes the DCC to issue a citation to a licensee or unlicensed person for violating any 

provision of MAUCRSA, which may include an order of abatement or an administrative fine 

of up to $5,000 per day of violation by licensees and up to $30,000 per day of violation by 

unlicensed persons. (BPC § 26031.5) 

5) Prohibits a person or entity from engaging in commercial cannabis activity without a state 

license issued by the DCC. (BPC § 26037.5) 

6) Authorizes the Attorney General or a city or county counsel or city prosecutor to bring an 

action against persons engaged in unlicensed commercial cannabis activity for civil penalties 

of up to three times the amount of the license fee per day of violation. (BPC § 26038) 

7) Authorizes a cannabis licensee to bring an action in superior court against a person engaging 

in commercial cannabis activity without a license.  (BPC § 26038.1) 

8) Prohibits cannabis and cannabis product packages and labels from being made to be 

attractive to children.  (BPC § 26120) 
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9) Requires the DCC to set packaging and labeling standards for manufactured cannabis 

products, including a requirement that products not be designed to be appealing to children or 

easily confused with commercially sold candy or other non-cannabis foods.  (BPC § 26130) 

10) Defines “advertisement” as any written or verbal statement, illustration, or depiction which is 

calculated to induce sales of cannabis or cannabis products, with specified examples and 

exceptions.  (BPC § 26150(b)) 

11) Defines “marketing” as any act or process of promoting or selling cannabis or cannabis 

products, including development of products specifically designed to appeal to certain 

demographics.  (BPC § 26150(e)) 

12) Requires that all advertisements identify the license number of the licensee responsible for its 

content, requires any advertising or marketing placed in broadcast, cable, radio, print, and 

digital communications to only be displayed where at least 71.6 percent of the audience is 

reasonably expected to be 21 years of age or older, and requires any direct advertising or 

marketing to verify that the recipient is 21 years of age or older.  (BPC § 26151) 

13) Prohibits a cannabis licensee from doing any of the following: 

a) Advertising or marketing in a manner that is false or untrue in any material particular, or 

that, irrespective of falsity, directly, or by ambiguity, omission, or inference, or by the 

addition of irrelevant, scientific, or technical matter, tends to create a misleading 

impression. 

b) Publishing or disseminating advertising or marketing containing any statement 

concerning a brand or product that is inconsistent with any statement on its labeling. 

c) Publishing or disseminating advertising or marketing containing any statement, design, 

device, or representation which tends to create the impression that the cannabis originated 

in a particular place or region, unless the label of the advertised product bears an 

appellation of origin, and such appellation of origin appears in the advertisement. 

d) Advertising or marketing on a billboard or similar advertising device located on an 

Interstate Highway or on a State Highway which crosses the California border. 

e) Advertising or marketing cannabis or cannabis products in a manner intended to 

encourage persons under 21 years of age to consume cannabis or cannabis products. 

f) Publishing or disseminating advertising or marketing that is attractive to children. 

g) Advertising or marketing cannabis or cannabis products on an advertising sign within 

1,000 feet of a day care center, school providing instruction in kindergarten or any grades 

1 to 12, inclusive, playground, or youth center. 

h) Publishing or disseminating advertising or marketing while the licensee’s license is 

suspended. 

(BPC § 26152) 
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14) Requires the advertisement and marketing of an integrated cannabis vaporizer to provide 

specified statements about how to correctly dispose of those products.  (BPC § 26152.1) 

15) Prohibits a cannabis licensee from publishing or disseminating advertising or marketing 

containing any health-related statement that is untrue or tends to create a misleading 

impression as to the effects on health of cannabis consumption.  (BPC § 26154) 

16) Exempts from the prohibition against advertising within 1,000 feet of a day care, school, 

playground, or youth center the placement of advertising signs inside a licensed premises that 

are not visible by normal unaided vision from a public place, provided that such advertising 

signs do not advertise cannabis or cannabis products in a manner intended to encourage 

persons under 21 years of age to consume cannabis or cannabis products.  (BPC § 26155) 

17) Specifies that MAUCRSA does not supersede or limit the authority of a local jurisdiction to 

adopt and enforce local ordinances regulating commercial cannabis licensees. (BPC § 26200) 

18) Authorizes the legislative body of a local agency, by ordinance, to make any violation of any 

ordinance enacted by the local agency subject to an administrative fine or penalty. 

(Government Code (GOV) § 53069.4) 

19) Makes a violation of a city or county ordinance a misdemeanor unless it is made an infraction 

by ordinance and specifies that violations may be prosecuted by local authorities in the name 

of the people of the State of California, or redressed by civil action.  (GOV § 25132) 

20) Defines “industrial hemp” as a crop that is limited to types of the plant Cannabis sativa L. 

having no more than three-tenths of 1 percent THC contained in the dried flowering tops, 

whether growing or not; the seeds of the plant; the resin extracted from any part of the plant; 

and every compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the plant, its 

seeds or resin produced therefrom.  (Health and Safety Code (HSC) § 11018.5(a)) 

21) Exempts industrial hemp from MAUCRSA.  (HSC § 11018.5(b)) 

22) Establishes a regulatory framework for industrial hemp under the Sherman Food, Drug, and 

Cosmetic Law administered by the California Department of Public Health, under which 

manufacturers of products containing industrial hemp are required to obtain a process food 

registration and comply with good manufacturing practices.  (HSC §§ 111920 et seq.) 

23) Prohibits industrial hemp products from being labeled or advertised with any health-related 

statement that is untrue in any particular manner as to the health effects of consuming 

products containing industrial hemp.  (HSC § 110407) 

24) Prohibits hemp manufacturers from directly targeting advertising or marketing to children or 

to persons who are pregnant or breastfeeding.  (HSC § 111926) 

25) Requires industrial hemp products to meet specified packaging and labeling requirements.  

(HSC § 111926.3) 

26) Prohibits inhalable hemp products from being sold to consumers under 21 years of age.  

(HSC § 111929) 
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THIS BILL:  

1) Extends the application of existing prohibitions against specified methods and forms of 

advertising or marketing by cannabis licensees to also apply to persons engaged in 

commercial cannabis activity without a license. 

2) Adds similar prohibitions to the advertising or marketing of industrial hemp products. 

3) Authorizes the Attorney General, a district attorney, a city attorney, or a county counsel to 

bring and maintain an action to redress a violation of the following existing prohibitions: 

a) Advertising or marketing on a billboard or similar advertising device located on an 

Interstate Highway or on a State Highway which crosses the California border. 

b) Advertising or marketing cannabis or cannabis products in a manner intended to 

encourage persons under 21 years of age to consume cannabis or cannabis products. 

c) Publishing or disseminating advertising or marketing that is attractive to children. 

d) Advertising or marketing cannabis or cannabis products on an advertising sign within 

1,000 feet of a day care center, school providing instruction in kindergarten or any grades 

1 to 12, inclusive, playground, or youth center. 

4) Provides that the Attorney General, a district attorney, a city attorney, or a county counsel 

who prevails in an action under the bill shall be awarded injunctive relief. 

5) Additionally provides that the Attorney General, a district attorney, a city attorney, or a 

county counsel may also be awarded either or both of the following: 

a) Reasonable attorney’s fees and costs. 

b) Civil penalties of not more than $5,000 per violation by a licensed cannabis business and 

not more than $30,000 per violation by an unlicensed cannabis business or a business 

engaged in the sale of products that contain industrial hemp. 

6) Provides that the remedies provided under the bill are in addition to any other remedies 

otherwise provided in any other law and that the bill does not prohibit subsequent actions to 

redress recurring or continuing violations pursuant to other laws. 

7) Requires the court to consider specified factors when determining whether to award 

reasonable attorney’s fees and costs and civil penalties, and in assessing the amount of any 

civil penalty, including the gravity of the violation, the defendant’s good faith or lack thereof, 

and the defendant’s history of previous violations. 

FISCAL EFFECT: According to the Senate Committee on Appropriations, unknown, 

potentially significant workload cost pressures to the courts to the extent the bill results in 

increased actions brought against cannabis licensees engaged in prohibited cannabis advertising 

and marketing activities; no significant fiscal impact anticipated for the DCC or the Attorney 

General. 
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COMMENTS:  

Purpose. This bill is sponsored by the author, who is Chair of the Senate Committee on 

Business, Professions, and Economic Development.  According to the author: 

“SB 1498 is a bill that simply seeks to keep our children safe, and ensure Prop 64 is 

implemented as intended. Current law specifies rules that licensees must adhere to for the 

advertising of cannabis, including prohibiting advertising that is attractive to children. While 

illegal, some cannabis operators choose to willfully violate these prohibitions by continuing 

to advertise content that’s attractive to children. This leaves the promise of Proposition 64, to 

protect youth from exposure to cannabis advertising that is attractive to children, unfulfilled. 

SB 1498 allows enforcement from the Attorney General, a District Attorney, or a City 

Attorney when a cannabis licensee is in violation of these cannabis advertising laws 

protecting youth.” 

Background. 

Brief History of Cannabis Regulation in California.  Consumption of cannabis was first made 

lawful in California in 1996 when voters approved Proposition 215, or the Compassionate Use 

Act.  Proposition 215 protected qualified patients and caregivers from prosecution relating to the 

possession and cultivation of cannabis for medicinal purposes, if recommended by a physician.  

This regulatory scheme was further refined by Senate Bill 420 (Vasconcellos) in 2003, which 

established the state’s Medical Marijuana Program. 

After several years of lawful cannabis cultivation and consumption under state law, a lack of a 

uniform regulatory framework led to persistent problems across the state.  Cannabis’s continued 

illegality under the federal Controlled Substances Act, which classifies cannabis as a Schedule I 

drug ineligible for prescription, generated periodic enforcement activities by the United States 

Department of Justice.  Threat of action by the federal government created apprehension within 

California’s cannabis community. 

After several prior attempts to improve the state’s regulation of cannabis, the Legislature passed 

the Medical Marijuana Regulation and Safety Act—subsequently retitled the Medical Cannabis 

Regulation and Safety Act (MCRSA)—in 2015.  MCRSA established, for the first time, a 

comprehensive statewide licensing and regulatory framework for the cultivation, manufacture, 

transportation, testing, distribution, and sale of medicinal cannabis.  While entrusting state 

agencies to promulgate extensive regulations governing the implementation of the state’s 

cannabis laws, MCRSA fully preserved local control. Under MCRSA, local governments may 

establish their own ordinances to regulate medicinal cannabis activity.  Local jurisdictions could 

also choose to ban cannabis establishments altogether. 

Not long after the Legislature enacted MCRSA, California voters passed Proposition 64, or the 

Adult Use of Marijuana Act (AUMA).  The passage of the AUMA legalized cannabis for non-

medicinal adult use in a private home or licensed business; allowed adults 21 and over to possess 

and give away up to approximately one ounce of cannabis and up to eight grams of concentrate; 

and permitted the personal cultivation of up to six plants.  The proponents of the AUMA sought 

to make use of much of the regulatory framework and authorities set out by MCRSA while 

making a few notable changes to the structure still being implemented. 
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In the spring of 2017, Senate Bill 94 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review) was passed by to 

reconcile the previously distinct systems for the regulation, licensing, and enforcement of legal 

cannabis that had been established under the respective authorities of MCRSA and the AUMA.  

The single consolidated system established by the bill—formally referred to as the Medicinal and 

Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSA)—created a unified series of 

cannabis laws.  On January 16, 2019, the state’s three cannabis licensing authorities—the Bureau 

of Cannabis Control, the California Department of Food and Agriculture, and the California 

Department of Public Health—officially announced that the Office of Administrative Law had 

approved final cannabis regulations promulgated by the three agencies respectively. 

In early 2021, the California Department of Finance released trailer bill language to create a new 

department with centralized authority for cannabis licensing and enforcement activities.  The 

DCC was created through a consolidation of the three prior licensing authorities’ cannabis 

programs.  As of July 1, 2021, the DCC has been the single entity responsible for administering 

and enforcing the majority of MAUCRSA.  New regulations went into effect on January 1, 2023 

to effectuate the organizational consolidation and make other changes to cannabis regulation. 

Advertising and Marketing of Cannabis Products.  Prior to the AUMA being passed by the 

voters, arguments both for and against the initiative frequently focused on a debate over whether 

Proposition 64 would adequately protect children from exposure to the cannabis industry.  In the 

official text of Proposition 64, the purpose and intent of the initiative was stated to include an 

intention to “prohibit the marketing and advertising of nonmedical marijuana to persons younger 

than 21 years old or near schools or other places where children are present.”  Proposition 64 

included a number of specified safeguards for minors, including: 

 Prohibiting consumption of cannabis outside a residence within 1,000 feet of a school, 

day care center, or youth center while children are present. 

 Requiring child-resistant packaging for cannabis products. 

 Prohibiting packages and labels from being made to be attractive to children. 

 Providing that cannabis products shall not be designed to be appealing to children or 

easily confused with commercially sold candy or foods that do not contain marijuana. 

 Prohibiting cannabis businesses from being located within 600 feet of schools and other 

areas where children congregate. 

 Authorizing a licensing authority to deny a license if there is an unreasonable risk of 

minors being exposed to cannabis or cannabis products. 

 Expressly prohibiting businesses selling recreational cannabis to minors under 21 or 

employing minors under 21. 

The AUMA further required that “any advertising or marketing involving direct, individualized 

communication or dialogue controlled by the licensee shall utilize a method of age affirmation to 

verify that the recipient is 21 years of age or older prior to engaging in such communication or 

dialogue controlled by the licensee.” 
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Additionally, Proposition 64 included a prohibition against advertisers publishing or 

disseminating “advertising or marketing containing symbols, language, music, gestures, cartoon 

characters or other content elements known to appeal primarily to persons below the legal age of 

consumption.”  This language was heavily simplified when MCRSA and the AUMA were 

reconciled through the enactment of SB 94.  Under MAUCRSA, licensees are instead prohibited 

more generally from publishing or disseminating “advertising or marketing that is attractive to 

children.”  However, similar language was incorporated into regulations previously promulgated 

by the Bureau of Cannabis Control in rules governing advertisements placed in broadcast, cable, 

radio, print, and digital communications. 

MAUCRSA currently places a series of prohibitions on specified forms of advertising and 

marketing by individuals and entities licensed by the DCC.  Cannabis licensees may not do any 

of the following: 

 Advertise or market in a manner that is false or untrue in any material particular, or that, 

irrespective of falsity, directly, or by ambiguity, omission, or inference, or by the addition of 

irrelevant, scientific, or technical matter, tends to create a misleading impression. 

 Publish or disseminate advertising or marketing containing any statement concerning a brand 

or product that is inconsistent with any statement on the labeling thereof. 

 Publish or disseminate advertising or marketing containing any statement, design, device, or 

representation which tends to create the impression that the cannabis originated in a 

particular place or region, unless the label of the advertised product bears an appellation of 

origin, and such appellation of origin appears in the advertisement. 

 Advertise or market on a billboard or similar advertising device located on an Interstate 

Highway or on a State Highway which crosses the California border. 

 Advertise or market cannabis or cannabis products in a manner intended to encourage 

persons under 21 years of age to consume cannabis or cannabis products. 

 Publish or disseminate advertising or marketing that is attractive to children. 

 Advertise or market cannabis or cannabis products on an advertising sign within 1,000 feet of 

a day care center, school providing instruction in kindergarten or any grades 1 to 12, 

inclusive, playground, or youth center. 

 Publish or disseminate advertising or marketing while the licensee’s license is suspended. 

Following the consolidation of the state’s cannabis regulators into the DCC in 2021, new 

regulations were proposed to simplify and streamline rules relating to licensed cannabis activity.  

These regulations scaled down the number of examples of what types of advertising would be 

deemed “attractive to children.”  The specific examples of “toys, inflatables, movie characters, 

[and] cartoon characters” were replaced with a prohibition against cartoons, depictions of 

minors, or “any likeness to images, characters, or phrases that are popularly used to advertise to 

children.” 
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The revised regulations also incorporated other prohibition language previously applied only to 

labeling requirements into the more general advertising restrictions.  This includes prohibitions 

against products containing any imitation of candy packaging or labeling or using the term 

“candy” or “candies” or variants in spelling such as “kandy” or “kandeez.”  The regulations also 

prohibit the advertising of free cannabis goods or accessories. 

While these prohibitions are contained in provisions of the DCC’s regulations relating to 

advertising and marketing, these prohibitions apply to the packaging and labeling of cannabis 

goods as well.  MAUCRSA requires the DCC to promulgate regulations to set standards for the 

manufacturing, packaging, and labeling of all manufactured cannabis products.  The DCC’s 

regulations specifically cross-reference the advertising content restrictions in language 

prohibiting cannabis goods labeling from containing “content that is, or is designed to be, 

attractive to individuals under the age of 21.”  The DCC’s regulations further prohibit the selling 

of “any cannabis product that the Department determines, on a case-by-case basis,” to be either 

“attractive to children” based on the above criteria, or “easily confused with commercially 

available foods that do not contain cannabis.” 

The DCC’s regulations include a number of additional provisions relating to cannabis 

advertising.  Advertisements placed in broadcast, cable, radio, print, and digital communications 

may only be displayed after a licensee has obtained reliable up-to-date audience composition 

data demonstrating that at least 71.6 percent of the audience viewing the advertising or 

marketing is reasonably expected to be 21 years of age or older.  These advertisements also may 

not depict images of minors, objects likely to be appealing to minors, or statements regarding 

free cannabis goods or giveaways. 

The DCC’s regulations also contain more specific requirements for outdoor advertising of 

cannabis, including billboards.  The DCC requires that all outdoor signs must be affixed to a 

building or permanent structure.  Prior cannabis regulations narrowed the AUMA’s prohibition 

against advertising on a billboard located on a highway to prohibit only advertisements “within a 

15-mile radius of the California border.”  On January 11, 2021, the San Luis Obispo Superior 

Court entered a summary judgement that this regulation was “clearly inconsistent with the 

Advertising Placement Statute, expanding the scope of permissible advertising to most of 

California’s State and Interstate Highway system, in direct contravention of the statute.”  In 

response, the DCC issued a notice to licensees, informing them that “to comply with the law and 

regulations, licensees may not place new advertising or marketing on any interstate highway or 

state highway that crosses the California border.” 

The author of this bill intends to enhance the state’s enforcement of the advertising and 

marketing restrictions under MAUCRSA by expressly authorizing the Attorney General or a 

specified local prosecutor to bring an action for injunctive relief and civil penalties for violations 

of the prohibitions aimed specifically and preventing the exposure of children to cannabis 

advertisements.  While the DCC can already take action against licensees for such violations, 

extending enforcement authority to other prosecuting agencies is intended to increase the 

likelihood that these laws will be adequately enforced.  Because the bill would allow for these 

public prosecutors to be reimbursed for their reasonable attorney’s fees and costs in addition to 

injunctive relief and the collection of civil penalties, there would arguably be a strong incentive 

for actions to be brought that does not currently exist with the DCC as the only specified 

enforcement entity. 
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Enforcement Against Unlicensed Activity.  A report published by the Reason Foundation 

estimates that as much as two-thirds of cannabis sales in California take place on the illicit 

market.  This is consistent with widespread consensus that illicit cannabis continues to proliferate 

notwithstanding the enactment of MAUCRSA.  In addition to unlicensed persons engaging in 

unlawful cannabis activity, there have also been cases where licensed cannabis businesses run a 

“back door” operation of illicit cannabis commerce in addition to their licensed activity. 

Because unlicensed cannabis products do not receive state oversight and enforcement of various 

health and safety requirements, including laboratory testing, consumption of unlicensed cannabis 

products can pose a significant risk to consumers.  In August 2019, the number of emergency 

department visits related to cannabis vaping products sharply increased, with a total of 2,807 

hospitalized cases or deaths reported to federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in the 

United States.  It is believed that much of this “vaping crisis” was the result of untested, 

unlicensed manufactured cannabis products. 

Enforcement against the illicit market has attracted significant legislative attention, particularly 

within the California State Assembly.  A task force was recently established through the 2022-23 

Budget process to promote communication between state and local entities engaged in the 

regulation of commercial cannabis activity and facilitate cooperation to enforce applicable state 

and local laws.  Existing law authorizes the DCC to take enforcement action for violations of 

MAUCRSA and issue a citation of up to $30,000 for unlicensed individuals.  This authority 

allows the DCC to issue a citation to licensees who sell cannabis products that do not comply 

with MAUCRSA, or to illicit market operators. 

This bill would expressly provide that unlicensed persons or entities engaged in commercial 

cannabis activities are subject to the same prohibitions regarding advertisement and marketing to 

minors.  While this is arguably the case under current law for purposes of enforcement by the 

DCC, applying those restrictions to unlicensed activity enable the provisions of this bill 

empowering public prosecutors to bring enforcement actions to also apply to the illicit market.  

This bill would therefore both hold the illicit market to the same standards as licensees and 

provide additional resources for enforcement against unlicensed activity. 

Industrial Hemp.  Botanically speaking, both industrial hemp and what has historically been 

referred to as marijuana are members of the same plant species, Cannabis sativa.  Under 

California law, the term “cannabis” typically refers to varieties of the species that contain 

sufficient levels of the cannabinoid THC to produce an intoxicating psychoactive effect, or 

“high”; this plant and its associated products are regulated by the DCC under MAUCRSA.  

Hemp, meanwhile, is commonly regarded more as an agricultural plant and has historically been 

used for products such as paper, textiles, cosmetics, and fabric. 

Notwithstanding the biological and chemical similarities of cannabis and hemp, hemp products 

are widely considered “non-cannabis goods” for purposes of MAUCRSA.  However, concerns 

have recently been raised regarding a perceived proliferation of intoxicating hemp products.  The 

California Cannabis Industry Association (CCIA) issued a white paper in October of 2022 titled 

Pandora’s Box: The Dangers of a National, Unregulated, Hemp-Derived Intoxicating 

Cannabinoid Market.  The CCIA report argued that loopholes in the 2018 Farm Bill, which 

defined industrial hemp as having no more than 0.3 percent delta-9 THC content by dry weight, 

inadvertently led to the proliferation of intoxicating hemp products. 
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In recognition of the rise in industrial hemp products producing a psychoactive effect similar to 

cannabis, this bill would expand the list of restrictions on the advertising and marketing of 

industrial hemp products to more closely resemble the existing rules for cannabis products under 

MAUCRSA.  Existing law already prohibits a hemp manufacturer from directly target 

advertising or marketing to children or to persons who are pregnant or breastfeeding and requires 

any advertising or marketing in public communications to be displayed only where at least 70 

percent of the audience is reasonably expected to be 18 years of age or older.  This bill would 

additionally prohibit a manufacturer, distributor, or seller of industrial hemp from doing any of 

the following:   

1) Advertise or market on a billboard or similar advertising device located on an interstate 

highway or on a state highway that crosses the California border. 

2) Advertise or market cannabis or cannabis products in a manner intended to encourage 

persons under 21 years of age to consume industrial hemp products. 

3) Publish or disseminate advertising or marketing that is attractive to children. 

4) Advertise or market industrial hemp products on an advertising sign within 1,000 feet of a 

daycare center, school providing instruction in kindergarten or any of grades 1 to 12, 

inclusive, playground, or youth center. 

This language will create greater regulatory parity between cannabis businesses under 

MAUCRSA and industrial hemp businesses, including those potentially selling intoxicating 

products.  The same language authorizing the Attorney General or other specified public 

prosecutors to take action for violations of advertising and marketing restrictions would then be 

applied to violations of those similar rules for hemp businesses.  The bill would therefore 

arguably serve to further protect minors from exposure to intoxicating products regardless of 

their classification as cannabis or industrial hemp. 

Current Related Legislation. 

SB 820 (Alvarado-Gil) would establish a process for the DCC or a local jurisdiction to seize 

specified property where commercial cannabis activity is conducted without a license.  This bill 

is pending in the Assembly Committee on Public Safety. 

AB 2223 (Aguiar-Curry) would allow for cannabis licensees to manufacture, distribute, or sell 

products that contain industrial hemp and places additional restrictions on industrial hemp 

products containing THC or comparable cannabinoids.  This bill is pending in the Senate 

Committee on Business, Professions, and Economic Development. 

Prior Related Legislation. 

SB 540 (Laird, Chapter 491, Statutes of 2023) required the DCC to regularly reevaluate its 

regulations and determine whether additional warning labels are necessary to reflect evolving 

science regarding the risks of cannabis use and to create a brochure that includes steps for safer 

use of cannabis. 
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AB 1207 (Irwin) of 2023 would have placed additional restrictions on the advertising, marketing, 

packaging, and labeling of cannabis and cannabis products.  This bill was vetoed by the 

Governor. 

AB 794 (Flora) of 2023 would have required all cannabis advertisements and marketing to 

include the licensee’s name in addition to the licensee number, and would prohibit a technology 

platform or an outdoor advertising company from displaying an advertisement unless the 

advertisement displays that licensee’s name and license number.  This bill died in this committee 

pursuant to Joint Rule 56. 

AB 273 (Irwin) of 2021 would have placed numerous restrictions on the content of outdoor 

advertising by cannabis businesses and required a licensing authority to suspend the license of 

any licensee who violates those restrictions for one year.  This bill failed passage in this 

committee. 

AB 1417 (B. Rubio) of 2019 would have established civil penalties for violating specified 

cannabis marketing or advertising requirements, and would have specified disbursement 

procedures for civil penalties.  This bill was held under submission on the Senate Appropriations 

Committee’s suspense file. 

AB 2899 (B. Rubio, Chapter 923, Statutes of 2018) prohibits a licensee from publishing or 

disseminating advertisements or marketing of cannabis and cannabis products while the 

licensee’s license is suspended.  

SB 94 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review, Chapter 27, Statutes of 2017) combined 

AUMA and MCRSA into a unified system for the regulation of cannabis, resulting in 

MAUCRSA. 

ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT:  

Public Health Institute (PHI) supports this bill, writing: “AB 1498 will create urgently needed 

authority for the Attorney General, a district attorney, a city attorney or a county counsel to bring 

and maintain an action to redress a violation of these marketing and advertising restrictions on 

attractiveness to children. It does not create any obligations to do so. This creates an additional 

pathway to protect our children by holding the subset of producers acting irresponsibly to 

account.” 

ARGUMENTS IN OPPOSITION: 

None on file. 

REGISTERED SUPPORT: 

Public Health Institute 

REGISTERED OPPOSITION: 

None on file. 

Analysis Prepared by: Robert Sumner / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301
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Date of Hearing: June 25, 2024 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS 

Marc Berman, Chair 

SB 1526 (Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development) – As Amended June 

11, 2024 

SENATE VOTE: 37-0 

SUBJECT: Consumer affairs 

SUMMARY: Makes numerous technical and clarifying provisions related to programs within 

the Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA) and makes a conforming change related to fictitious 

name statements. 

EXISTING LAW:    

1) Establishes the DCA within the Business, Consumer Services, and Housing Agency, which is 

comprised of 26 licensing and regulatory entities that administer and enforce various 

licensing and practice acts within the Business and Professions Code (BPC) and the 

Education Code (EDC). (BPC §§ 100-472.5) 

2) Regulates the practice of dental hygiene under the Dental Practice Act and establishes the 

Dental Hygiene Board of California (DHBC) to license registered dental hygienists and 

administer and enforce the provisions of the Dental Practice Act related to dental hygienists. 

(BPC §§ 1900-1966.6) 

3) Regulates the practices of speech-language pathology, audiology, and hearing aid dispensing 

under the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists and Hearing Aid Dispensers 

Licensure Act and establishes the Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology and Hearing 

Aid Dispensers Board (SLPAHADB) to license speech-language pathologists, audiologists, 

and hearing aid dispensers and administer and enforce the act. (BPC §§ 2530-2539.14) 

4) Regulates the practice of nursing under the Nursing Practice Act and establishes the Board of 

Registered Nursing (BRN) to license registered nurses (RNs) and administer and enforce the 

act. (BPC §§ 2700-2838.4) 

5) Requires an applicant for licensure as an RN to complete the education requirements 

established by the BRN in a program in this state accredited by the BRN or in a school of 

nursing outside of this state which, in the opinion of the BRN, offers an education that meets 

the BRN’s requirements. (BPC § 2736) 

6) Prohibits the use of the title “public health nurse” without a public health nurse certificate 

issued by the BRN. (BPC § 2818(c)) 

7) Requires the BRN to set the application fee for the public health nurse certificate between 

$300 and $1,000 and the renewal fee between $125 and $500. (BPC § 2816) 
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8) Regulates and licenses Physician Assistants (PAs) under the Physician Assistant Practice Act 

and establishes the Physician Assistant Board (PAB) to administer and enforce the act. (BPC 

§§ 3500-3546) 

9) Regulates the practice of naturopathic medicine under the Naturopathic Doctors Act and 

establishes the California Board of Naturopathic Medicine (CBNM) to license naturopathic 

medical doctors and administer and enforce the act. (BPC §§ 3610-3686) 

10) Regulates the practice of pharmacy under the Pharmacy Law and establishes the California 

State Board of Pharmacy (CSBOP) to license pharmacists and administer and enforce the 

Pharmacy Law. (BPC §§ 4000-4427.8) 

11) Regulates the practice of podiatric medicine under the Medical Practice Act and establishes 

the Podiatric Medical Board of California (PMBC) to license doctors of podiatric medicine 

(DPMs) and administer and enforce the article of the Medical Practice Act regulating the 

practice of podiatry. (BPC §§ 2460-2499.8) 

12) Regulates the practice of veterinary medicine under the Veterinary Medicine Practice Act 

and establishes the Veterinary Medical Board (VMB) to license veterinarians and administer 

and enforce the act. (BPC §§ 4800-4920.8) 

13) Regulates the practice of marriage and family therapy under the Licensed Marriage and 

Family Therapist Act and establishes the Board of Behavioral Sciences (BBS) to, among 

other things, license marriage and family therapists and administer and enforce the act. (BPC 

§§ 4980-4989; 4990-4990.42) 

14) Regulates the practice of automotive repair under the Automotive Repair Act and establishes 

the Bureau of Automotive Repair (BAR) to register automotive repair dealers and administer 

and enforce the act. (BPC §§ 9880-9889.68) 

15) Regulates the use of fictitious business names and requires every person who regularly 

transacts business in this state for profit under a fictitious business name to, among other 

things, file a fictitious business name statement that includes specified disclosures with the 

clerk of the county no later than 40 days from the time the registrant commences business. 

(BPC §§ 17900-17930) 

16) Regulates private postsecondary schools under the California Private Postsecondary Act of 

2009 and establishes the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE) to approve 

schools and administer and enforce the act. (EDC §§ 94800-94950) 

17) Regulates the practice of psychology under the Psychology Licensing Law and establishes 

the Board of Psychology (BOP) to license psychologists and administer and enforce the 

Psychology Licensing Law. (BPC §§ 2900-2999.105) 

18) Includes “registered psychological assistant” in various definitions of mental health providers 

under the Health and Safety Code (HSC). (HSC §§ 1374.72, 124260, 128454) 
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THIS BILL:  

1) Makes technical changes to the Dental Practice Act related to dental hygienists.  

2) Deletes the limitation that an applicant for speech-language pathology assistant complete an 

associate of arts degree and instead allows any associate degree and makes other technical 

changes to Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists and Hearing Aid Dispensers 

Licensure Act.  

3) Replaces the term “accredited” with “approved” when referring to nursing education 

approved by the BRN, deletes the mandatory minimum fees for public health nurse 

certification and renewal, and makes other technical changes to the Nursing Practice Act.  

4) Renumbers the provisions related to the diversion program for PAs, replaces references to the 

“Physician Assistant Committee” with “Physician Assistant Board,” and makes other 

technical changes to the PA Practice Act.  

5) Replaces references to the “Naturopathic Medicine Committee” with “California Board of 

Naturopathic Medicine,” deletes an outdated provision for Fiscal Year 2003-04, and makes 

other technical changes to the Naturopathic Doctors Act.    

6) Replaces reference to “California Podiatric Board” with “Podiatric Medical Board of 

California” in the Pharmacy Law.  

7) Inserts “California” before “Veterinary Medicine Practice Act” and “Veterinary Medical 

Board” and makes conforming and other technical changes to the Veterinary Medicine 

Practice Act.  

8) Clarifies that licensed marriage and family therapists may obtain continuing education from 

any accredited or BPPE-approved school, college, or university. 

9) Clarifies that automotive repair dealer registrations must include any educational 

certifications accepted by BAR, not those approved by BAR.  

10) Deletes a reference to a deleted exemption for residential addresses from the 40-day 

expiration rule for changes in facts set forth in filed fictitious business name statements. 

11) Limits the definition of “noninstitutional charges” to charges paid directly to a non-

institution, rather than by any means; clarifies that short-term programs are longer than four 

months; clarifies that an institution may not ever require internal dispute procedures; deletes 

limiting qualifications for exempting accredited institutions from BPPE approval; clarifies 

that required website information must be current; and makes other technical changes to the 

California Private Postsecondary Act of 2009.  

12) Replaces the references to “registered psychological assistant” with “registered psychological 

associate” in various HSC definitions for mental health providers and makes other technical 

changes in those code sections.  
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FISCAL EFFECT: According to the Senate Appropriations Committee, pursuant to Senate 

Rule 28.8, no significant state costs anticipated.  

COMMENTS:  

Purpose. This bill is sponsored by the author. According to the author, “This bill is the annual 

‘committee bill’ authored by the Business, Professions, and Economic Development Committee, 

which is intended to consolidate a number of non-controversial provisions related to various 

regulatory programs and professions governed by the BPC. Consolidating the provisions in one 

bill aims to relieve the various licensing boards, bureaus, professions, and other regulatory 

agencies from the necessity and burden of having separate measures for a number of non-

controversial revisions. Many of the provisions of this bill are minor, technical, and updating 

changes.” 

Background. This bill is a committee “omnibus” bill that contains changes requested by various 

boards and bureaus under the jurisdiction of the DCA that have been identified by those entities 

as technical, non-substantive changes that will update or clarify provisions of the various practice 

acts. This bill also replaces various terms with gender-neutral variants throughout.  

Dental Hygiene Board of California (DHBC). The DHBC is the regulatory agency responsible 

for licensing registered dental hygienists and enforcing the relevant portions of the Dental 

Practice Act. This bill adds the terms “dental,” “hygiene,” or “dental hygiene,” in front of the 

word “board” in various parts of the act.  

Speech-Language, Pathology, Audiology and Hearing Aid Dispensers Board (SLPAHDB). The 

SLPAHDB is the regulatory agency responsible for licensing speech-language pathologists, 

audiologists, and hearing aid dispensers and enforcing the Speech-Language Pathologists and 

Audiologists and Hearing Aid Dispensers Licensure Act. This bill deletes the limitation that 

speech-language pathology assistant applicants complete an associate of arts degree to reflect the 

variety of associate degrees offered for a speech-language degree and makes other technical 

changes to the act.  

Board of Registered Nursing (BRN). The BRN is the regulatory agency responsible for licensing 

registered nurses and enforcing the Nursing Practice Act. The BRN is also one of the few 

licensing boards that actively approve and regulate educational programs that offer the degrees 

necessary for licensure.  

Although the BRN approval process is similar to accreditation by an accrediting body, the 

purpose of approval is to ensure the programs meet the minimum legal educational requirements 

established under the Nursing Practice Act and by the BRN. On the other hand, the purpose of 

accreditation is to ensure that education provided by institutions or programs of higher education 

meets acceptable levels of quality. This bill replaces the term “accredited” with “approved” to 

reflect that the Board of Registered Nursing approves education programs and does not accredit 

such programs. 

This bill also deletes the minimum fee for public health nurse applications and renewals, to allow 

the Board of Registered Nursing to reduce licensure fees for a public health nurse when 

necessary.  
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The Physician Assistant Board (PAB). The PAB is the regulatory agency responsible for 

licensing PAs and enforcing the PA Practice Act. Before 2012, the PAB was a “committee” 

under the Medical Board of California. SB 1236 (Price), Chapter 332, Statutes of 2012, renamed 

the committee to a board. This bill updates a section where that change was not reflected. 

California Board of Naturopathic Medicine (CBNM). The CBNM is the regulatory agency 

responsible for licensing naturopathic medical doctors and enforcing the Naturopathic Doctors 

Act. Before 2022, the NMC was a “committee” under the Osteopathic Medical Board of 

California. AB 2685 (Committee on Business and Professions), Chapter 414, Statutes of 2022, 

renamed the committee to a board. This bill updates various sections where that change was not 

reflected.  

Podiatric Medical Board of California (PMBC). The PMBC is the regulatory agency responsible 

for licensing DPMs and enforcing the podiatry provisions of the Medical Practice Act. Before 

July 1, 2019, the PMBC was named the California Board of Podiatric Medicine. AB 2457 

(Irwin), Chapter 102, Statutes of 2018, renamed the board to PMBC. This bill updates a section 

of the Pharmacy Law where that change was not reflected. 

Veterinary Medical Board (VMB). The VMB is the regulatory agency responsible for licensing 

veterinarians and enforcing the Veterinary Medicine Practice Act. The VMB believes adding 

“California” to its name will make it easier to identify itself to entities out of state, therefore this 

bill changes the VMB’s name to the “California Veterinary Medical Board.” This bill also makes 

other technical changes to the act.  

Board of Behavioral Sciences (BBS). The BBS is the regulatory agency responsible for licensing 

licensed marriage and family therapists (LMFTs) under the Licensed Marriage and Family 

Therapist Act, educational psychologists (LEPs) under the Educational Psychologist Practice 

Act, clinical social workers (LCSWs) under the Clinical Social Worker Practice Act, and 

professional clinical counselors (LPCCs) under the Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor 

Act. The BBS seeks to clarify that continuing education for LMFTs must be obtained from a 

school that is approved or accredited, as defined, but that the coursework does not have to be 

solely from a school that offers a degree in marriage and family therapy. 

Bureau of Automotive Repair (BAR). The BAR is the regulatory agency responsible for 

registering automotive repair dealers (ARDs) and enforcing the Automotive Repair Act. This bill 

clarifies that the BAR does not “approve” educational courses that have to be included in ARD 

registration forms.  

Fictitious Business Names (FBNs). FBNs are business names that do not coincide with the 

identities of business owners. This bill deletes a reference to the residential address exemption to 

the 40-day expiration rule for changes made to FBN filings that was deleted in AB 878 

(Pellerin), Chapter 878, Statutes of 2023. 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE). The BPPE is the regulatory agency 

responsible for approving private postsecondary schools and enforcing the California Private 

Postsecondary Act of 2009. This bill clarifies that specified information schools must post on 

their websites must be “current”; replaces a reference to “board” with “bureau”; clarifies that 

non-institutional charges are those that are paid directly to an entity that is not an educational 
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institution, which excludes charges that may end up going to other entities after being paid 

directly to an institution; deletes an obsolete list of requirements for an exemption from BPPE 

approval; and makes other technical changes to the act.  

On the list, the BPPE writes, “an obsolete exemption exists in statute that is no longer utilized 

yet creates administrative issues for the Bureau. Education Code section 94947 states that an 

institution approved for federal Veterans Administration benefits may be exempt if it meets 13 

separate established criteria designed to support long-standing, family-owned institutions. The 

only institution known to have been granted exemption under this section no longer qualifies for 

exemption, rendering the provision unused. However, the continued existence of this exemption 

creates issues for the Bureau in designing its form for applying verification of exempt status. 

Institutions may apply to the Bureau to request verification of exempt status whereby the Bureau 

will confirm that the institution is exempt from most Bureau regulation. The application form 

must cover all current exemptions, including the unused section 94947 exemption. Education 

Code section 94947 creates difficulties for the Bureau and does not create any benefit for private 

postsecondary institutions.” 

Board of Psychology (BOP). The BOP is the regulatory entity agency responsible for licensing 

psychologists and enforcing the Psychology Licensing Law. The BOP also licenses “registered 

psychological associates,” who are psychologists in training who perform psychological 

functions under the supervision of a licensed psychologist. Before 2022, registered psychological 

associates were called “registered psychological assistants.” SB 801 (Archuleta), Chapter 647, 

Statutes of 2021, renamed the assistants to associates. This bill updates various provisions of the 

HSC where that change was not reflected.  

Current Related Legislation. AB 2471 (Jim Patterson), which is pending in the Senate, would 

delete the requirement for public health nurses to renew their public health certification with the 

BRN.  

Prior Related Legislation. SB-887 (Committee on Business, Professions and Economic 

Development), Chapter 510, Statutes of 2023, was the committee’s 2023 omnibus bill.  

SB-1495 (Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development), Chapter 511, 

Statutes of 2022, was the committee’s 2022 omnibus bill.  

SB-826 (Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development), Chapter 188, 

Statutes of 2021, was the committee’s 2021 omnibus bill.  

SB-1474 (Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development), Chapter 312, 

Statutes of 2020, was the committee’s 2020 omnibus bill.  

SB-786 (Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development ), Chapter 456, 

Statutes of 2019, was the committee’s 2019 omnibus bill.  

SB-1492 (Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development), Chapter 422, 

Statutes of 2018, was the committee’s 2018 non-healing arts omnibus bill.  
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SB-1491 (Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development), Chapter 703, 

Statutes of 2018, was the committee’s 2018 healing arts omnibus bill.  

SB-800 (Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development), Chapter 573, 

Statutes of 2017, was the committee’s 2017 omnibus bill.  

SB-1479 (Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development), Chapter 634, 

Statutes of 2016, was the committee’s 2016 non-healing arts omnibus bill.  

SB-1478 (Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development), Chapter 489, 

Statutes of 2016, was the committee’s 2016 healing arts omnibus bill.  

SB-800 (Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development), Chapter 426,  

Statutes of 2015, was the committee’s 2015 omnibus bill.  

ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT:  

The California Board of Psychology writes in support, “This bill would amend Health and Safety 

Codes (HSC) 1374.72, 124260, and 128454 by removing the outdated registration category for 

‘registered psychologist’ and amend the registration title ‘psychological assistant’ by replacing 

the category with the current title of ‘psychological associate.’ By amending these HSC’s, the 

Board believes any confusion or errors on what qualifies as a ‘professional person’ will be 

avoided under the specific code.” 

ARGUMENTS IN OPPOSITION: 

None on file 

IMPLEMENTATION ISSUES: 

1) “California” Practice Acts. This bill adds “California” before “Veterinary Medicine Practice 

Act.” While including “California” in the legal name of a board can assist in communication 

with national entities or other states, it is unclear what benefit this provides for the name of a 

chapter of the California Code. Some practice acts are not named at all. Of the practice acts 

in the BPC that do have statutory names, this would be the only act with “California” in it. 

2) Typographical Error. This bill clarifies that the prohibition against untrue or misleading 

changes and statements to the BPPE applies to specified records and information, but appears 

to be missing a colon.  

3) Chaptering Conflict. This bill deletes the fee floor for the renewal of public health nurse 

certificates under the BRN, but AB 2471 (Jim Patterson), which is pending in the Senate, 

deletes the renewal requirement altogether. If this bill passes this committee, the authors of 

both bills may wish to reconcile the differences to avoid chaptering out issues.  
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AMENDMENTS: 

1) To address the concern regarding the addition of “California” before “Veterinary Medicine 

Practice Act”: 

On page 44 of the bill, strike lines 33-36: 

SEC. 59. Section 4811 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:   

4811. This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the “California Veterinary 

Medicine Practice Act.” 

2) To address the typographical error related to BPPE:  

 

Page 67, lines 13-21: 

(j) In any manner make an untrue or misleading change in, or untrue or 

misleading statement related to, to: a test score, grade or record of grades, 

attendance record, record indicating student completion, placement, employment, 

salaries, or financial information; a financial report filed with the bureau; 

information or records relating to the student’s eligibility for student financial aid 

at the institution; or any other record or document required by this chapter or by 

the bureau. 

REGISTERED SUPPORT: 

California Board of Psychology 

REGISTERED OPPOSITION: 

None on file 

Analysis Prepared by: Vincent Chee / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301
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Date of Hearing:  June 25, 2024 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS 
Marc Berman, Chair 

SB 1459 (Nguyen) – As Amended May 16, 2024 

SENATE VOTE:  38-0 

SUBJECT:  Animal shelters 

SUMMARY:  Requires public animal control agencies and shelters and private animal shelters, 
as specified, to update any data that they make available on their internet website at least once 
per month, and requires those agencies and shelters to publish specified information on their 
internet website, including the number of animals taken in during the prior month and the 
outcomes for animals over the prior month. 

EXISTING LAW:    

1) Governs the operation of animal shelters by, among other things, setting a minimum holding 
period for stray dogs, cats, and other animals, and requiring animal shelters to ensure that 
those animals, if adopted, are spayed or neutered and, with exceptions, microchipped.  (Food 
and Agricultural Code (FAC) §§ 30501 et seq.; §§ 31108 et. seq.; §§ 31751 et seq.; §§ 32000 
et seq.) 

2) Mandates that no public animal control agency or shelter, society for the prevention of 
cruelty to animals shelter, humane society shelter, or rescue group shall sell or give away to a 
new owner any dog or cat that has not been spayed or neutered, subject to certain exceptions. 
(FAC § 30503(a)); § 31751.3). 

3) Clarifies that each member of a litter of puppies or kittens, weaned or unweaned, shall be 
treated as an individual animal. (FAC § 30504; § 31751)  

4) Authorizes animal shelters within counties that have a population of fewer than 100,000 
people to transfer a dog that has not been spayed or neutered to a new owner, only if the 
shelter:  

a) Requires a written agreement, executed by the recipient, acknowledging the dog is not 
spayed or neutered and the recipient agrees to be responsible for ensuring the dog will be 
spayed or neutered within 30 business days after signing. 

b) Receives a sterilization deposit of not less than forty dollars ($40) and not more than $75, 
the terms of which are part of the written agreement executed by the recipient. 

(FAC § 30520(d)) 

5) Mandates that county boards of supervisors shall provide for:  

a) The taking up and impounding of all dogs which are found running at large in violation 
of any provision of this division. 

b) The killing in some humane manner or other disposition of any dog which is impounded. 
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(FAC § 31105)  

6) Authorizes county boards of supervisors to contract with any humane society or other 
organization or association for purposes of carrying out the requirement to take up, impound, 
and humanely euthanizing stray dogs. (FAC § 31106) 

7) Mandates that a public shelter shall release any stray dog or cat to a nonprofit, animal rescue, 
or adoption organization prior to euthanasia if requested by the organization. (FAC § 
31108(b)(1); § 31752(c)(1)) 

8) Clarifies that unowned puppies or kittens aged 8 weeks or younger may be made 
immediately available for adoption or release to a nonprofit, animal rescue, or adoption 
organization. (FAC §31108(b)(2); 31752(c)(2)) 

9) Clarifies that puppies or kittens relinquished to public or private shelters by their purported 
owner may be made immediately available for adoption. (FAC § 31754) 

10) Requires all public animal shelters, shelters operated by societies for the prevention of 
cruelty to animals, and humane shelters that perform public animal control services, to 
provide the owners of lost animals and those who find lost animals with all of the following: 

a) Ability to list the animals they have lost or found on “Lost and Found” lists maintained 
by the animal shelter. 

b) Referrals to animals listed that may be the animals the owners or finders have lost or 
found. 

c) The telephone numbers and addresses of other animal shelters in the same vicinity. 

d) Advice as to means of publishing and disseminating information regarding lost animals. 

e) The telephone numbers and addresses of volunteer groups that may be of assistance in 
locating lost animals. 

(FAC § 32001) 

11) Requires all public and private animal shelters to keep accurate records on each animal taken 
up, medically treated, or impounded, which shall include all of the following information and 
any other information required by the Veterinary Medical Board of California: 

a) The date the animal was taken up, medically treated, euthanized, or impounded. 

b) The circumstances under which the animal was taken up, medically treated, euthanized, 
or impounded. 

c) The names of the personnel who took up, medically treated, euthanized, or impounded 
the animal. 

d) A description of any medical treatment provided to the animal and the name of the 
veterinarian of record. 
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e) The final disposition of the animal, including the name of the person who euthanized the 
animal or the name and address of the adopting party. These records shall be maintained 
for three years after the date on which the animal’s impoundment ends. 

(FAC § 32003) 

THIS BILL:  

1) Requires a public animal shelter, or private animal shelter with local contracts for animal 
care, to update any data that it posts on its internet website at least once per month. 

2) Requires a public animal shelter, or private animal shelter with local contracts for animal 
care, to post the following information on its internet website:  

a) The number of animals taken in during the prior month with separate categories for dogs, 
cats, and other animals,  
 

b) The source of intake, such as a relocation from another shelter or from the field, and 
 

c) Outcomes for animals over the prior month, including adoptions, returns to owners, 
transfers to rescue organizations, euthanized animals, animals that died in care, or those 
that were dead upon arrival.  

 
3) Specifies that the provisions only apply to shelters located in a county with a population 

greater than 400,000. 

FISCAL EFFECT:  According to the Senate Committee on Appropriations, this bill will result 
in unknown reimbursable mandate costs for public animal shelters to track, post, and update the 
information required in this bill on a monthly basis. Other costs may include software and other 
IT operating expenses, as well as staff time and resources to compile data and respond to public 
inquiries on posted information. The bill will also result in unknown fiscal impact to local 
municipalities, to the extent that private animal shelters contracting with a local municipality for 
animal care pass on their increased IT or staff costs to comply with the mandates of this bill 
through increased contracting costs. 

COMMENTS:   

Purpose. This bill is sponsored by the author. According to the author:  

An estimated 500,000+ cats and dogs entered California animal shelters in 2023.  
Unfortunately, over 10% of them did not find a home and were euthanized.  With 232 animal 
shelters in California there are no standardized reporting requirements for animal shelters.  
Standard reporting will ease the search by people looking for a pet to adopt.  SB 1459 will 
also allow better comparisons between superior shelters and marginal ones and provide 
shelter operators an incentive to improve their operations.  Data reporting plays a vital role in 
animal rescues informed decision-making processes. Data analytics help shape resource 
allocation, care plans, adoption and fundraising strategies. In the absence of strong data 
reporting systems, many challenges emerge. Gaps in data transparency create trust issues 
between shelters and the communities they serve. 
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Background.  

Animal Shelters and Rescues. In 1966, the United States Congress enacted the Animal Welfare 
Act (AWA) to provide standards on the humane handling, care, and treatment of animals.  
Enforced by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), the AWA regulates animal 
rights in various settings, including scientific research, public exhibitions, or transportation. In 
addition, California is home to a number of animal protection laws intended to further safeguard 
the wellbeing and life of animals in various settings. These include the Polanco-Lockyer Pet 
Breeder Warranty Act, which outlines requirements for dog breeders to raise dogs and puppies in 
humane conditions, and provides purchasers with refund or reimbursement remedies should an 
animal be sick or ill due to improper breeding practices.  Similarly, laws like the Lockyer-
Polanco-Farr Pet Protection Act establishes animal welfare and consumer protection 
requirements on pet dealers and the animals they sell. 

As it pertains to adoptable animals in shelters, rescues, and other nonprofit organizations, 
California has made efforts to reduce the amount of animals euthanized and streamline 
administrative overhead in order to aid shelters in getting more animals into new homes. In 1998, 
the Legislature enacted Senate Bill 1785 by Senator Tom Hayden – often dubbed the “Hayden 
Act” or “Hayden Law” - which formally established that the State of California’s policy is “that 
no adoptable animal should be euthanized if it can be adopted into a suitable home” and “that no 
treatable animal should be euthanized.”  The Hayden Law, largely codified in the Food and 
Agriculture Code (FAC), require shelters to hold animals for a minimum of four to six days 
before euthanizing them, giving owners a chance to reclaim their pets or allowing animals to be 
adopted.  In addition, the Hayden Law requires shelters to surrender any stray dog or cat to a 
rescue or IRS 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, or “rescue” prior to their euthanasia should such 
an organization request the animal. 

Much of the Hayden Law has not been implemented or enforced due to fiscal challenges.  In 
2000, local governments successfully obtained a decision from the Commission on State 
Mandates that costs incurred by cities and counties in complying with the law must be 
reimbursed by the state.  Subsequently beginning with the Budget Act of 2009, the state has not 
provided funding for this reimbursement.  While a proposal by Governor Jerry Brown to repeal 
portions of the Hayden Law in 2012 were rejected by the Legislature, animal welfare advocates 
have argued that the bill was effectively annulled through its lack of funding, as referenced by 
this resolution. 

The present “ecosystem” of animal welfare organizations in the state is primarily comprised of 
three types of entities. Public shelters are operated directly by a local municipality, such as a 
county animal control department, and often rely on volunteers or outside donations for further 
support. For example, the City of Sacramento operates the Front Street Animal Shelter, while 
receiving additional financial and volunteer support from the Friends of Front Street, a 501(c)(3) 
nonprofit organization. Private shelters are those independently organized and operated, usually 
as a nonprofit, such as humane societies and societies for prevention of cruelty to animals 
(SPCAs). Sometimes, municipalities will contract with one of these private shelters to provide 
animal control services; for example, the San Diego Humane Society (SDHS) is the primary 
animal control agency for the cities of San Diego, Encinitas, Santee, and more. Finally, “rescues” 
or “sanctuaries” are organizations that work to support and promote animal welfare in various 
forms: some may serve to foster and re-home adoptable animals at risk of euthanasia, provide 
care for shelter animals who are weaning or need medical supervision, or even be a permanent 
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sanctuary for animals who are injured or otherwise cannot find a home. Sanctuaries and rescues 
come in many shapes and sizes; some rescues are brick-and-mortar facilities not dissimilar to a 
private shelter, while others may be run from a home or other private property. Ideally, these 
three types of entities – public shelters, private shelters, and rescues – work in tandem to improve 
outcomes for animals across the state.  

Data & transparency efforts. FAC Section 32003 requires specified recordkeeping for all public 
and private shelters as it relates to animals taken up, medically treated, or impounded. 
Specifically, shelters are required to keep record of the date and circumstances under which an 
animal was taken in or cared for, the names of personnel involved, a description of any medical 
treatment administered, the final disposition of the animal (including whether it was adopted or 
euthanized), and any other information as required by the California Veterinary Medical Board. 
Such information is not only important to lawmakers in determining future reforms and 
budgetary needs, but is considered essential to the animal welfare community to coordinate care 
across organizations and jurisdictions.  

Unfortunately, there is currently no uniform standard or central database in California for 
reporting and making available relevant animal shelter data. Through 2016, the California 
Department of Public Health (CDPH) released certain data points that were voluntarily submitted 
by shelters as part of its annual rabies reporting, but ceased releasing these additional data points 
in 2017 due to workload concerns. In subsequent years, this committee has approved legislation 
by Assemblymember Lee (AB 332 from 2023, and AB 2012 from earlier this year) to make such 
reporting an explicit duty of the CDPH, but both efforts stalled in the Assembly Appropriations 
Committee. In the same spirit of transparency and data sharing to improve shelter outcomes, this 
bill would require all public shelters, or private shelters that contract with a municipality, to 
provide monthly reports of certain data points crucial to determining outcomes and future needs 
for the shelters in California. Unlike the Lee bills, this legislation would not mandate that an 
agency or department is responsible for shepherding the data, but rather requires shelters to post 
this data on their website. Furthermore, these reporting requirements would only apply to 
shelters located in a county with a population greater than 400,000.   

Current Related Legislation.  

SB 1233 (Wilk) would, upon appropriation by the Legislature, request the Regents of the 
University of California and the governing body of Western University of Health Sciences to 
develop high-quality, high-volume spay and neuter certification programs to be offered as 
elective coursework to students enrolled in the respective veterinary schools, among other things. 
This bill is pending in this committee.  

SB 1478 (Nguyen) authorizes licensed veterinarians to include specified information in an order 
issued to a registered veterinary technician (RVT) related to animal health care services 
performed on animals impounded in a public shelter. This bill is pending in this committee. 

AB 2012 (Lee) would have required the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) to 
collect specified data from public animal shelters as part of their annual rabies control activities 
reporting, and authorized the CDPH to contract out this requirement to a California accredited 
veterinary school. This bill was held in the Assembly Committee on Appropriations.  

AB 2265 (McCarty) would have required animal shelters to post both daily lists on the internet 
and physical notices on animal kennels for cats or dogs scheduled for euthanasia at least 24 hours 
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prior to the animal is scheduled to be euthanized; would have amended language declaring the 
policies of the state regarding the euthanasia of animals; would have prohibited shelters and 
rescue groups from giving a dog or cat to a foster unless spay or neuter surgery has been 
scheduled within 30 days; required shelters seeking to adopt a policy, practice, or protocol that 
potentially conflicts with the Hayden Law to give notice to their local government and then 
schedule a public hearing; and made various additional changes to existing laws and 
requirements relating to animal welfare and animal shelters. This bill was held on suspense in the 
Assembly Committee on Appropriations. 

AB 2425 (Essayli) would have required animal shelters to provide public notice on the internet 
that contains a list of all animals that are available for adoption or being held by the animal 
shelter, required the CDFA to conduct a study on animal shelter overcrowding and the feasibility 
of a statewide database of dogs and cats, expanded the definition of “breeder,” and placed 
additional requirements on sales or transfers of dogs by breeders. This bill was held without 
recommendation in this committee. 

Prior Related Legislation.  

AB 595 (Essayli) of 2023 would have required animal shelters to provide 72 hours public notice 
before euthanizing any dog, cat, or rabbit with information that includes information about the 
animal and that it is subject to euthanasia, and would have required the CDFA to conduct a study 
on animal shelter overcrowding and the feasibility of a statewide database for animals scheduled 
to be euthanized.  This bill was held on suspense in the Assembly Committee on Appropriations. 

AB 1881 (Santiago) of 2022 would have required every public animal control agency, shelter, or 
rescue group to conspicuously post or provide a copy of a Dog and Cat Bill of Rights.  This bill 
died on the Senate Floor. 

AB 2723 (Holden, Chapter 549, Statutes of 2022) established additional requirements on various 
types of public animal shelters related to microchip registration and the release of dogs and cats. 

AB 702 (Santiago) of 2021 would have required local jurisdictions, animal control agencies, or 
the entities responsible for enforcing animal-related laws, to establish permit programs regulating 
the breeding of cats and dogs.  This bill died in this committee. 

AB 588 (Chen, Chapter 430, Statutes of 2019) required any shelter or rescue group in California 
to disclose when a dog has a bite history when it is being adopted out. 

ACR 153 (Santiago, Chapter 72, 2018) urged communities in California to implement policies 
that support the adoption of healthy cats and dogs from shelters by 2025. 

AB 2791 (Muratsuchi, Chapter 194, Statutes of 2018) permitted a puppy or kitten that is 
reasonably believed to be unowned and is impounded in a shelter to be immediately made 
available for release to a nonprofit animal rescue or adoption organization before euthanasia. 

SB 1785 (Hayden, Chapter 752, Statutes of 1998) established that the State of California’s policy 
is that no adoptable animal should be euthanized if it can be adopted into a suitable home. 
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ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT:  
 
This bill is supported by Social Compassion in Legislation (SCIL). SCIL writes: “SB 1459 will 
give stakeholders at least partial visibility into the numbers of animal entering and exiting our 
state’s shelters and help ensure funds are most effectively and efficiently targeted, while giving 
lawmakers a better picture of the pet overpopulation problem as they move forward with 
legislative solutions.” 
 
This bill has a support, if amended position from the California Animal Welfare Association 
(CalAnimals), the American Kennel Club (AKC), and the American Society for the 
Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA), all requesting similar changes to the legislation. 
In their position letter, CalAnimals writes: “We respectfully request amendments to this bill that 
require reporting by all public and private animal shelters, as well as all animal rescue and 
adoption organizations in the state of California, regardless of the size of their community. 
Additionally, we ask that all such organizations are given until January 1, 2026 to comply... As 
an organization dedicated to the success of shelters and animal welfare organizations in meeting 
the needs of animals and people in their community, this information is vital. Requiring reporting 
of these basic data points would be a meaningful step forward for animal welfare in our state.”  
 
ARGUMENTS IN OPPOSITION:  
 
This bill is opposed by Fix Our Shelters, a non-profit “animal shelter watch dog organization”, 
who writes: “SB 1459 may have the unintended consequence of doing more harm than good as 
larger shelters ALREADY provide the data specified in SB 1459 on a more frequent basis. It 
could potentially encourage some shelters to provide less information, less often. As written, SB 
1459 will allow shelters to potentially advance an incomplete and false picture of the 
effectiveness of their operations.”  
 
POLICY ISSUE(S) FOR CONSIDERATION:  
 
Implementation Date. Should it be approved, this bill currently would take effect on January 1, 
2025. Several organizations representing public shelters, and private shelters that contract with 
municipalities, have noted that shelters across the state differ in size, resources, and online 
presence, and as such some may need more time to ready the proper IT infrastructure needed for 
the bill’s requirements. As such, a delayed implementation by a year would allow the wide 
variety of shelters throughout the state adequate time to comply with this bill’s provisions. The 
author should consider amending the bill to clarify that provisions do not take effect until 
January 1, 2026.  
 
County Population Limit. As written, this bill limits provisions to only apply to public shelters, 
and private shelters with local contracts, that reside in a counties with a population greater than 
400,000, which is only 22 of California’s 58 counties. While this “phase-in” approach was 
sensible in the bill’s initial form, which included data requirements for shelters beyond their 
normal recordkeeping requirements, the data points required in the present bill are in line with 
recordkeeping that all shelters in the state must maintain according to current law. Stakeholders 
representing shelters note that many public shelters, and private shelters with a public contract, 
technically reside in a county with less than 400,000 residents, but serve a much larger area of 
the state. For example, the Marin Humane Society, which contracts with the County of Marin to 
fulfill its animal control services, has a large footprint across the Bay Area – including a foster 
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program headquartered in Oakland – despite technically residing in a county with a population 
far less than 400,000.  
 
In the past, this committee approved several bills that would have mandated similar, or in some 
cases far greater, data disclosure requirements as this legislation, noting the desire for greater 
transparency in how public dollars are being used to further the state’s animal welfare goals. 
Considering that the data required to be disclosed under this bill is already mandated to be kept 
under law, expanding it to apply to any shelter that relies on public funds with give the 
Legislature insight into how public shelters, and private shelters that contract with municipalities, 
are performing. As such, the author should amend this bill to remove language that limits the bill 
to only shelters in counties with a population greater than 400,000.  
 
Disclosure by Private Shelters. In letters addressed to the committee, several organizations 
representing public and private shelters argued that this bill should apply to all public and private 
shelters, not just those that contract with localities. In practice, this would impose these 
disclosure requirements on all rescues, sanctuaries, nonprofits, or other organizations that work 
for the purpose of animal welfare as captured under state law. While these organizations are 
already mandated by law to keep record of the data required under this bill, and as such the 
Legislature and the wider public should indeed have insight into their efficacy and operations, 
the requirement that every type of private shelter, rescue, or other animal organization post such 
data on a website may be too onerous for a wide variety of groups. Many small nonprofits, for 
example, may not have access to IT resources necessary to maintain this bill’s requirement to 
post data and update it monthly.  
 
Nevertheless, this sort of transparency in animal welfare operations is a continued goal of the 
state, and at a future time, the author and the Legislature should consider approaches that would 
bring greater transparency to private shelters, rescues, and nonprofits, and ensure they too are in 
compliance with state law.  
 
AMENDMENTS:  
 
In order to delay implementation by a year and make the bill applicable to all public shelters and 
private shelters with a local contract, amend the bill as follows:  
 
 On page 3, after line 1:  
  

(c) This section shall apply only to a public animal shelter or private animal shelter with local 
contracts for animal care located in a county with a population greater than 400,000. 
 
(c) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2026.  

  
REGISTERED SUPPORT:  
 
Social Compassion in Legislation  
American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (if amended)  
American Kennel Club (if amended)  
California Animal Welfare Association (if amended) 
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REGISTERED OPPOSITION:  
 
Fix Our Shelters 
Pet Assistance Foundation 
2 Individuals 

Analysis Prepared by: Edward Franco / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301
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Date of Hearing:  June 25, 2024 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS 

Marc Berman, Chair 

SB 1478 (Nguyen) – As Amended April 17, 2024 

SENATE VOTE:  39-0 

SUBJECT:  Veterinary medicine:  registered veterinary technicians 

SUMMARY:  authorizes licensed veterinarians to include specified information in an order 

issued to a registered veterinary technician (RVT) related to animal health care services 

performed on animals impounded in a public shelter.  

EXISTING LAW:   

1) Provides for the regulation of veterinary medicine under the Veterinary Medicine Practice 

Act (Act) and prohibits the practice of unlicensed of veterinary medicine.  (Business and 

Professions Code (BPC) §§ 4800-4917) 

2) Establishes the Veterinary Medical Board (VMB) within the Department of Consumer Affairs 

(DCA) to license and regulate the veterinary medicine profession.  (BPC § 4800) 

3) Declares it is unlawful to practice veterinary medicine in California unless the individual 

holds a valid, unexpired, and unrevoked license issued by the VMB.  (BPC § 4825) 

4) Provides that an individual practices veterinary medicine, surgery, and dentistry, and the 

various branches thereof, when the practitioner does any one of the following: 

a) Represents oneself as engaged in the practice of veterinary medicine, veterinary 

surgery, or veterinary dentistry in any of its branches. 

b) Diagnoses or prescribes a drug, medicine, appliance, application, or treatment of 

whatever nature for the prevention, cure, or relief of a wound, fracture, bodily injury, 

or disease of animals. 

c) Administers a drug, medicine, appliance, application, or treatment of whatever nature 

for the prevention, cure, or relief of a wound, fracture, bodily injury, or disease of 

animals, as specified. 

d) Performs a surgical or dental operation upon an animal. 

e) Performs any manual procedure for the diagnosis of pregnancy, sterility, or infertility 

upon livestock or equidae. 

f) Collects blood from an animal for the purpose of transferring or selling that blood and 

blood component products to a licensed veterinarian at a registered premise, as 

specified. 
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g) Uses any words, letters, or titles in such connection or under such circumstances as to 

induce the belief that the person using them is engaged in the practice of veterinary 

medicine, veterinary surgery, or veterinary dentistry, as specified. 

(BPC § 4826) 

5) Permits a veterinarian to authorize an RVT to act as an agent of the veterinarian for the 

purpose of establishing the veterinarian-client-patient relationship to administer preventive or 

prophylactic vaccines or medications for the control or eradication of apparent or anticipated 

internal or external parasites, subject to certain conditions, including: 

a) Vaccines must be administered in a registered veterinary premises at which the 

veterinarian is physically present. 

b) If working at a location other than a registered veterinary premises, the veterinarian is 

in the general vicinity or available by telephone and is quickly and easily available. 

The RVT shall have necessary equipment and drugs to provide immediate emergency 

care.   

c) The RVT examines the animal patient and administers vaccines in accordance with 

written protocols and procedures established by the veterinarian.  

d) The veterinarian and RVT sign and date a statement containing an assumption of risk 

by the veterinarian for all acts of the RVT related to patient examination and 

administration of vaccines, short of willful acts of animal cruelty, gross negligence, or 

gross unprofessional conduct on behalf of the RVT.  

e) The veterinarian and RVT sign and date a statement containing authorization for the 

RVT to act as an agent of the veterinarian until such date as the veterinarian 

terminates authorization.  

f) Before the RVT examines or administers vaccines to the animal patient, the RVT 

informs the client orally or in writing that they are acting as an agent of the 

veterinarian.  

g) Signed statements between the veterinarian and RVT must be retained by the 

veterinarian for the duration of the RVT’s work as an authorized agent and until three 

years from the date of termination of their relationship with the veterinarian.  

(BPC § 4826.7(b)) 

6) Requires all veterinarians engaged and employed as veterinarians by the state, or a county, 

city, corporation, firm, or individual to secure a license issued by the VMB.  (BPC § 4828) 

7) Requires the VMB to adopt regulations delineating animal health care tasks and an 

appropriate degree of supervision required for those tasks that may be performed solely by an 

RVT or licensed veterinarian.  (BPC § 4836(a)) 

8) Permits the VMB to additionally adopt regulations establishing animal health care tasks that 

may be performed by a veterinary assistant, an RVT or a licensed veterinarian.  (BPC § 

4836(b)) 
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9) Requires the VMB to establish an appropriate degree of supervision by an RVT or a licensed 

veterinarian over a veterinary assistant for any authorized tasks and provides that the degree 

of supervision for any of those tasks shall be higher than, or equal to, the degree of 

supervision required when an RVT performs the task.  (BPC § 4836(b)) 

10) Authorizes the VMB to revoke or suspend the certificate of registration of an RVT, as 

specified.  (BPC § 4837) 

11) Prohibits an individual from using the title “RVT,” “veterinary technician,” or using the 

initials “RVT” without meeting the requirements of an RVT.  (BPC § 4839.5) 

12) Defines “direct supervision” as the supervisor physically present at the location where animal 

healthcare professionals provide care and tasks which are expected to be conducted quickly 

and are easily available.  (California Code of Regulations (CCR), tit. 16, § 2034(e)) 

13) Defines “indirect supervision” as the supervisor not being physically present at the location 

where animal healthcare tasks, treatments, procedures, etc. are to be performed, but has given 

either written or oral instructions (“direct orders”) for treatment of the animal and the animal 

has been examined by a veterinarian in a manner consistent with the appropriate delegated 

animal health care task and that the animal is not anesthetized, as defined.  (CCR, tit. 16, § 

2034(f)) 

14) Authorizes RVTs and veterinary assistants to perform those animal health care services 

prescribed by law under the supervision of a veterinarian licensed or authorized to practice.  

(BPC § 4840(a)) 

15) Specifies that an RVT may perform animal health care services on impounded animals by a 

state, county, city, or city and county agency pursuant to the direct order, written order, or 

telephonic order of a veterinarian licensed or authorized to practice in California.  (BPC § 

4840(b)) 

16) Permits an RVT to apply for registration from the federal Drug Enforcement Administration 

to allow the direct purchase of sodium pentobarbital for the performance of euthanasia, 

without the supervision or authorization of a licensed veterinarian.  (BPC § 4840(c)) 

17) Prohibits an RVT from performing the following functions or activities that represent the 

practice of veterinary medicine, requires the knowledge, skill, and training of a licensed 

veterinarian:  

a) Surgery,  

b) Diagnosis and prognosis of animal diseases, and  

c) Prescribing drugs, medications, or appliances.   

(BPC § 4840.2) 

18) Allows an RVT to perform the following procedures under the direct supervision of a 

licensed veterinarian:  

a) Induce anesthesia,  
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b) Perform dental extractions,  

c) Suture cutaneous and subcutaneous tissues, gingiva, and oral mucous membranes, 

d) Create a relief hole in the skin to facilitate placement of an intravascular catheter, and 

e) Drug compounding from bulk substances.   

(CCR, tit. 16 § 2036(b)) 

19) Authorizes an RVT to perform the following procedures under indirect supervision of a 

licensed veterinarian:  

a) Administer controlled substances,  

b) Apply casts and splints, 

c) Provide drug compounding from non-bulk substances.   

(CCR, tit. 16 § 2036(b)) 

THIS BILL:   

1) Authorizes veterinarians to include any of the following information in a direct order, written 

order, or telephonic order issued to an RVT for care to animals impounded by a state or 

municipal agency:  

a) Time periods by which an impounded animal is required to be assessed at intake and 

monitored while in the custody of an agency, 

b) Protocols to address the treatment of common medical conditions encountered in 

impounded animals, 

c) Protocols for controlling infectious and zoonotic diseases and for preventing 

environmental contamination,  

d) Protocols for controlling the acute pain of an impounded animal, 

e) Communication requirements between the registered veterinary technician and the 

supervising veterinarian, and 

f) Euthanasia criteria for medically related cases.  

FISCAL EFFECT:  This bill was ordered out of the Senate Committee on Appropriations 

pursuant to Senate Rule 28.8, due to negligible fiscal impact on the State.  

COMMENTS:   

Purpose.  

This bill is author-sponsored. According to the author:  
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Unwanted pets remain a serious problem in California.  An estimated 500,000+ cats and dogs 

entered California animal shelters in 2023.  Unfortunately, over 10% of them did not find a 

home and were euthanized.  With 232 animal shelters in California there is no standard 

guidance in the code for what constitutes a reasonable and efficient protocols for the 

management of shelter animals.  SB 1478 will provide a standard by which animal shelters 

can judge the adequacy of their daily treatment and management of the animals in their care.  

Background.  

Veterinarians and RVTs. Veterinarians (Doctors of Veterinary Medicine, or “DVM”s) and 

registered veterinary technicians (RVTs) each play a distinct, vital role in an animal hospital or 

veterinary clinic, one not dissimilar to the relationship between a Doctor of Medicine (MD) and a 

registered nurse (RN) in an emergency room or medical clinic. In order to practice veterinary 

medicine and provide healthcare to a variety of animals, veterinarians must secure a license 

through the VMB.  A licensed California veterinarian is authorized to engage in the practice of 

veterinary medicine, surgery, veterinary dentistry, and related health procedures for the benefit of 

an animal’s general health and wellbeing.  Veterinarians are trained and licensed to diagnose, 

prescribe medication and provide treatment for the animal’s health and improvement to the 

animal’s quality of life.  Veterinarians are extensively trained, satisfied academic requirements, 

and provide health care for various animals.  Veterinarians receive specific healthcare training as 

it applies to animals and understanding the nature for the prevention, cure, or relief of a wound, 

fracture, bodily injury, or disease of animals.   

RVTs serve a crucial role in the veterinary workforce by providing vital supportive health-related 

tasks. These health tasks involve drawing blood and conducting laboratory tests, operating 

radiographic equipment, administering medication, as well as countless other health related 

procedures. In the surgical process, the RVT is typically responsible for pre- and post-operation 

tasks under the direct supervision of a veterinarian, such as the induction of anesthesia, creation a 

relief hole in the skin to facilitate placement of an intravascular catheter, application casts and 

splints, performance of dental extractions, suturing of cutaneous and subcutaneous tissues, and 

more.  The VMB’s regulations have also stipulated that an RVT may perform a variety of 

procedures under indirect supervision of a licensed veterinarian.  These procedures include the 

act of administering controlled substances and performing certain routine animal health care 

tasks. 

In order to practice veterinary medicine in California, an applicant must graduate from a degree 

program offered by an accredited postsecondary institution or institutions approved by the VMB, 

pass a national veterinarian examination, and pass an examination provided by the VMB to test 

the knowledge of the laws and regulations related to the practice of veterinary medicine in 

California. Comparatively, RVTs registered under the VMB are required to pass a board-

approved examination, and provide proof of either completion of a two-year curriculum 

specializing in veterinary technology, or equivalent experience as approved by the American 

Association of Veterinary State Boards. 

RVT Scope and Direct Orders. In recent years, there have been efforts to expand the role that 

RVTs play in the veterinary field, not only to address disparities in veterinary care but to offer 

further career advancement for experienced RVTs that may not have the desire or ability to 

pursue a full DVM career. The State of Florida is currently considering legislation to recognize a 

midlevel “veterinary professional associate”, and an initiative will be in front of Colorado voters 
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this fall seeking to establish a similar role. Additionally, the EU’s European School for Advanced 

Veterinary Studies recognizes a midlevel “Certificate of Advanced Studies” in veterinary 

medicine, which among other tasks, offer certification in soft tissue surgery.  

California law allows RVTs who work in state or municipal shelters to perform certain animal 

healthcare related tasks under the indirect supervision of a veterinarian, so long as the 

veterinarian has issued written or oral instructions, otherwise known as a “direct order”, to the 

respective RVT specific to the authorized healthcare task. Law expressly prohibits RVTs from 

performing surgery, diagnosis or prognosis of diseases, or prescribing of drugs, medicine, and 

appliances. Last year, the Legislature permitted veterinarians to authorize RVTs to act as their 

agent for purposes of establishing a client relationship or administering certain vaccines with the 

passage of Senator Cortese’s SB 669. Following these efforts, and in light of a recent increase in 

public demand for transparency regarding public animal services, this bill aims to bring greater 

clarity to veterinarians and RVTs as to what specifically should be included in an order 

authorizing care in a municipal shelter setting. 

Current Related Legislation.  

SB 1233 (Wilk) would, upon appropriation by the Legislature, request the Regents of the 

University of California and the governing body of Western University of Health Sciences to 

develop high-quality, high-volume spay and neuter certification programs to be offered as 

elective coursework to students enrolled in the respective veterinary schools, among other things. 

This bill is pending consideration in this committee.  

SB 1459 (Nguyen) requires public animal control agencies and shelters or private animal 

shelters, as specified, to update any data that they make available on their internet website at 

least once per month, and requires those agencies and shelters to publish specified information 

on their internet website, including the number of animals taken in during the prior month and 

the outcomes for animals over the prior month. This bill is pending consideration in this 

committee. 

AB 2012 (Lee) would have required the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) to 

collect specified data from public animal shelters as part of their annual rabies control activities 

reporting, and authorized the CDPH to contract out this requirement to a California accredited 

veterinary school. This bill was held in the Assembly Committee on Appropriations.  

Prior Related Legislation.  

SB 669 (Cortese) Chapter 882, Statutes of 2023 authorized a veterinarian to allow an RVT to act 

as an agent of the veterinarian for the purpose of establishing the veterinarian-client-patient 

relationship to administer preventive or prophylactic vaccines or medications for the control or 

eradication of apparent or anticipated internal or external parasites by satisfying specified 

criteria. 

AB 1535 (Committee on Business and Professions) Chapter 631, Statutes of 2021, enacted 

various changes to the regulation of veterinarians, RVTs, Veterinary Assistant Controlled 

Substances Permit (VACSP) holders, veterinary schools, and veterinary premises, stemming 

from the joint sunset review oversight of the Veterinary Medical Board (Board) by the Assembly 

Committee on Business and Professions and the Senate Committee on Business, Professions, and 

Economic Development. 
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SB 1347 (Galgiani) from 2020 would have expanded exemptions to the practice of veterinary 

medicine to include specified functions performed at a shelter, as defined, by an employee or 

volunteer who has obtained specified training.  At the request of the author, this bill’s hearing in 

Assembly Appropriations Committee was canceled and the bill did not move. 

SB 1785 (Hayden) Chapter 752, Statutes of 1998 established, among other things, that the State 

of California’s policy is that no adoptable animal should be euthanized if it can be adopted into a 

suitable home, and policies promoting the spay and neuter of dogs and cats in the state.  

ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT:  

 

The Veterinary Medical Board of California (VMB), which regulates the state’s veterinarians, 

RVTs and veterinary assistants, writes in support of this bill. According to the VMB: “The Board 

appreciates the clarity SB 1478 would provide to veterinarians and RVTs and believes this bill 

will encourage consistency and guidance to the veterinary profession.” 

 

REGISTERED SUPPORT:  

 

Veterinary Medical Board of California 

 

REGISTERED OPPOSITION:  

 

None on file. 

Analysis Prepared by: Edward Franco / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301
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Date of Hearing: June 25, 2024 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS 

Marc Berman, Chair 

SB 1468 (Ochoa Bogh) – As Amended May 17, 2024 

SENATE VOTE: 38-0 

SUBJECT: Healing arts boards:  informational and educational materials for prescribers of 

narcotics:  federal “Three Day Rule.” 

SUMMARY: Requires each board that licenses a prescriber of narcotic drugs to develop 

informational and educational material regarding the federal Drug Enforcement Administration’s 

“Three Day Rule.”  

EXISTING LAW:   

1) Establishes various practice acts, implemented and enforced by various board within the 

Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA), to regulate the following health care professionals: 

physicians and surgeons (Medical Practice Act), dentists (Dental Practice Act), veterinarians 

(Veterinary Medicine Practice Act), registered nurses, nurse practitioners, and certified 

nurse-midwives (Nursing Practice Act), physician assistants (Physician Assistant Practice 

Act), osteopathic physician and surgeons (Osteopathic Medical Practice Act), naturopathic 

doctors (Naturopathic Doctors Act), optometrists (Optometry Practice Act), doctors of 

podiatric medicine (Podiatric Act), and pharmacists (Pharmacy Law). (Business and 

Professions Code (BPC) §§ 500 et seq.) 

2) Limits the furnishing of any dangerous drug or device, defined as any drug unsafe for self-

use in humans and animals, except upon the prescription of a physician, dentist, podiatrist, 

optometrist, veterinarian, or naturopathic doctor as specified. (BPC § 4059) 

3) Establishes the “California Uniform Controlled Substances Act,” which regulates the 

manufacture, possession, use, and distribution of controlled substances. (Health and Safety 

Code (HSC) § 11000 et seq.) 

4) Specifies that no person other than a physician, dentist, podiatrist, or veterinarian, 

naturopathic doctor, pharmacist, registered nurse, certified nurse-midwife, nurse practitioner 

physician assistant, naturopathic doctor, optometrist, or an out-of-state prescriber, as 

specified, shall write or issue a prescription. (HSC § 11150) 

5) Requires a prescription for a controlled substance to only be issued for a legitimate medical 

purpose by an individual practitioner acting in the usual course of their professional practice, 

and subjects any person who knowingly violates this requirement to imprisonment for up to 

one year, or by a fine not exceeding $20,000, or by both imprisonment and fine. (HSC § 

11153) 

6) Authorizes a practitioner, who is not specifically registered to conduct a narcotic treatment 

program, to dispense (but not prescribe) narcotic drugs, in accordance with applicable 
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Federal, State, and local laws relating to controlled substances, to one person or for one 

person's use at one time for the purpose of initiating maintenance treatment or detoxification 

treatment (or both). (Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Title 21, Chapter 11, § 1306.07(b)) 

7) Prohibits more than a three-day supply of such medication from being dispensed to the 

person or for the person's use at one time while arrangements are being made for referral for 

treatment, and prohibits such emergency treatment from being renewed or extended. (CFR, 

Title 21, Chapter 11, § 1306.07(b)) 

8) Defines “practitioner” to mean a physician, dentist, veterinarian, scientific investigator, 

pharmacy, hospital, or other person licensed, registered, or otherwise permitted, by the 

United States or the jurisdiction in which they practice or do research, to distribute, dispense, 

conduct research with respect to, administer, or use in teaching or chemical analysis, a 

controlled substance in the course of professional practice or research. (CFR, Title 21, 

Chapter 13, § 802) 

THIS BILL:  

1) Requires each board that licenses a prescriber of narcotic drugs to develop informational and 

educational material regarding the federal Drug Enforcement Administration’s “Three Day 

Rule,” as specified, in order to ensure prescriber awareness of existing medication-assisted 

treatment pathways to serve patients with substance use disorder. 

2) Requires each board to annually disseminate the informational and educational material 

developed to each licensed prescriber’s email address on file with the board.  

3) Requires each board to post the informational and educational material developed on their 

internet website. 

4) Requires the Medical Board of California to annually disseminate the informational and 

educational material it develops to each acute care hospital in the state. The board may 

disseminate the informational and educational material to each acute care hospital in the state 

via email. 

5) Allows the departments and boards to consult with other state agencies as necessary to 

comply with the provisions of this bill. 

6) Defines “prescriber” to mean a person authorized to write or issue a prescription pursuant to 

Health and Safety Code § 11150. 

FISCAL EFFECT: According to the Senate Appropriations Committee, unknown, but 

potentially minor costs for impacted boards to disseminate the required information to their 

respective licensees electronically and post information on their internet websites (various 

special funds) and minor and absorbable costs to the Office of Information Services within DCA.  
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COMMENTS:  

Purpose. This bill is sponsored by the author. According to the author:  

[This bill] requires DCA boards that license practitioners who are authorized to dispense 

narcotic drugs to send a notice to their licensees regarding the DEA’s recent changes to 

the Three Day Rule. The notification must include a summary of the rule and resources 

for licensees to access if they are interested in learning more. Ensuring that practitioners 

(not just physicians) are aware they may now dispense a three-day supply of medication 

at one time will help ease the burdens placed on patients struggling with opioid use 

disorder, giving them a better chance of success. 

Background.  

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s (SAMHSA) 2022 National 

Survey on Drug Use and Health estimates that 3.2% (or 8.9 million) Americans ages 12 or older 

misused opioids (heroin or prescription pain relievers), and 2.2% (or 6.1 million people) had an 

opioid use disorder (OUD), in the 12 months prior to the survey.1 OUD is a treatable chronic 

health condition, for which medications such as buprenorphine, methadone, and naltrexone, are a 

safe and effective treatment of OUD.2 According to SAMHSA, “these medications operate to 

normalize brain chemistry, block the euphoric effects of alcohol and opioids, relieve 

physiological cravings, and normalize body functions without the negative and euphoric effects 

of the substance used” and can be used for a lifetime.3  

In 1974, the federal Drug Enforcement Agency implemented the Narcotic Addict Treatment Act, 

which allows specified medical practitioners to administer and dispense certain narcotic 

medications for the treatment of substance use disorders, so long as they are separately registered 

to conduct a narcotic treatment program. An “emergency treatment” provision currently allows 

unregistered practitioners to dispense (but not prescribe) a three-day supply of narcotic drugs at 

one time to a person for the purpose of initiating maintenance treatment or detoxification 

treatment (or both). In practice, this allows a patient to receive one day’s dose during the 

emergency treatment and to take the second and third days’ doses with them so they do not need 

to make return visits to the provider. The “Three Day Rule” allows for individuals suffering from 

acute withdrawal symptoms to receive emergency access to medication-assisted treatment while 

waiting for long-term treatment. One study of patients who were treated for a non-fatal opioid 

overdose in a Massachusetts emergency department revealed that 3.7% of patients died of an 

opioid-related overdose within one year of discharge.4 A 2015 study concluded that medication-

                                                 

1 Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. (November 2023). Key Substance Use and Mental 

Health Indicators in the United States: Results from the 2022 National Survey on Drug Use and Health. 

https://www.samhsa.gov/data/sites/default/files/reports/rpt42731/2022-nsduh-nnr.pdf 
2 U.S. Food & Drug Administration. (2024, May 20). Prescribe with Confidence. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-

safety-and-availability/prescribe-confidence 
3 Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. (2024, April 11). Medications for Substance Use 

Disorders. https://www.samhsa.gov/medications-substance-use-disorders 
4 Weiner, S. G., Baker, O., Bernson, D., & Schuur, J. D. (2020). One-Year Mortality of Patients After Emergency 

Department Treatment for Nonfatal Opioid Overdose. Annals of emergency medicine, 75(1), 13–17. 

https://doi.org/10.1016/j.annemergmed.2019.04.020 
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assisted treatment initiated in emergency departments “significantly increased engagement in 

addiction treatment, reduced self-reported illicit opioid use, and decreased use of inpatient 

addiction treatment services.”5 However, one study indicated that roughly 1 in 5 U.S. adults with 

OUD received any medications for OUD in 2021.6 Furthermore, the researchers found that, in 

particular, Black adults, women, those whom are unemployed, and residents of nonmetropolitan 

areas were substantially less likely to receive any medications for OUD.  

This bill would require the various boards within the DCA that license physicians, dentists, 

veterinarians, registered nurses, nurse practitioners, certified nurse-midwives, physician 

assistants, naturopathic doctors, optometrists, podiatrists, and pharmacists to develop and 

annually disseminate educational materials related to the “Three Day Rule,” with the goal of 

increasing provider awareness. Additionally, this bill would require the Medical Board of 

California to provide the materials it develops to acute care hospitals across the state.  

Current Related Legislation.  

AB 2115 (Haney) would allow a practitioner who is authorized to prescribe a narcotic drug at a 

clinic registered with the Board of Pharmacy and with any necessary federal agencies to dispense 

that narcotic drug from the clinic’s supply for the purpose of relieving acute withdrawal 

symptoms when necessary while arrangements are being made for referral to opioid addiction 

treatment. 

Prior Related Legislation.  

AB 663 (Haney), Chapter 539, Statutes of 2023, allows county-operated mobile pharmacies to 

carry and dispense buprenorphine and buprenorphine/naloxone combination medications for the 

treatment of OUD and authorizes the operation of multiple mobile units within one jurisdiction.  

AB 816 (Haney), Chapter 456, Statutes of 2023, authorizes a minor who is 16 years of age or 

older to consent to replacement narcotic abuse treatment that uses buprenorphine, as specified. 

ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT:  

The California State Board of Pharmacy writes the following in support: 

California has a long history of fighting to combat the opioid crisis and save lives, 

including increasing access to opioid antagonists. Opioid use disorder is a chronic, 

treatable medical condition, but many might not understand the condition or how it can 

be effectively treated. The Board advocates and supports increased education and 

                                                 

5 D’Onofrio, G., O’Connor, P. G., Pantalon, M. V., Chawarski, M. C., Busch, S. H., Owens, P. H., Bernstein, S. L., 

& Fiellin, D. A. (2015). Emergency Department–Initiated Buprenorphine/Naloxone Treatment for Opioid 

Dependence: A Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA : The Journal of the American Medical Association, 313(16), 

1636–1644. https://doi.org/10.1001/jama.2015.3474 
6 Jones, C. M., Han, B., Baldwin, G. T., Einstein, E. B., & Compton, W. M. (2023). Use of Medication for Opioid 

Use Disorder Among Adults With Past-Year Opioid Use Disorder in the US, 2021. JAMA Network Open, 6(8), 

e2327488–e2327488. https://doi.org/10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2023.27488  
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engagement amongst health care providers with respect to improving confidence for 

providers assisting patients with opioid use disorder. 

POLICY ISSUES: 

As currently written, this bill would require the California Veterinary Medical Board to develop 

and disseminate materials on the federal “Three Day Rule” to licensed veterinarians. Considering 

the lack of germaneness to the practice of veterinary medicine, the author may wish to exempt 

the California Veterinary Medical Board from the bill.  

AMENDMENTS: 

To exempt the California Veterinary Medical Board, amend the bill as follows: 

On page 2, between lines 23 and 24, insert:  

(4) The requirements of this subdivision shall not apply to the Veterinary Medical Board. 

REGISTERED SUPPORT: 

California Opioid Maintenance Providers 

California State Board of Pharmacy 
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Medical Board of California 
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Vera Institute of Justice 

REGISTERED OPPOSITION: 

None on file 

Analysis Prepared by: Kaitlin Curry / B. & P. / (916) 319-3301


